Re: the right to bear arms

Postby Chimera » July 26th, 2024, 11:24 am

alfa wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Seeing UNC promising standyourground laws through FB ads.

I wanted to ask about the axethetax promise, but I eh feel like arguing with anyone who dumb enough to believe any politician's promise.
Just vote the lesser of the evils and decide the level of screwed you going to be. It's inevitable and inescapable. You screwed no matter who in power.

fair point - not sure which mechanism they will use to usurp the CoP's authority over FuLs for home possession only - that might require a constitutional majority

no- we not Battousai that can carve up a whole army in one run with a sword - those days over

PNM was proposing change couple weeks ago where there will be a firearm board that makes binding recommendations on the COP. If the board is a mixture of both sides of the political divide and people with sense it could work and change the current ful culture

a binding recommendation you say?

a recommendation could be binding?

Postby alfa » July 26th, 2024, 11:49 am

Chimera wrote:
alfa wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

I wanted to ask about the axethetax promise, but I eh feel like arguing with anyone who dumb enough to believe any politician's promise.
Just vote the lesser of the evils and decide the level of screwed you going to be. It's inevitable and inescapable. You screwed no matter who in power.

fair point - not sure which mechanism they will use to usurp the CoP's authority over FuLs for home possession only - that might require a constitutional majority

no- we not Battousai that can carve up a whole army in one run with a sword - those days over

PNM was proposing change couple weeks ago where there will be a firearm board that makes binding recommendations on the COP. If the board is a mixture of both sides of the political divide and people with sense it could work and change the current ful culture

a binding recommendation you say?

a recommendation could be binding?

That's what the article says. Proof reading isn't much of a thing as before when they put out an article lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 26th, 2024, 12:10 pm

alfa wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

We don’t have that level of board recruitment maturity.
It’s still a boys club, favours for supporters. Most of the people on these boards have no business being there, and ill equipped to do anything other than vote as told

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2024, 12:12 pm

16 cycles wrote:

just change one word in the firearms act and that takes discretion away from the COP- 'may' to 'shall' as in 'the COP shall issue a FUL provided all criteria for obtaining a FUL is met' - also allow DCPs to sign off on FULs for their respective division to make the process more efficient. 'discretion' just gives rise to corruption and bribery.

Postby alfa » July 26th, 2024, 12:29 pm

Habit had said there are already fixed criteria to follow and that there is no discretion except in the discretion that the COP uses lol

Postby zoom rader » July 26th, 2024, 2:40 pm

alfa wrote:Habit had said there are already fixed criteria to follow and that there is no discretion except in the discretion that the COP uses lol
And Rowlee, he has the final say

Postby MaxPower » July 26th, 2024, 3:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:just change one word in the firearms act and that takes discretion away from the COP- 'may' to 'shall' as in 'the COP shall issue a FUL provided all criteria for obtaining a FUL is met' - also allow DCPs to sign off on FULs for their respective division to make the process more efficient. 'discretion' just gives rise to corruption and bribery.

red,

We have to bear in mind that we don’t want too many Trinis with FULs. The irresponsible culture will make it bad for others.

The process has to be efficient yes, but extremely strict with proper screening and frequent monitoring for applicants. You cannot have village drunks, wife beaters and mentally unstable applicants etc with “clean” undocumented records being able to easily access legal firearms.

Postby Chimera » July 26th, 2024, 7:53 pm

Wha about men who like underage Spanish girls? That type deserve ful?

Postby zoom rader » July 26th, 2024, 7:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:just change one word in the firearms act and that takes discretion away from the COP- 'may' to 'shall' as in 'the COP shall issue a FUL provided all criteria for obtaining a FUL is met' - also allow DCPs to sign off on FULs for their respective division to make the process more efficient. 'discretion' just gives rise to corruption and bribery.

red,

We have to bear in mind that we don’t want too many Trinis with FULs. The irresponsible culture will make it bad for others.

The process has to be efficient yes, but extremely strict with proper screening and frequent monitoring for applicants. You cannot have village drunks, wife beaters and mentally unstable applicants etc with “clean” undocumented records being able to easily access legal firearms.
We cant have PNM carnival ppl owning guns .

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2024, 1:09 am

zoom rader wrote:We cant have PNM carnival ppl owning guns .

Kamla is promoting guns for all.

She did not refer to a particular race, so yes, carnival and caura ppl will own guns as well.

Postby zoom rader » July 27th, 2024, 7:04 am

She did not refer to a particular race, so yes, carnival and caura ppl will own guns as well.
Caura ppl dont do home invasions.

Postby 16 cycles » July 27th, 2024, 7:56 am

Shouldn't matter what planet you come from, once you are a law abiding Trini....process should be fair....though they said Burke had no convictions (iirc)...so there still ought to have some checks in the system....

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2024, 8:36 am

robocop son too

16 cycles wrote:Shouldn't matter what planet you come from, once you are a law abiding Trini....process should be fair....though they said Burke had no convictions (iirc)...so there still ought to have some checks in the system....

Postby alfa » July 27th, 2024, 8:38 am

16 cycles wrote:Shouldn't matter what planet you come from, once you are a law abiding Trini....process should be fair....though they said Burke had no convictions (iirc)...so there still ought to have some checks in the system....

