Re: Dengue fever death in South Trinidad

Postby gastly369 » July 8th, 2024, 8:18 pm

sMASH wrote:Boose your immune system
IMG_20240708_115252.jpg
IMG_20240708_115340.jpg
pugboy wrote:i not too sure about that for aedes mosquitoes tho

apparently aedes only breeds in clean water, usually around households

it’s the all black mosquitoes which does bite hard that breed in bushy water, those carry malaria not dengue

i not too sure mosquito does breed in saltwater either
By sm jaleel have dem black one with yellow racing stripes.... The Same river they does dump their waste it.....

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 8:31 pm

and ppl ketching fish down there to sell

Postby gastly369 » July 8th, 2024, 8:48 pm

Only ting I does buy in that area is bait to fish with

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2024, 6:21 am

One lady died from dengue over the weekend on my ends. Left 2 children behind

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2024, 6:27 am

you really need to go around your house to check for water, twice in last couple weeks i found containers we left which rain filled and mosquitos took over

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2024, 8:08 am

a time i had dengue about 10+ years ago

my brother had it first, then my father, all of us living in the same house, both of them were hospitalized with it
then i get the same symptoms

so i gone mt hope and after waiting 24+ on a chair in A+E a doctor see me and ask me why i feel i have dengue, if i feel i know more than the doctors and just because my relatives had it doesnt mean i have it
and he gonna give me a ibuprofen shot and send me home, d mc prime up the needle to give me the shot and the one thing i know about dengue is you know suppose to take anything with ibuprofen

i tell him na i good i dont want the shot
he tell me if i feel i smarter than the doctors than i shud leave the hospital

had to get some other doctors to treat me and i spend probably a week in mt hope being treated for dengue when blood tests came back

Postby redmanjp » July 9th, 2024, 8:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:One lady died from dengue over the weekend on my ends. Left 2 children behind

nothing about this death in papers but according to this there is a 200 fold increase in dengue cases- not 200% - 200 times what is was last year :shock:

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/07/09/carpha-ramp-up-mosquito-control-efforts/

doh know how they didnt declare this an outbreak yet

Postby sMASH » July 9th, 2024, 9:00 am

How u gonna fight mosquitoes in south ?

abbow

Postby abbow » July 9th, 2024, 9:05 am

Chimera wrote:a time i had dengue about 10+ years ago

my brother had it first, then my father, all of us living in the same house, both of them were hospitalized with it
then i get the same symptoms

so i gone mt hope and after waiting 24+ on a chair in A+E a doctor see me and ask me why i feel i have dengue, if i feel i know more than the doctors and just because my relatives had it doesnt mean i have it
and he gonna give me a ibuprofen shot and send me home, d mc prime up the needle to give me the shot and the one thing i know about dengue is you know suppose to take anything with ibuprofen

i tell him na i good i dont want the shot
he tell me if i feel i smarter than the doctors than i shud leave the hospital

had to get some other doctors to treat me and i spend probably a week in mt hope being treated for dengue when blood tests came back

is this same fackery caused my dad's death from Dengue ...

Postby redmanjp » July 9th, 2024, 11:04 am

i had it as a teenager- is it true that if u had it already it would be worse the 2nd time?

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2024, 11:17 am

Sometimes you have to wonder what is sense in cleaning your property, turning down all your containers, changing the water in your plant pots, cleaning your gutters, etc.

When you neighbour nasty and all their mosquitoes will just fly over by you anyway. A simple thing like a plot of tall grass is an excellent breeding site for mosquitoes.

I only relying on AC, Bobby my croaking lizard and some spiders.

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2024, 11:30 am

redmanjp wrote:i had it as a teenager- is it true that if u had it already it would be worse the 2nd time?

A prior infection of the dengue virus increases your chances of a more severe subsequent infection.

There is a dengue fever vaccine available.

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak - death in South Trinidad

Postby redmanjp » July 9th, 2024, 12:30 pm

available locally? and does it cover all types?

Postby maj. tom » July 9th, 2024, 1:37 pm

Primary Care Physician II, of the South-West Regional Health Authority, Dr Sandi Arthur offered advice on how to manage dengue.

"Your body can fight it off. Stick to acetaminophen (paracetamol) and avoid non-steroidal drugs, which can exacerbate symptoms," she said.

Public health inspectors to fine citizens as dengue cases surge
"Public health inspectors will be authorized to issue fines under the Yellow Fever Regulations to residents who fail to maintain their properties. We will give you seven days to clean up your act, and if you don't, you will be fined," Deyalsingh warned.

This includes cleaning guttering, removing derelict vehicles and cleaning up old tyres.

He said the surge in dengue cases is concentrated in the counties of Victoria, Caroni, and St. Patrick, which account for 90 per cent of the cases.

Deyalsingh stressed the importance of community cooperation to combat the spread of the disease. "Mosquitoes fly within a 100-meter range. We can't encourage mosquitoes," he said.

Asked what measures will be taken to protect citizens in areas like Woodland, Penal and Barrackpore where watercourses are clogged, Deyalsingh said the Aedes Egypti mosquito breeds in clear, clean, still water, rather than muddy, dirty water.

