2nr hiring mods jn hadda flex dey "years experience" from nowDohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Actually yes, for 10 years you big hen.zoom rader wrote:U ever wuk in industry and especially the steel industry?wing wrote:As an electrical engineer, surely he would have known the risks involved and done EVERYTHING in his power to mitigate against such. He even has the power to refuse if he's concerned about his safety.nervewrecker wrote:Is like something out of final destination yes. The day before me and a guy talking how we does laugh now but he get burn up and live. We talking and laughing how funny it sounds now. Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.
Same evening I pass Rossi and his wife walking the two Huskies. Next evening he in the ICU. My mother freaking out because she knows HV does be part of my daily routine sometimes and it's not the first or last time I de-energize and normalise systems. It's a risk you have to understand and be trained to work around.
Rossi was a bright guy, we went same primary sch and high school. I don't know the circumstances but I'm already seeing talk of no ppe and working on the 12KV live. Something not adding up there.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TriniTuner mobile app
Why u don't hush lil kant
Why we fighting guys? A guy is dead, we need a proper investigation into it
As you can see, it's the tuner kakahole that resorted to insults. Then again, his only knowledge of safety is the safe word he does use when Barry "paying" him for blogging on tuner.I never mentioned names and was giving my perspective based on my actual experience in the actual facility.Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Actually yes, for 10 years you big hen.zoom rader wrote:U ever wuk in industry and especially the steel industry?wing wrote:As an electrical engineer, surely he would have known the risks involved and done EVERYTHING in his power to mitigate against such. He even has the power to refuse if he's concerned about his safety.nervewrecker wrote:Is like something out of final destination yes. The day before me and a guy talking how we does laugh now but he get burn up and live. We talking and laughing how funny it sounds now. Same day I showing the guys to not take chance and always stand on the side when flipping a breaker. I always turn my face too and we MUST ALWAYS respect a live system.
Same evening I pass Rossi and his wife walking the two Huskies. Next evening he in the ICU. My mother freaking out because she knows HV does be part of my daily routine sometimes and it's not the first or last time I de-energize and normalise systems. It's a risk you have to understand and be trained to work around.
Rossi was a bright guy, we went same primary sch and high school. I don't know the circumstances but I'm already seeing talk of no ppe and working on the 12KV live. Something not adding up there.
Why u don't hush lil kant
Why we fighting guys? A guy is dead, we need a proper investigation into it
nervewrecker wrote: So I don't know if some idiot told him the system was de-energized and he went ahead. Yes I agree the onus is on you to do your tests to verify such but let's face it, there are crazy people out here and instructions can get distorted as it goes from person to person. We don't even know if he went to do tests and got complacent thinking it dead and touched the bus bars. I'm not at liberty to say anything anyways.
I hinted of this in the paria thread. if he didn't die, nobody would have known about it.
Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
anticipates?The_Honourable wrote:ArcelorMittal plant to be sold by mid-2024
CHAIRMAN of the Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation Ltd (Plipdeco), Dr Daniel Dookie, anticipates that the ArcelorMittal Steel Plant will be sold soon.
Dookie made the statement as part of his chairman’s report in the Plipdeco 2023 annual report which was published by the T&T Stock Exchange yesterday.
“Towards the end of the year, significant progress was made toward advancing the sale of the ArcelorMittal steel plant that was closed in 2016. Based on the progress made, it is anticipated that a final sale would be executed by the end of the second quarter 2024,” Dookie stated.
In June of last year, TTIS (TT Iron & Steel Company Ltd) announced its agreement to purchase the idled iron and steel plant from ArcelorMittal, marking the culmination of a seven-year period since the Luxembourg-registered company ceased operations in Trinidad and Tobago due to low global steel prices.
Previous sale negotiations with other potential buyers failed to be completed.
Dookie said for the year ended December 31, 2023, Plipdeco generated $366.5 million in revenue.
More: https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 5dab7.html
Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
What will most likely be starting is the direct reduction plant which uses oxide pellets not briquettes.
It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
What will most likely be starting is the direct reduction plant which uses oxide pellets not briquettes.
They made reduced iron ore, billets, and steel coils.
Briquettes was made by another plant called cliffs and associates, which ceased operating years ago.
Worked in both plant plants
You are wrong. You have no idea of the operations of the plant. The plants made briquettes as expertly outlined by gt four.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
Briquettes was made by another plant called cliffs and associates, which ceased operating years ago.
Mittal utilised a cold briquette plant to recover dust and fines as you explained. Cliffs/ISG utilised a hot briquette plant to produce HBI directly from the reactor. Mittal's feed stock was iron ore pellet and sometimes lump. Cliffs utilised iron ore fines in its process.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
Anytime you transfer DRI from one conveyor to the next fines dust are generated. There are dust collection systems at these transfer points.
It was a means of generating profit from every molecule of iron.
Cliffs and associates would either utilize the DRI fines from TT nu iron plant or import (speculation here because I never worked cliffs/ISG but it's most likely the local DRI fines were used).
