LF/WTB plate amplifier.

Postby 88sins » May 26th, 2024, 9:07 am

Looking for a plate amplifier, anyone know where I can get one to buy in Trinidad?

Re: LF/WTB plate amplifier.

Postby gastly369 » May 26th, 2024, 9:21 am

88sins wrote:Looking for a plate amplifier, anyone know where I can get one to buy in Trinidad?
Goupauls electronics

Postby Gladiator » May 26th, 2024, 9:46 am

for a sub?

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2024, 10:02 am

i have a bash somewhere
have to look for it

Postby 88sins » May 26th, 2024, 11:21 am

Gladiator wrote:for a sub?

Well, yes and no :lol:
Basically, an old timer who like hard knock was telling me he wanted a nice clean powerful audio system, but a lack of funds not allowing him to buy nuttn. so I decided I'd build him a setup for him, something small but powerful.
So I want to build him a down firing sub box with a 10" sub, 2 sealed 6" midrange speakers and 2 bullet tweeters. He will get it for his birthday in a few weeks.

Was studying to use a 4ch car amp, but I don't think it will survive well inside the enclosure with the vibrations, and that would take up volume that could be better used for the subs performance, and I'd have to account for more room inside the enclosure, making it a bit bigger than I'd like.

Gonna need at least 2, one for the subs and the other for mids and highs (mids signal will be going to the tweeters through a condenser.)

Thanks gastly and pugbboy.

Postby Dave » May 26th, 2024, 11:37 am

Plate Amps have come a long way and should not be anything to laugh at. Partsexpress might be your best bet.

Postby paid_influencer » May 26th, 2024, 11:57 am

so you need a stereo midrange + subwoofer plate amplifier, at about 100x2+300 Watts? Might be difficult to find that locally, but parts Express or Amazon or aliexpress would have it.

Most places locally would have replacements plate amps for PA speakers. bigger than what you need and designed for a single speaker. What people usually do is run a deck + small monoblock or, as you said, a 4 channel for that kind of system.

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2024, 12:05 pm

mine is from partsexpress, a sub amp
will look later tonight

Postby gastly369 » May 26th, 2024, 12:20 pm

Gladiator wrote:for a sub?

Well, yes and no
Basically, an old timer who like hard knock was telling me he wanted a nice clean powerful audio system, but a lack of funds not allowing him to buy nuttn. so I decided I'd build him a setup for him, something small but powerful.
So I want to build him a down firing sub box with a 10" sub, 2 sealed 6" midrange speakers and 2 bullet tweeters. He will get it for his birthday in a few weeks.

Was studying to use a 4ch car amp, but I don't think it will survive well inside the enclosure with the vibrations, and that would take up volume that could be better used for the subs performance, and I'd have to account for more room inside the enclosure, making it a bit bigger than I'd like.

Gonna need at least 2, one for the subs and the other for mids and highs (mids signal will be going to the tweeters through a condenser.)

Thanks gastly and pugbboy.
Get a old z5500 and use some car audio speakers and sub... My shop I setup with 4 ceiling mounted coaxials in sealed boxed with ceiling grill and a incriminator 10 sub.... Does shake the whole shop and neighbor house glass lol

rafman

Postby rafman » May 26th, 2024, 2:02 pm

Fosi audio mini amps....Amazon

I have the BT20A....and trust me, real power there.

Postby 88sins » May 26th, 2024, 3:28 pm

Dave wrote:Plate Amps have come a long way and should not be anything to laugh at. Partsexpress might be your best bet.

Take what I telling you, I'm QUITE aware of this. Hence the search for a decent one locally :lol:
But worst case scenario I go bring it down.

Postby Dave » May 26th, 2024, 3:37 pm

rafman wrote:Fosi audio mini amps....Amazon

I have the BT20A....and trust me, real power there.
Oh these too!
Bought one for my son as an introduction and he had a 200 rms sub shaking like wow!
Of course now he's at 500 rms.

Postby 88sins » May 26th, 2024, 3:38 pm

I still studying how papi still into hard pong wid he old self.
And here I was thinking that past a certain age man does done away with these things

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2024, 7:28 pm

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2024, 1:05 pm

couldn’t find it but will look again

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2024, 1:34 pm

Postby 88sins » November 6th, 2024, 8:34 pm

Small update

Pappy build coming along nicely. Did a test run on it today, and I gotta admit, dis ting sounding real clean and loud af.