He emphasized that chemical spraying alone is insufficient to control mosquito populations.

"Overspraying has two outcomes: the mosquitoes become resistant, and you kill off the entire ecosystem. Overspraying is harmful to human and animal life," he explained.

He advocated for source reduction noting, "Cleaning your surroundings is crucial, and unless the population engages in source reduction, so mosquitoes don't breed, we will not eliminate them."

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/public-health-inspectors-to-fine-citizens-as-dengue-cases-surge-6.2.2047345.360e0e88e4

Postby maj. tom » July 9th, 2024, 1:44 pm

Former minister wants modified mosquitoes to fight dengue spread

Former health minister Dr Fuad Khan is urging the Government to consider genetically modified mosquitoes to help fight the spread of the disease.

Khan, who served as Health Minister for one term, proposed in 2011 that genetically modified (GM) male mosquitoes, which have been successfully used in other countries to combat the Aedes aegypti mosquitoes (which cause dengue fever), could be a solution for T&T.

However, this project never materialised. Speaking on CNC3’s The Morning Brew, Khan again suggested that genetically modified male mosquitoes could be effectively used. “I think that should be looked at again because it has been used successfully in Brazil and Florida.

Genetically modified male mosquitoes breeding with female Aedes aegypti is an approach we need to consider. It’s important to find a scientific method to deal with these mosquitoes,” Khan said. He also called for updated legislation to ensure that people are mandated to keep their surroundings clean. He said if they fail to do so, they should be penalised.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/former-minister-wants-modified-mosquitoes-to-fight-dengue-spread-6.2.2047186.39c59b3d17

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2024, 9:53 pm

they should declare a SoE on dis

have several extended family members in hospital with confirmed or suspected dengue
apparently sando hospital in chaos with amount of patients. people deading

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2024, 10:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:they should declare a SoE on dis

have several extended family members in hospital with confirmed or suspected dengue
apparently sando hospital in chaos with amount of patients. people deading

And do what? Declare a curfew or just hand out Panadol and Bop? The mosquitoes have to become infected from biting a carrier before it can spread the virus by biting and infecting the next person that will become a carrier.

Unless you can make the dry season start tomorrow, it's already too late to stop the spread.
Last edited by adnj on July 10th, 2024, 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » July 10th, 2024, 10:46 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i had it as a teenager- is it true that if u had it already it would be worse the 2nd time?

A prior infection of the dengue virus increases your chances of a more severe subsequent infection.

There is a dengue fever vaccine available.
Well firetruck

And it have endless mosquito by me , home and office.
Bop n thing like it not even working

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » July 11th, 2024, 7:58 am

Aye keep the virus in Trinidad please don’t get on planes and bring it here with you. The CDC think people flying in are bringing it with them.

Postby maj. tom » July 12th, 2024, 7:08 pm

Deyalsingh say a water bottle cap in your yard can breed 1000 mosquitos.
And you will be fined $3500 when inspectors enter your yard (don't need your permission) and find it.

How many bottle caps of water all the uncleaned drains and big uncut grass and road potholes outside my yard can hold boy? It have maths involved.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2024, 7:19 pm

Who we reporting these derelict properties to? Abandoned house collapse next door and I want it gone. Trying not to set fire to it until I exhaust all channels.

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2024, 7:52 pm

local city corp who will prob stick a paper notice on the property and nada after

Postby redmanjp » July 12th, 2024, 8:16 pm

the cases reported by MOH are only from tests done in the public sector- plenty private labs are also recording plenty cases especially in south.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2024, 8:19 pm

pugboy wrote:local city corp who will prob stick a paper notice on the property and nada after
There is no working number for siparia borough corp

xtech

Postby xtech » July 13th, 2024, 8:16 am

pugboy wrote:local city corp who will prob stick a paper notice on the property and nada after
There is no working number for siparia borough corp

They usually keep the phones off the hook to limit calls.

Postby Les Bain » July 13th, 2024, 8:45 am

Cheap oil diffuser and some drops of citronella oil helps. Having mosquito problems this year despite having mesh screens on all my windows. I mix it strong and keep it in one corner of the house so it makes a good spread.

It's safer than mosquito coils and citronella candles, especially if you have young ones running around.

Postby alfa » July 13th, 2024, 8:57 am

What's a good repellent for pets? Mosquitoes affecting them as well. I put a couple drops of citronella on the dogs fur for mosquitoes and they didn't like the scent one bit. Went rolling in the grass after.

Postby maj. tom » July 13th, 2024, 9:03 am

OFF! is the only thing that is tested as properly effective. Not the brand, but the DEET chemical.
I not sure if it's totally pet safe though. It is tested on humans.

Postby gastly369 » July 13th, 2024, 10:12 am

nervewrecker wrote:Who we reporting these derelict properties to? Abandoned house collapse next door and I want it gone. Trying not to set fire to it until I exhaust all channels.
See the house behind mines the condition beetham dump levels ..... Hence the heavy fence off fedup talk to them

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2024, 4:36 pm

more of my inlaws get dengue

sick bad

SoE declare in my house even if govt doh care