The main supplier of iron ore pellet is in Brazil, feedstock isn't the problem, it's natural gas. The DRI plants will require at least 50 mmbtu per day in total.Habit7 wrote:I am by no way an expert on steel production. But I am aware that the plant depended on feedstock from Venezuela. Seeing that from 2016 there are greater chances of sanctions, where will the restarted plant get this feedstock without becoming uncompetitive again.
The Venezuela connection came about the existence of a sister plant, SIDOR, which facilitated some ore blends, the main supplier was always from the VALE company of Brazil.Habit7 wrote:I am by no way an expert on steel production. But I am aware that the plant depended on feedstock from Venezuela. Seeing that from 2016 there are greater chances of sanctions, where will the restarted plant get this feedstock without becoming uncompetitive again.
Ispattwing wrote:Mittal utilised a cold briquette plant to recover dust and fines as you explained. Cliffs/ISG utilised a hot briquette plant to produce HBI directly from the reactor. Mittal's feed stock was iron ore pellet and sometimes lump. Cliffs utilised iron ore fines in its process.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
They made reduced iron ore, billets, and steel coils
Anytime you transfer DRI from one conveyor to the next fines dust are generated. There are dust collection systems at these transfer points.
Cliffs and associates would either utilize the DRI fines from TT nu iron plant or import (speculation here because I never worked cliffs/ISG but it's most likely the local DRI fines were used).
Quite sad that someone who SAYS that he worked both places didn't know the basics. Then again, years of rumshop drinking will dull the IQ.
Awaits the PNM insults....
Ispat had a briquette plant located between DR1 and the silo storage. They never had any capacity to make hot briquettes. Cliffs was designed as an HBI plant to utilise iron ore fines from wherever they had purchase agreements. As far as I know, Nucor never supplied cliffs because they already have an arrangement with diproinduca. Just because you passed through the plants as a contractor or something doesn't give you any authority to pontificate like an expert. Rumshop expertise won't work in point lisas.zoom rader wrote:Ispattwing wrote:Mittal utilised a cold briquette plant to recover dust and fines as you explained. Cliffs/ISG utilised a hot briquette plant to produce HBI directly from the reactor. Mittal's feed stock was iron ore pellet and sometimes lump. Cliffs utilised iron ore fines in its process.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
Quite sad that someone who SAYS that he worked both places didn't know the basics. Then again, years of rumshop drinking will dull the IQ.
Never made cold or hot Briquettes or used lumps.
They made DIR, Billets, Coils and Lime.
I worked there from 1989 to 1998 and Cliffs from 1998 to 2002.
Cliffs never used Nucor Fines.
You do realize the plant was in operation until 2016.zoom rader wrote:Ispattwing wrote:Mittal utilised a cold briquette plant to recover dust and fines as you explained. Cliffs/ISG utilised a hot briquette plant to produce HBI directly from the reactor. Mittal's feed stock was iron ore pellet and sometimes lump. Cliffs utilised iron ore fines in its process.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
Powergen and TGU have excess capacity on the grid. Electricity is the least of their problems.sMASH wrote:Where is the power coming from to power the plants?
Niquan couldn't get enough gas, methanex negotiate and switch from atlas to titan,
Lng train down from the last i recall.
Suspiciouser and Suspiciouser
Do they have the natural gas supply to turn over those generators?wing wrote:Powergen and TGU have excess capacity on the grid. Electricity is the least of their problems.sMASH wrote:Where is the power coming from to power the plants?
Niquan couldn't get enough gas, methanex negotiate and switch from atlas to titan,
Lng train down from the last i recall.
Suspiciouser and Suspiciouser
No son, I was a permanent employee and worked on plants in Ispatt, from rolling mill, lime, melt cast, DR 1&2, water treatment, Bag House.wing wrote:Ispat had a briquette plant located between DR1 and the silo storage. They never had any capacity to make hot briquettes. Cliffs was designed as an HBI plant to utilise iron ore fines from wherever they had purchase agreements. As far as I know, Nucor never supplied cliffs because they already have an arrangement with diproinduca. Just because you passed through the plants as a contractor or something doesn't give you any authority to pontificate like an expert. Rumshop expertise won't work in point lisas.zoom rader wrote:Ispattwing wrote:Mittal utilised a cold briquette plant to recover dust and fines as you explained. Cliffs/ISG utilised a hot briquette plant to produce HBI directly from the reactor. Mittal's feed stock was iron ore pellet and sometimes lump. Cliffs utilised iron ore fines in its process.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:It actually did. It may not have been a part of the original ISCOTT design however it was installed in the later years of the plant.zoom rader wrote:Mittal plant never made Briquettes.Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Briquettes was a byproduct of the plant (made from reduced iron fines dust). It was not needed for steel production.Habit7 wrote:Where they plan on getting briquettes, Venezuela?
Election gimmickwing wrote:Acquisition completed. Operations to commence in 12 months.