Dengue Fever Outbreak - 18 deaths, over 1400 cases

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2024, 8:18 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/06/20/health-minister-confirms-dengue-death-in-south-trinidad/

But he saying he can't give info just like d pandemic but they used to say elderly with comorbidities etc.

Anyway guess is time to clean up d yard outside.
Last edited by redmanjp on September 23rd, 2024, 6:42 pm, edited 16 times in total.

Re: Dengue fever death in South Trinidad

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2024, 8:48 pm

Also hearing of a death of a 10 year old child in Arima who had traces of dengue in their system.

Postby gastly369 » June 20th, 2024, 8:58 pm

Bai i feel entire home get dengue last 2 weeks inno fr fr

Level body pains and fever galore

Postby maj. tom » June 20th, 2024, 9:04 pm

If any children affected, get them to the doctor for blood test and treatment.

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2024, 9:17 pm

time to buy some mosquito zappers

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2024, 7:10 am

Dengue Virus.

Tragically, a 16-year-old girl from Fyzabad succumbed to the virus about two weeks ago.

Siparia Mayor Doodnath Mayhroo reported 125 cases, with 20 confirmed, across the Siparia region.

Dr Joel Teelucksingh highlighted the rise in dengue cases across Latin America and the Caribbean. He noted that the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) reported an increasing number of cases, with Puerto Rico declaring dengue a public health emergency in March.

“Dengue, although it is endemic in T&T and that word means it is present at a certain level throughout the year, there has been an increased rate of hospitalisation due to dengue fever and severe dengue,” Teelucksingh explained.

He anticipated that the dengue cases would increase during the rainy season.

“This increase is concerning and it is critical for the public to be aware of the warning signs of severe dengue, prevention measures and necessary precautions to protect your families,” he said.

Teelucksingh advised monitoring for severe symptoms, including severe abdominal pain, persistent vomiting, shortness of breath or rapid breathing, increasing listlessness, restlessness, confusion, or blood in vomit or stool. He stressed that these symptoms required immediate hospitalisation.

“Prevention is key in controlling dengue,” he said.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/doctor-urges-public-to-take-precautions-against-dengue-6.2.2045212.077300fe82

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2024, 7:54 am

Chid died from sundrees road penal as well

Postby alfa » July 6th, 2024, 8:36 am

Anybody ever try regent or Triton SC to spray their yard and houses for mosquito control? Does it work or what other chemical might?

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2024, 9:00 am

those chemicals work mainly for insects which spend time on crawling surfaces eg ants, roaches

alfa wrote:Anybody ever try regent or Triton SC to spray their yard and houses for mosquito control? Does it work or what other chemical might?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 6th, 2024, 10:53 am

alfa wrote:Anybody ever try regent or Triton SC to spray their yard and houses for mosquito control? Does it work or what other chemical might?

Malathion mixed to spec and misted with a garden sprayer on all your plants, bushes and dark corners or piles where they usually hide.
Still have to break the cycle so get rid of still water where possible

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2024, 11:17 am

The wild chickens in my yard cleaning it out every single day always looking for food. Even the stray cat fraid dem. No lizard, insect, spider, nothing. I stop feeding them a lil rice or stale bread since the rains started. If mosquito larvae breeding anywhere on my property, I pretty sure that they dealing with it.

I would encourage everyone to get a yard fowl or two as "pets" like how that was normal in every household in the country a few decades ago. Just provide a dry place for them and they happy.

Postby Chimera » July 6th, 2024, 11:30 am

Can't do that if yuh have dogs tho.

I hear duck's and guinea birds/fowl does firetruck up them snails too

Postby alfa » July 6th, 2024, 11:40 am

Snails is a next pest I dealing with. Can't put bait cuz it is poisonous to dogs. Sigh

Postby Chimera » July 6th, 2024, 11:49 am

alfa wrote:Snails is a next pest I dealing with. Can't put bait cuz it is poisonous to dogs. Sigh
U can make a bait house

Use a pig tail bucket and cut notches or "doors" into it so the snails can go in and get the bait and die. But dogs can't access it

I fighting a dred war with snails.

I also soak veggie scraps in beer and put that in the bucket with the bait and that does attract them 10x than the bait alone

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2024, 3:01 pm

The Fyzabad death is the same death which I posted about or is it a second one? The original article didn't give any details.

team 394

Postby team 394 » July 7th, 2024, 6:27 am

Postby maj. tom » July 8th, 2024, 7:40 am

Mosquito mayhem
Southern communities overwhelmed...

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/mosquito-mayhem/article_4a7275d2-3cd2-11ef-82ab-c3b51fd2cdc1.html

A surge in the mosquito population has increased worries about dengue and other mosquito-related diseases across the country, with residents in southern communities saying they are being overwhelmed by the swarming insects.

As climate change and a number of factors have brought a 200-fold increase in the number of dengue cases in the Americas, according to the director of the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA), Dr Lisa Indar, citizens and property owners in Trinidad and Tobago are now being urged to exercise vigilance in dealing with the insect.

Activist Edward Moodie of the South Oropouche Riverine Flood Action Group yesterday attributed the sharp rise to a lack of freshwater fish due to a saltwater incursion within the wetlands in 2023.

