VexXx Dogg wrote:Cucumbers have been super expensive for the last few weeks $12 to 15 and yesterday up to 17 per lb.
Dizzy28 wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Cucumbers have been super expensive for the last few weeks $12 to 15 and yesterday up to 17 per lb.
Cucumbers really a mid fruit for salads though.
Stopped using them and haven't looked back.
But lettuce is a scenes. The local romaines lack the crispness of the imported ones but Pricesmart no longer has the imported ones at the $20-30 price anymore. I have resorted to some local lettuce and kale to keep salads together but even Kale has gone up by a few bucks.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Cucumbers have been super expensive for the last few weeks $12 to 15 and yesterday up to 17 per lb.
Cucumbers really a mid fruit for salads though.
Stopped using them and haven't looked back.
But lettuce is a scenes. The local romaines lack the crispness of the imported ones but Pricesmart no longer has the imported ones at the $20-30 price anymore. I have resorted to some local lettuce and kale to keep salads together but even Kale has gone up by a few bucks.
Supermarket lettuce is 3X cost of market.
That hard local lettuce eh too nice, but some markets have reallll variety.
I get Muir, Bronze, Red Oak, Bronze, Butter and one other variety in Couva and it normally ranges from 8-14 per head depending on size. go Tunapuna market and see the vibes nah bai.
My salads are usually a mix of two of the above, plus bell peppers (imported > local), cucumbers, red onion. Sometimes I add raw grated pumpkin. I also like to throw in some olives or pickles in the mix, or some fruit depending on what I have in the fridge and what protein I'm dumping in there bow.
Don't care for tomato, carrot or cabbage in salads.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Supermarket lettuce is 3X cost of market.
daring dragoon wrote:vegetables not good for the human body. too much chemicals unless you planting your own.
deltagulf wrote:daring dragoon wrote:vegetables not good for the human body. too much chemicals unless you planting your own.
Yeah, since most of them are grown with pesticides and other chemicals, it's like growing animals with hormones (and we do that as well), but yeah, overall it's better to eat from your garden
daring dragoon wrote:cancer has been on the rise rapidly.
snatman wrote:I wash my fruits and vegetables with dish soap. With a pot scrubber where practicable.
daring dragoon wrote:vegetables not good for the human body. too much chemicals unless you planting your own.
MaxPower wrote:daring dragoon wrote:cancer has been on the rise rapidly.
Yep
St James ram out with people of all ages.
pugboy wrote:hate to bust allyuh washing bubble but
the vast majority of pesticides in use are systemic
ie it is sprayed and the plant absorbs it
so when a bug bite the plant or fruit it dies after ingesting
these systemic chemicals require a preharvest time before the chemical wears off
usually around 10-14 days
so you need to ask the farmer if he waited that time before picking….
dogg wrote:This Saturday there were no christophene in Tunapuna market. Not one in the entire market. This was around 11 am.
mero wrote:What's the price on eggs per crate rn, wholesale n retail?
How much they going for in your respective zones?
Dizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:What's the price on eggs per crate rn, wholesale n retail?
I pay $43 for a crate now through my BiL.
Think that's the wholesale price he gets at for his business.
My pardner have a shop and he would give me a crate for $52 which is his cost price.
The ones my BiL gets are consistently better sized whereas my pardner with the shop would have some seriously small ones mixed in.
mero wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:What's the price on eggs per crate rn, wholesale n retail?
I pay $43 for a crate now through my BiL.
Think that's the wholesale price he gets at for his business.
My pardner have a shop and he would give me a crate for $52 which is his cost price.
The ones my BiL gets are consistently better sized whereas my pardner with the shop would have some seriously small ones mixed in.
Appreciated. Seems to be a shortage of eggs on the large scale.
Prices varying from $45-$60+a crate
pugboy wrote:are pricesmart eggs imported?