18 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS NICU

Re: 11 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby gastly369 » April 20th, 2024, 10:17 am

maj. tom wrote:Nurse sues over death of baby girl at PoSGH; complains of 'hoggish' colleagues

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/nurse-sues-over-death-of-baby-girl-at-posgh-complains-of-hoggish-colleagues-6.2.1981082.d17d5e741b

A 42-year-old registered nurse who lost her baby at the Port-of-Spain Maternity Department’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) says the death of her child has dashed all hopes of her becoming a mother.

The nurse, who also works at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital, detailed what she called the “hoggish and unprofessional behaviour of some members of staff” even towards one of their own colleagues.

“Our client’s nightmarish experience at the PoSGH, has caused her to realise that there is merit and truth in the public’s account of the hoggish and unprofessional behaviour of some members of staff. There was no professional courtesy given to her as “one of their own” so she shudders to think what ordinary members of the public would have to endure. Instead, she experienced the raw and ugly reality of the incompetence and irresponsible, ignorant, and unprofessional attitude of the medical staff.”
Sooo when it only happen to you then complain... She now know dey "hoggish"?

Postby maj. tom » April 20th, 2024, 10:36 am

Boy a time I end up in Emergency with an ambulance and was complete ignored by the nurses. I beg for help. I pass out on the floor and a male nurse and doctor come and put me on a bed and send me resuscitation one time because I couldn't breathe. The typical nurses everyone does deal with wudda watch me ded that day and just shrug.

Postby matr1x » April 20th, 2024, 11:18 am

There are nurses who purposely chemical burn patients they do not like in posgh and mount hope

Postby alfa » April 20th, 2024, 11:25 am

maj. tom wrote:Boy a time I end up in Emergency with an ambulance and was complete ignored by the nurses. I beg for help. I pass out on the floor and a male nurse and doctor come and put me on a bed and send me resuscitation one time because I couldn't breathe. The typical nurses everyone does deal with wudda watch me ded that day and just shrug.

Growing up I was always under the impression that once you went in with an ambulance you'd receive immediate attention and have doctor's running after the stretcher like in the movies. I was in for a massive shock when a relative went in via ambulance and got put in a waiting area like everyone else. The docs were a waste of time to, bunch of kid doctors giggling and yapping away while people were groaning in pain. My relative suffered a stroke and the only treatment receive was a doctor scratching under the person's foot presumably to see the direction the toes curled in. Later they lost the CT scan picture and we only got confirmation of a stroke many days later. Apparently emergency clot buster is either unknown or unavailable in Trinidad. Is long time now they in a mess, it's only now people actually died that weren't actually supposed to

Postby matr1x » April 20th, 2024, 11:55 am

Doctors in sando general infamous for taking supplies and using it in their private practice. Especially the ones at southern medical.

Or worse doctors late for shift because they were.at their private practice.

Or they steer you to their paid practice.

I feeling to.name names and location

Postby alfa » April 20th, 2024, 12:01 pm

matr1x wrote:Doctors in sando general infamous for taking supplies and using it in their private practice. Especially the ones at southern medical.

Take yuh time there cro cro. Name calling is trouble. But if I ever have to go hospital is private all the way yes, not me and public as long as I could afford not to

Postby matr1x » April 20th, 2024, 12:15 pm

alfa wrote:
matr1x wrote:Doctors in sando general infamous for taking supplies and using it in their private practice. Especially the ones at southern medical.

Take yuh time there cro cro. Name calling is trouble. But if I ever have to go hospital is private all the way yes, not me and public as long as I could afford not to

I hear you. I been in private and public. Good and bad experiences in both. Private is real predators. They spotless becuase they shuffle off patients to public

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2024, 12:28 pm

the worst is when you see the attending doc say you need a ctscan or xray and they have you waiting a whole day or if you know somebody who makes a phone call and it is done instantly
seen it happen firsthand with ppl i know

Postby maj. tom » April 20th, 2024, 12:49 pm

^ same incident, got shifted from Chaguanas to Mt. Hope emergency for scans. Arrived 6pm. Saw a doctor 1230am. X-rays 3am.

Postby alfa » April 20th, 2024, 1:09 pm

As we on Xray and ultrasound. Some years ago the wife got a letter from Agustus Long to go to SFGH to do an ultrasound and seek appropriate treatment as their machine was down. Went to SFGH and was told that 'we don't accept requests from private hospitals' and that she would have to go through the entire process there starting from A&E. After 12+ hours, seeing the doctor there, various tests etc she was told 'yeah you need to do an ultrasound' :roll: . I wanted to say that's what we come here for allyuh MC. Did get it done after and went home. Hospital experiences need a seperate thread we

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2024, 1:24 pm

Once you nursing gunshot wounds....immediate attention...everything else: hymc

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2024, 2:32 pm

and brought in by the popo

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Once you nursing gunshot wounds....immediate attention...everything else: hymc

Postby gastly369 » April 20th, 2024, 3:06 pm

Gmoms(80yrs) have some side pains gone siparia had to stand up for 2hrs then wait morning till 7 in the evening to tell she dey have to some scans and would have to make appointment... Send she home and now tell she some time next month is appointment......sickin yes...

wing

Postby wing » April 20th, 2024, 3:07 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Newsday
News Sports

NEWS
UNC supporters want Couva hospital dedicated for children

UNC supporters, several of them dressed in what appeared to be surgical gowns, protested outside of the Couva Hospital and Multi-Training Facility on April 20, demanding the government repurpose the facility as a dedicated children's hospital.

The protesters condemned the Government over the deaths of seven babies at the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) of the Port of Spain General Hospital (PoSGH) between April 4-9.
Some of the protesters had placards which called for the resignation of Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh and for the facility to be opened as a children's hospital.

