End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Re: End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2024, 6:14 pm

well im not saying solar is the only power source but it could have both solar and battery powering it at the same time but having both means less battery drain

and solar cells get more efficient over the years so whereas the ones now may only give 500W in years to come that might increase

Postby 88sins » March 26th, 2024, 7:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:well im not saying solar is the only power source but it could have both solar and battery powering it at the same time but having both means less battery drain

and solar cells get more efficient over the years so whereas the ones now may only give 500W in years to come that might increase

not just that, but maybe, just maybe, a wind turbine would help as well, especially when driving on long trips without traffic.
The air displacement of the moving vehicle causes a wind turbine to spin and generate electricity that charges the battery that powers the motor that moves the car, that also charges via solar, and has a traditional battery bank that can charge from an outlet.

I really think sumn like that is possible, and would work well.
But is if the market will buy into it,

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2024, 9:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:well im not saying solar is the only power source but it could have both solar and battery powering it at the same time but having both means less battery drain

not just that, but maybe, just maybe, a wind turbine would help as well, especially when driving on long trips without traffic.
The air displacement of the moving vehicle causes a wind turbine to spin and generate electricity that charges the battery that powers the motor that moves the car, that also charges via solar, and has a traditional battery bank that can charge from an outlet.

Build that and u have invented the first functional perpetual motion machine

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2024, 8:02 pm

Worried about an EV in a flood?
https://www.instagram.com/reel/C50vubNtrYq/

Can’t say what happened after though, but handled it quite well.

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2024, 9:03 pm

Not a Tesla, looks like a Lucid Air.

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2024, 10:40 pm

It's a Porsche Taycan

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2024, 11:10 pm

correct

Postby maj. tom » April 17th, 2024, 11:14 pm

Cudda have a lil propeller come out the back when it started to float.

Postby 88sins » April 20th, 2024, 3:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:Cudda have a lil propeller come out the back when it started to float.

You, sir, have watched one too many James Bond movies :lol:
Os how many gidgets and gadgets yuh want to fit in a car bai? :lol:

Postby 88sins » April 20th, 2024, 3:09 pm

sMASH wrote:

Build that and u have invented the first functional perpetual motion machine

d real issue is how to do it so that drag and weight don't completely eliminate any potential gains in efficiency.

Postby redmanjp » April 23rd, 2024, 2:52 pm

^don't think that's possible as drag is a certainty- for it to even work wind has to hit the turbine causing drag which cancels out all gains from generating electricity - the law of conservation of energy still stands.

at least till we reverse engineer an alien craft 0X

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2024, 12:25 pm

Postby gastly369 » April 27th, 2024, 1:16 pm

Wait till "imbutt" see dah video

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 27th, 2024, 1:54 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wait till "imbutt" see dah video
This year is an election budget so no worries. Once pnm win again next year, is almost certain that is level tax back on hybrid and electric vehicles.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2024, 4:20 pm

LiFePO4 LFP battery - Lithium Iron Phosphate battery with expected range of 1000km per charge
d1ca1761-5d17-4b71-ad1a-7a7119c20d60.jpg
LiFePO4 batteries do not use nickel or cobalt also making them more environmentally friendly. You can use your LFP battery bank for 5 or 6 times longer than a Li-ion model. LFP degrade a lot less than any other Lithium chemistry.
https://blog.ecoflow.com/us/lifepo4-vs- ... batteries/

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2024, 4:28 pm

liFe have come full circle now

a123 was one of the original lithium iron phosphate battery makers
but lithium polymer and lithium ion became more popular

early dewalt cordless tools used a123 cells and were known for taking licks except they were heavy
they could also run down and not get damaged

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2024, 4:50 pm

Charging stations around Trinidad on google maps

c9d8fb66-6015-4ef2-8ca0-d4a53f2d50ea.jpg

https://www.google.com/maps/search/char ... ?entry=ttu

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2024, 7:12 pm

I am not too sure about those BMW Charging stations. I can vouch for these ones https://www.chargett.com/

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2024, 7:18 pm

they use tokens ?
how do you pay to charge?

Habit7 wrote:I am not too sure about those BMW Charging stations. I can vouch for these ones https://www.chargett.com/

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2024, 7:22 pm

All the ones I have used locally have been free (Porsche, NP Preysal)

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2024, 7:22 pm

Hyatt's carpark on Level 4 has a charging station spot. The sign says contact the management (Udecott) to access.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2024, 8:43 pm

what’s the reviews so far on the mg ev?
if they can last 5-8 years it’s a decent deal

death365

Postby death365 » April 28th, 2024, 9:57 am

I saw this pop up on my youtube recommendations

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2024, 10:10 pm

IMG_8181.jpeg

Toyota developed these in partnership with BYD, FAW and – for the bZ3X – GAC, both models benefit from the input of Toyota's 'Intelligent ElectroMobility' centre.

https://www.topgear.com/car-news/first- ... only-china

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2024, 1:05 pm

Anyone using one of those new 2022-2024 vezels by chance?

how does it work in traffic if you using air condition

like if you driving under 70/80km/h but using air condition....will it be using hybrid battery or engine power

have a 2018 tucson that using 1500-2000 gas a month (traffic driving form chag to pos and back daily) and considering selling it and getting a new vezel

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2024, 1:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:All the ones I have used locally have been free (Porsche, NP Preysal)

only for porsche or other cars?

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2024, 2:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Habit7 wrote:All the ones I have used locally have been free (Porsche, NP Preysal)

only for porsche or other cars?

Any car with a J1772 plug

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2024, 3:14 pm

Chimera wrote:Anyone using one of those new 2022-2024 vezels by chance?

like if you driving under 70/80km/h but using air condition....will it be using hybrid battery or engine power

have a 2018 tucson that using 1500-2000 gas a month (traffic driving form chag to pos and back daily) and considering selling it and getting a new vezel

is 2 round trips u doing daily or what ?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2024, 3:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Chimera wrote:Anyone using one of those new 2022-2024 vezels by chance?

is 2 round trips u doing daily or what ?

My average monthly gas bill is $1300 for a 2016 Tucson doing Tunapuna to PoS as my regular daily commute with personal drives otherwise.

Re: Lafast and BYD

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2024, 5:15 pm

Check this article about AC use in an EV

Why is EV air-conditioner cooling different from ICE cooling?
No difference in energy use between driving or idling. With a gas car, the engine produces a lot of waste heat that the air conditioner also has to fight against to keep the cabin cool. An EV does not produce the same amount of heat when running so the AC doesn’t have to work as hard.

You can pre-cool your EV when it’s plugged in. This is great because the most energy intensive part of air conditioning is the initial cool down. It may take 3-5 kW of energy to get a 95 degree car to a comfortable temperature, but it takes only around 1 kW to keep it at 70 degrees.

Cold air happens immediately - no more waiting for the air compressor to kick in as the engine warms up!
What’s the same? Basic air conditioner maintenance. While electric air conditioners are simpler systems than mechanical ones, you should still check your air filters and hoses regularly.

Findings: On average, we found that, compared to the maximum range that our vehicles get:

Range loss at 80 degrees (26ºC): 2.8%
Range loss at 90 degrees (32ºC): 5% <--- average Trini weather

https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/ ... your-range

EV driver comment: "I was sitting in the car in the parking lot yesterday during my lunch break, running the AC when it was 100 degrees outside. It was only using 1kw of energy according to the dashboard readout, so that means I could have sat there for at least 35 hours given my ~60% state of charge."