Went another direction wrt the amplifier and signal source. I used a taramps ts400 and a double din touch screen car stereo instead, with a 35ah battery in the base compartment, with a power on off switch for the stereo and voltage meter

Only things left to do now is port & tune the sub, install the charging port, install the RCA outputs and the 12v power output (internal power supply set at 14.5 buh wha yuh go do), and lastly attach the wheels and handle.
Last thing is to sand down the exterior, and cover with some kinda black leatherette or sumn.

Probably gonna finish by Saturday, God willing.

Postby Dave » November 6th, 2024, 8:55 pm

Let's see the finished product.
Nothing like a DIY!

Postby 88sins » November 7th, 2024, 8:26 pm

As it done, will post it.
Now, ah shame to say this eh, but ah go say it still.

dis ting outperforming the RadioShack speaker I buy from courts, by MILES.
meaning, when both playing, side by side, at max volumes. yuh can't hear the one I buy, it getting drowned out And that's besides the fact that the sound from the build is a lot cleaner and clearer.

ah wondering if pappy go rather the RadioShack box instead :lol:

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2025, 4:22 am

Almost done with the build. Had to make some changes to the original plan. No tweeters (he finds the high frequencies annoying), and I went with the Taramps DS440 amplifier mounted internally with a 50 amp ps powering it in addition to a 35ah battery. Also went with castors instead of legs, so it's easier to move around if needed, as well as a few other features, like a 12v power output, a pair of low level RCA both inputs and outputs (so he can connect to another box if he wants), as well as 2 high level outputs (to power an unpowered sub or mids box, again, if he wants) Signal source has bluetooth, radio, USB, microSD, 3.5mm input, and if he wants to use it, screen mirroring capability.

All that's left to do now is just to staple the material on the underside (it's already mostly glued in place, but a few staples at the ends eh go kill it) and re-do the covering on the top (I eh like how it looking at all, & I know it can be done better), and install the handle. Delivery is going to be on Sunday, once God willing.
20250121_035211.jpg

Postby Dave » January 21st, 2025, 6:20 am

Thanks for sharing.
Good job. How does it sound?

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2025, 6:27 am

Dave wrote:Thanks for sharing.
Good job. How does it sound?

Thnx

Clean, and loud, with clear frequency separation.
Only possible issue now is he might find is too much, but he go hadda handle he candle to suit

Postby sMASH » January 21st, 2025, 10:41 am

So the charging system for the battery , has any monitoring/smart features ?
Or just a simple power supply ?

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2025, 7:20 pm

sMASH wrote:So the charging system for the battery , has any monitoring/smart features ?

Charging system is a ps, a bcm and voltage display.
Also has 2 switches, one to turn the ps power on/of, and another to turn the system on/off.
Source memory directly attached to battery, so even when you cut the power to system by the switch, and turn it back on, everything comes back how you left it. Additionally, you can simply turn off the system, from the source unit as well if you want.

hindian

Postby hindian » January 21st, 2025, 7:28 pm

Where is the like button for this post?

Postby sMASH » January 21st, 2025, 7:33 pm

sMASH wrote:So the charging system for the battery , has any monitoring/smart features ?

Charging system is a ps, a bcm and voltage display.
Also has 2 switches, one to turn the ps power on/of, and another to turn the system on/off.
Source memory directly attached to battery, so even when you cut the power to system by the switch, and turn it back on, everything comes back how you left it. Additionally, you can simply turn off the system, from the source unit as well if you want.
Tnx. Wanted to use a battery as well to keep settings, but didn't want to keep the battery charging continuously ... So wanted some ideas

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2025, 10:45 am

sMASH wrote:Tnx. Wanted to use a battery as well to keep settings, but didn't want to keep the battery charging continuously ... So wanted some ideas

no scn
Only thing you really NEED to keep connected to power without interruption would be the memory, and honestly memory uses almost zero power.
What is more important is to know the potential maximum current draw the amp will have, and match the battery accordingly. ideally you want your battery amp hour capacity to be a minimum of 2x the max current draw of the amp, to allow for reasonable unplugged play time before running the battery down too deep.