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar made both calls at a news conference in Port of Spain on April 19.

UNC supporters during a protest outside the Couva Hospital and Multi-Training Facility in Couva on April 20.
UNC supporters during a protest outside the Couva Hospital and Multi-Training Facility in Couva on April 20. - Photo courtesy UNC
In August 2015, weeks before the general election, Persad-Bissessar (then prime minister) cut the ribbon to open the facility as the Couva Children's Hospital.

After the election, Deyalsingh said the hospital was opened by the UNC but never commissioned to operate as a medical facility.

During the covid19 pandemic, the hospital was one of the main facilities in the parallel healthcare system used to treat covid19 patients.

The Prime Minister and Deyalsingh have said the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) will do an independent investigation into the deaths of the babies.

The sheep came out on the bidding of the boss lady.
How is opening another hospital in Couva going to prevent another tragedy?
Where Kamla going to get trained and experienced personnel? From the already short staffed health sector?
Where those protestors obtained surgical supplies for theatrical effect? Those protestors would have been better used as crash barriers on the highway.

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2024, 3:12 pm

they ain’t at least give she some panadol?

gastly369 wrote:Gmoms(80yrs) have some side pains gone siparia had to stand up for 2hrs then wait morning till 7 in the evening to tell she dey have to some scans and would have to make appointment... Send she home and now tell she some time next month is appointment......sickin yes...

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2024, 5:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:The culture is to blame for all of this.
From the highest level that know about the lapse in procedures, down to the lowest, need to share culpability.

They supposed to be swabbing to test that the sterile conditions are indeed sterile and make adjustments as necessary.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 20th, 2024, 5:47 pm

like election close. anytime just b4 an GE is called plenty road traffic accidents, plenty deaths in the hospital, plenty dead animals on the road and then the ultimate one to finance the campaign is kidnap for ransom. lets observe.

Postby aaron17 » April 22nd, 2024, 4:12 pm

More cases coming out? I saw one on guardian headline.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 22nd, 2024, 7:30 pm

Why is the head of the nicu not on administrative leave?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 22nd, 2024, 8:46 pm

So it's 12 now?!

Postby matr1x » April 23rd, 2024, 6:04 am

Real doctors and nurses on social media claiming that all the concerns people have is made up or exaggerated.

They killing people babies normal normal and don't care because there are no consequences

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 6:12 am

google say nicu rates in general are 85% survival
so babies ARE accustomed /expected dying there

question is if this group is all tied together because of singular cause

Postby 16 cycles » April 23rd, 2024, 6:52 am

https://guardian.co.tt/news/paho-team-m ... 0eba4a2f65

Deyalsingh also warned against the publication of the PAHO report prematurely.

“The report has to be read, it has to be vetted by the legal officers. I cannot give you a commitment now that it will be made public and I will give you an analogy, when the report for the Lifesport programme under Anil Roberts and the honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar came out, it pointed to significant criminal charges to be laid and you know why no criminal charges were laid, because Kamla Persad-Bissessar made the report public in the Parliament too soon, so nobody could have been held accountable.”

Deyalsingh, who extended condolences to the families of the dead babies, also maintained the investigation will not be rushed.

“It will take as long as it ought to take to have a complete, thorough, transparent investigation. I, as minister, will not be putting a time frame on it.”

He also dismissed claims that the source of the infectious bacteria which claimed the babies’ lives emanated from a private institution. He cautioned that such inaccuracies could impact operations at the medical institutions.

“We have 92 NICU beds across our public healthcare system, the private sector has two, which they only developed recently. The reason why I am saying this is that in addressing some of the unfortunate reporting, it was said a possible source of the infection was from a private facility, Sanjivani. May I state here, now, categorically, we have received no babies from that institution and that is why I say if we don’t treat with this issue, it has the potential of affecting private sector operations.”

Deyalsingh also rubbished claims that St Clair Medical was named in the public domain as the source of the infection.

be so guided with court clothes....

Postby redmanjp » April 23rd, 2024, 11:49 am

Re: 12 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2024, 2:20 pm

Terrence stand up in front the media and say that someone from UDECOTT said it have no NICU at couva hospital ....meanwhile UDECOTT have an entire video showing the NICU.....

Never a dull moment

Postby redmanjp » April 23rd, 2024, 2:42 pm

^ hope the reporters pick up on that

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2024, 9:18 pm

I find it weird that "Couva Children Hospital" had a NICU. Even though it might sound like NICUs belong in a paediatric hospital, they don't necessarily do. NICUs are at hospitals with maternity wards so that after the birth the babies can go directly into a sterile ICU environment. Did Couva also have a maternity ward? How could Couva's NICU help in a way that Mt Hope, San Fernando, Sangre Grande and Tobago NICUs couldn't?

Postby The_Honourable » April 23rd, 2024, 9:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Terrence stand up in front the media and say that someone from UDECOTT said it have no NICU at couva hospital ....meanwhile UDECOTT have an entire video showing the NICU.....

Never a dull moment

WHO IS TELLING THE TRUTH?

In 2015, the UDECoTT produced a slick ad to promote the opening and capabilities of the since-renamed Couva Children's Hospital. In this video, you can see a medic describing the hospital's neonatal unit. There is now debate by Government and opposition politicians over whether a neonatal unit ever existed.

https://www.facebook.com/ExpressNewspap ... 510755049/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2024, 9:33 pm

Well obviously if it name children hospital it must have a maternity ward....geeeez....down to a hospital allyuh fighting down ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 23rd, 2024, 9:37 pm

Gonna rest this here for the night
IMG-20240423-WA0342.jpg