The fact is that there is all that and more presently. Medical screening for fitness, vision, psychological testing, letter from spouse. They look at the physical and security measures put in place at your residence, fencing, cameras, perimeter lighting, where will you install your safe etc. Then a background investigation as to why you need the firearm, evidence of burglary, police receipts, hunting and sport shooting recommendations where necessary.
From there a recommendation is made and that's where your file stops for years after. If you are lucky enough to be given a provisional there's a secondary investigation again after all that. We have more procedures than most other places but the end of the road stopper is the COP.

Postby 16 cycles » July 27th, 2024, 9:03 am

Then the blame lies at the feet of the TTPS for allowing the efficiency to be at present state....or maybe a few degenerates cause it seems others in the TTPS are following their mandate

alfa wrote:

The fact is that there is all that and more presently. Medical screening for fitness, vision, psychological testing, letter from spouse. They look at the physical and security measures put in place at your residence, fencing, cameras, perimeter lighting, where will you install your safe etc. Then a background investigation as to why you need the firearm, evidence of burglary, police receipts, hunting and sport shooting recommendations where necessary.
From there a recommendation is made and that's where your file stops for years after. If you are lucky enough to be given a provisional there's a secondary investigation again after all that. We have more procedures than most other places but the end of the road stopper is the COP.

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2024, 10:02 am

“Checks” as we know and corruption does
not go well together.

Postby 88sins » July 27th, 2024, 1:41 pm

Correction
Kamla is promoting guns for all who qualify.

There will always be instances where a person may want something, but they are not qualified to have it, thus they will be denied. As time goes by, IF in future they can prove that they do now qualify, then they can be allowed.
And then there are some people who will NEVER be allowed at any time or for any reason.

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2024, 8:39 am

Curtailed the event
FB_IMG_1724330072604.jpg

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2024, 10:03 am

sMASH wrote:Curtailed the event
FB_IMG_1724330072604.jpg
3 some and shot in leg.

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2024, 12:36 pm

i think we should have a thread to count how many crimes were prevented by FUL holders annually- the bandit shot thread would apply mostly to TTPS shootings and only a few FUL holders. this data could be useful in extrapolating how many crimes could be prevented by say a 5 fold increase in FUL holders - keeping in mind that if that happens it wont just be those that are directly prevented but also indirectly because then criminals would think twice before even attempting the crime.

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2024, 4:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think we should have a thread to count how many crimes were prevented by FUL holders annually- the bandit shot thread would apply mostly to TTPS shootings and only a few FUL holders. this data could be useful in extrapolating how many crimes could be prevented by say a 5 fold increase in FUL holders - keeping in mind that if that happens it wont just be those that are directly prevented but also indirectly because then criminals would think twice before even attempting the crime.
That would be less from now. I not too clear , but from what I came across , the pm's war on legal guns is restricting parts and rounds , so although they didn't ban them, they are rendering them useless as time goes on.

So fewer and fewer FUL holders would have functional arms

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2024, 10:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think we should have a thread to count how many crimes were prevented by FUL holders annually- the bandit shot thread would apply mostly to TTPS shootings and only a few FUL holders. this data could be useful in extrapolating how many crimes could be prevented by say a 5 fold increase in FUL holders - keeping in mind that if that happens it wont just be those that are directly prevented but also indirectly because then criminals would think twice before even attempting the crime.

Two things

Thing one, ttps already have that data, is just that it's not something to be made publicly available because it won't suit the political agenda of a certain toolumhead

Thing 2, that data really won't do any good for the wider population who may want to keep and carry arms, because the problem isn't the historical data, it's the colonial mindset

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2024, 10:58 pm

the fact that ttps not releasing that data is even more reason for us to document it

Postby 88sins » August 24th, 2024, 12:01 am

redmanjp wrote:the fact that ttps not releasing that data is even more reason for us to document it

Document it all you like, from now till Kingdom come. ain't nothing coming out of that either

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2024, 4:49 am

unfortunately they won’t
only way is for a lawyer to do a foia request

redmanjp wrote:the fact that ttps not releasing that data is even more reason for us to document it

Postby sMASH » August 24th, 2024, 8:05 pm

The mons and cop DO cite the data to show how legal guns are involved in crime and Accidents. But they include the arms of the protective services, but don't outwardly say it's both together... Those skew the narrative to justify their war against legal arms.

So stats need to be further subdivided into citizen FUL and protective service ful. And there u can also see how incompetent/criminal the protective services are compared to the citizen

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2024, 8:25 pm

Too many Trinis with FULs will be a problem.

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2024, 8:42 pm

every year there are a few cleaning gun episodes with the armed forces

sMASH wrote:The mons and cop DO cite the data to show how legal guns are involved in crime and Accidents. But they include the arms of the protective services, but don't outwardly say it's both together... Those skew the narrative to justify their war against legal arms.

So stats need to be further subdivided into citizen FUL and protective service ful. And there u can also see how incompetent/criminal the protective services are compared to the citizen

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2024, 9:25 pm

So, how can a legal guns be used for crimes?

Easy.

Ask all them dealers how many firearm components were sold for “competition”…i.e - highlighting on the list pretty ported and blinged out barrels.

How many firing pins were sold?

So, question for the experts:

For ballistic testing that ties the bullet to the respective firearm. What firearm components are the critical ones?

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2024, 9:26 pm

barrel and firing pin, together
possibly ejector