THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2025

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2024

Postby Les Bain » June 30th, 2024, 12:56 pm

Little strangeness in Piarco ATM. It's humid and there's an occasional blast of heat coming with the breeze.

Wish we had a live weather cam at the Toco lighthouse to follow the chit when it starts.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 30th, 2024, 1:03 pm

Les Bain wrote:Little strangeness in Piarco ATM. It's humid and there's an occasional blast of heat coming with the breeze.

Wish we had a live weather cam at the Toco lighthouse to follow the chit when it starts.
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/traffic-cameras/#Penta_Arima

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2024, 1:10 pm

The dams must be affected with what is coming.

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2024, 1:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Officially a cat 4 now

Well that escalated quickly...

Tropical storm to cat 4 hurricane in 24 hours :shock:

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 30th, 2024, 1:16 pm

Les Bain wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:Does anyone have a link to the stream

Search 'TTT Live Online' on YouTube.

Thanks, the stream didn’t pop up in the feed at the time I checked FB.
I’ll keep YouTube in mind for the future

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 2:17 pm

PariaMan wrote:Yes like it made a warble west towards us

Tobago looking like it getting hurricane force

Ent you was de man saying "not to worry, not to worry?"

That is why I posted the Barbados report from early this morning.

All we can do now is pray for the best. But we really need the rain.

Postby redmanjp » June 30th, 2024, 2:26 pm

It's not just a movement towards us that put us under increased risk but the fact that the system size has increased and the storm force winds are extending further from the centre

Hurricane-force winds extend outward up to 30 miles (45 km) from
the center and tropical-storm-force winds extend outward up to 115
miles (185 km).

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 30th, 2024, 2:26 pm

bluefete wrote:

There was a change in course on previous path it was to the north

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 2:41 pm

it blowing south ?

just came back from the pharmacy. meds fully restocked
also bought some mosquito zappers
everything charging rn lanterns, fans, phones, batteries

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 2:42 pm

Invest 96 L has been designated by the NHC behind Beryl. Expected to become Tropical Storm Chris mid-next week.

two_atl_7d0.png

-mora

party now start

Postby st7 » June 30th, 2024, 2:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Invest 96 L has been designated by the NHC behind Beryl. Expected to become Tropical Storm Chris mid-next week.

two_atl_7d0.png

-mora

party now start
stop posting stuff from Mora. he just as reliable as the met office

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 2:53 pm

PariaMan wrote:
bluefete wrote:

There was a change in course on previous path it was to the north

Correct. I am more worried about Chris.

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 2:54 pm

st7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

two_atl_7d0.png
-mora

party now start

But the diagram is from the NHC.

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 2:54 pm

School tomorrow? Does anyone know?

Postby st7 » June 30th, 2024, 2:57 pm

bluefete wrote:
st7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

two_atl_7d0.png
-mora

party now start

But the diagram is from the NHC.
i know. mora trying hard

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2024, 3:10 pm

bluefete wrote:School tomorrow? Does anyone know?
As of now yes.
Exams are more or less finished so no biggie of the kiddies stay home. Mine is.

Postby j.o.e » June 30th, 2024, 3:14 pm

We’ve been here before guys. Mild rain tomorrow.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 30th, 2024, 3:18 pm

We're lucky to be on the very edge of the South American continent. We will always get just the edges of all these storms and hurricanes. God is truly a Trini.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2024, 3:20 pm

Boats coming down here
20240630_151254.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 3:24 pm

bread shelves empty in bago

except for kiss whole wheat. in befoe a cat4 people doh want kiss whole wheat

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2024, 3:28 pm

With the rapid climate change occurring, that may not be "always" soon enough, because here we are with this new record.

Hurricane wind speeds receive the most attention, but it's about the absorbed ocean energy that is being released in a short period by that weather engine. Significantly more energy in a hurricane is released as rainfall through the latent energy of water droplet condensation, not the kinetic energy from wind.

NOAA calculations:https://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd-faq/#hurricane-energy-production

Trinidad is definitely feeling the effects of the hurricanes due to a warmer ocean.

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2024, 3:37 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Boats coming down here20240630_151254.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/8QAKBEq56UHtvUqx/

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 3:44 pm

Dave wrote:
As of now yes.

Wait. You mean to tell me that Tobago is under a hurricane warning and the MoE wants the children to go to school?

Oh, I forgot, it is the Rowley administration. The same Rowley when he was in opposition lambasted Kamla for closing schools when a hurricane was supposed to hit us. God showed his Trinbagonian passport at the time and nothing happened.

Rowley went off on Kamla for closing schools.

The lives of the school children in Tobago are not important. Carry on.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 30th, 2024, 3:46 pm

The press conference said the MOE will make a decision this evening on the closure of schools.

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 3:52 pm

the moe general position is to use your common sense. if you in a flood-prone area, if your child have to travel, if you know teachers might not come out, etc., use your judgement. the moe last time got flack for cancelling school island-wide when plenty areas and schools were unaffected by the bad weather.

as hororable said school kinda already finish for the semester

given this is a cat 4 hurricane the moe should have put out a notice early

or better yet as part of a whole-of-government notice or publicized plan

predictability of response, certainty of process, etc, from the state being the end goal
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 30th, 2024, 3:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2024, 3:53 pm

if yuh have generator make sure yuh have gas

wing

Postby wing » June 30th, 2024, 3:59 pm

bluefete wrote:
Dave wrote:
As of now yes.

Wait. You mean to tell me that Tobago is under a hurricane warning and the MoE wants the children to go to school?

Oh, I forgot, it is the Rowley administration. The same Rowley when he was in opposition lambasted Kamla for closing schools when a hurricane was supposed to hit us. God showed his Trinbagonian passport at the time and nothing happened.

If you are waiting for Rowley to tell you how to secure your children, then you have failed as a parent. Then again, being senile, you can't really think for yourself.

Postby mero » June 30th, 2024, 3:59 pm

Not a leaf blowing on dem tree in town rn. Lil eerie vibes.

Ogoaarrrrrr

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 30th, 2024, 4:07 pm

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 4:08 pm

wing wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Dave wrote:
As of now yes.

If you are waiting for Rowley to tell you how to secure your children, then you have failed as a parent. Then again, being senile, you can't really think for yourself.

But WDA??? :lol: :lol:

You totally missed the point. But that is expected.