“It is over the entire wetland area which will be in excess of 150 acres, there are millions of mosquitoes there. If you come down, there in the evening you will be eaten alive. Normally we have a mosquito situation in Woodland every year but this year the entire lagoon was flooded with saltwater fish. There are no predators to feed on these mosquitoes now to maintain the balance. That is what is causing this phenomenal spurt in mosquitoes this year. It is about three to four times the amount,” he said in a telephone interview yesterday.

But according to citizens and representatives, the problem has not been limited to Woodland only, but has instead spanned across the Penal/Debe, Siparia, Princes Town, Moruga and other regions.

‘You can’t go inside or out’

“It is an all-day problem because when, in the mornings, I go outside to pick my flowers, you cannot stand up, it is the worst. There are a lot of mosquitoes,” a resident from Princes Town said.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 7:42 am

so them local corporations doing the truck spraying?
wham to ferris?

Postby maj. tom » July 8th, 2024, 7:46 am

So the newest successful technology to combatting the mosquitos in many tropical regions are Genetically Modified (GM) mosquitos.

https://www.cdc.gov/mosquitoes/mosquito-control/genetically-modified-mosquitoes.html

GM mosquitoes are mass-produced in a laboratory to carry two types of genes:
*A self-limiting gene that prevents female mosquito offspring from surviving to adulthood.
*A fluorescent marker gene that glows under a special red light. This allows researchers to identify GM mosquitoes in the wild.

Mosquito control professionals release GM mosquito eggs into an area.

When the eggs hatch, they develop into adult mosquitoes. These mosquitoes mate with wild females.

The genes are passed on to offspring.

The expected result of using GM mosquitoes is that the numbers of Ae. aegypti mosquitoes in an area decreases.

GM mosquitoes have been successfully used in parts of Brazil, the Cayman Islands, Panama, and India to control Ae. aegypti mosquitoes. Since 2019, over 1 billion mosquitoes have been released.

They have been successful in Brazil, India, Cayman Islands, Kenya.

The latest stories on this
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cw551yelwz5o
GMO mosquitoes released in Djibouti to fight malaria
23 May 2024

Scientists release genetically modified mosquitoes to fight dengue in Brazil
March 4, 2024
https://www.livescience.com/health/viruses-infections-disease/scientists-release-genetically-modified-mosquitoes-to-fight-dengue-in-brazil

So Trinidad authorities, get with the programme please. Talk to WHO and PAHO and USA CDC. This mosquito problem has reached a Public Health level of importance.

Postby alfa » July 8th, 2024, 7:56 am

pugboy wrote:so them local corporations doing the truck spraying?
wham to ferris?

Haven't seen those in my area since before the COVID era

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 8:04 am

i have a suspicion that the ivermectin folks would have a problem with gmo mosquitoes

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 8th, 2024, 8:40 am

pugboy wrote:i have a suspicion that the ivermectin folks would have a problem with gmo mosquitoes
Wouldn't be surprised men start taking ivermectin for dengue too

Postby adnj » July 8th, 2024, 8:46 am

pugboy wrote:i have a suspicion that the ivermectin folks would have a problem with gmo mosquitoes

Stupid people in your neighborhood choking down ivermectin to prevent COVID may have helped to reduce the population of mosquitoes that could bite people that were less stupid.

In their study, the researchers demonstrate that three high doses of ivermectin make human blood deadly to mosquitoes for at least 28 days after the start of treatment. This high dose of ivermectin was also well-tolerated with few side effects.

"The most exciting result was the fact that even one month after [the subjects took] ivermectin, their blood was still killing mosquitoes," Smit says. "That's much longer than we thought."

https://www.npr.org/sections/goatsandso ... mosquitoes

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 9:24 am

best we start ingesting the tablets they give dogs to kill fleas and ticks
been told they work well

Postby redmanjp » July 8th, 2024, 9:39 am

but even if it killing them are u still getting the infection?

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2024, 11:49 am

pugboy wrote:best we start ingesting the tablets they give dogs to kill fleas and ticks
been told they work well
Manvecto

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2024, 11:50 am

fokhan_96 wrote:
Wouldn't be surprised men start taking ivermectin for dengue too
Already in the system.... Sooo already prepped .

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Boose your immune system
IMG_20240708_115340.jpg
IMG_20240708_115252.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » July 8th, 2024, 7:03 pm

maj. tom wrote:Mosquito mayhem
Southern communities overwhelmed...

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/mosquito-mayhem/article_4a7275d2-3cd2-11ef-82ab-c3b51fd2cdc1.html

Activist Edward Moodie of the South Oropouche Riverine Flood Action Group yesterday attributed the sharp rise to a lack of freshwater fish due to a saltwater incursion within the wetlands in 2023.

“It is over the entire wetland area which will be in excess of 150 acres, there are millions of mosquitoes there. If you come down, there in the evening you will be eaten alive. Normally we have a mosquito situation in Woodland every year but this year the entire lagoon was flooded with saltwater fish. There are no predators to feed on these mosquitoes now to maintain the balance. That is what is causing this phenomenal spurt in mosquitoes this year. It is about three to four times the amount,” he said in a telephone interview yesterday.

if true this is another lol aspect of climate change to deal with.

freshwater fish getting displaced by salt water from flooding
causing more mosquito
causing hospitals to fill up with dengue cases

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 7:31 pm

i not too sure about that for aedes mosquitoes tho

apparently aedes only breeds in clean water, usually around households

it’s the all black mosquitoes which does bite hard that breed in bushy water, those carry malaria not dengue

i not too sure mosquito does breed in saltwater either