getting medical notes/records is a real hassle
worst than pulling teeth

Re: 7 babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby Chimera » April 17th, 2024, 12:40 am

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:This incident is at the RHA level and not the MoH so the ministry safe, we know the health minister not going anywhere, nurses for the most part unionized, and the doctors are protected by their association which usually bails them out after an "investigation".

From history, the CEO and maybe the Medical Director gets the axe to appease the public and the minister.

But judging from the Paria diving incident, the CEO and board not going anywhere.

The Court is pretty much the only place to get justice, which will take a decade or so with taxpayers money jumping up.

I agree.

I hear ppl saying “that is why I go private.” AFAIK the only NICUs in the country are in public hospitals.

Dr Prakashban's Sanjivani Hospital in St Augustine has a Level II NICU
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tts-fir ... 395d04698e

I'm sure ppl will still go public when they find out the price at Sanjivani
Amazing place but the $$$ will stop most people from going there.

Postby aaron17 » April 17th, 2024, 8:23 am

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2024, 7:37 am

So that's 11 thus far....doh expect much outa this...an entire COE was done on the Paria case, advice was given to charge people and NOTHING!

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 7:49 am

guardian have a time line of the deaths
those latest twins were earliest in late february

the talk is that a sick baby was sent from st clair medical which spread the infection, and it is also one of those that died early

Postby matr1x » April 18th, 2024, 7:54 am

So, as usual the incompetence of the private health care leads to more problems. Right.

In Trinidad, when you go to private or public health care, you either dead, or come out with super powers

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 7:56 am

private don’t worry too much with nicu as it is costly to run that plus plenty human resources required
so they send you to public when they see things going downhill

matr1x wrote:So, as usual the incompetence of the private health care leads to more problems. Right.

In Trinidad, when you go to private or public health care, you either dead, or come out with super powers

Postby matr1x » April 18th, 2024, 8:27 am

pugboy wrote:private don’t worry too much with nicu as it is costly to run that plus plenty human resources required

matr1x wrote:So, as usual the incompetence of the private health care leads to more problems. Right.

They game their numbers so it looks like they have a fantastic record

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 9:06 am

dollars and risk

Postby 16 cycles » April 18th, 2024, 9:17 am

OP/admin might need to update numbers in title

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2024, 9:27 am

Is it 11 now? Reading what shakes wrote.

These numbers are appalling. I can't imagine the pain the parents feeling. :(

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2024, 9:29 am

TV6 last night said that the sterilization boiler was non functional for at lest a year. And some clean room areas were used as regular storage space.

Like the place running like a parlor

Re: 11 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2024, 9:39 am

WHAT! For ICU? And the management hasn't done anything to fix it the sterilization methods? That's willful criminal acts on management.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 18th, 2024, 9:45 am

pugboy wrote:private don’t worry too much with nicu as it is costly to run that plus plenty human resources required

THIS!

They charge you big bucks, but if the sheit hits the fan you getting billed and then sent public. Double screwed

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 18th, 2024, 10:00 am

Rowley come looking for sympathy saying that he used to have to go to nicu to check on his daughter. But then they ask us not to politicse it.

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2024, 10:44 am

Mother of NICU baby struggles ‘to get out of bed’ after her death

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mother-of-nicu-baby-struggles-to-get-out-of-bed-after-her-death-6.2.1979312.3715d1d152

Danyelle Samaroo cries as she speaks about the death of her daughter Aarya Raya Chattergoon at GML yesterday. Newborn Aarya was one of several babies who died at the NICU of the Port-of-Spain General Hospital after an infection spread.

Nicole Drayton

The mother of one of several newborn babies who died at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital believes she and her family are now blessed with a new guardian angel to look over them and guide their pathway. It is the only comfort and solace 21-year-old Danyelle Samaroo could find as she struggles to come to terms with the death of her baby, Aarya Raya Chatergoon.

Samaroo is among a growing list of families who have come forward seeking legal action against the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) over the deaths of their babies in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU).

Yesterday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley assured that Government will leave no stone unturned to find out what led to babies’ deaths.

During an emotional interview with Guardian Media yesterday, Samaroo said the death of her baby is so overwhelming she finds it hard to even get out of bed most days. She explained how joy and excitement overflowed in the months leading up to her daughter’s birth.

“For me, it was just being a mother and having a family of my own because that was something that was really important to me, having my own family and growing from there. We selected her name Aarya Raya, we knew we wanted a different name but also a name that aligned with our religion as well,” she explained.

Samaroo described how what began as a normal procedure on March 26 to deliver her baby spiralled into a nightmare.

“I was transferred from Mt Hope hospital due to them not having space in the NICU and when I got there (PoSGH), after trying for a normal birth, I eventually had a C-section. The pain was terrible but I mustered the strength and will to go down and see her,” she recalled.

At the time, the young mother said her little girl, who captured the family’s heart, appeared healthy and normal.

“Two days after, when I was able to walk I went down to the NICU and it was the happiest moment of my life, when they told me who she was. I was filled with so much joy it was overwhelming. At the time, I was unable to hold her because she had oxygen tubes and feeding tubes and so on, so just to be safe we were not allowed to hold her.”

Samaroo said every day she and her partner visited their child and enquired about her health and well-being, always being assured by hospital staff that she was progressing well.

“It was amazing to see how she was doing. They told us she would be released soon, and she’d come home soon.”

The San Juan resident said she was later informed that little Aarya needed a blood transfusion due to her inability to digest food properly.

“After the transfusion, we inquired if everything was okay, they assured us it was successful. We wanted to make sure there were no complications.”

The young mother said her world came crashing down on April 5 when she received a call informing her Aarya’s condition had taken a turn for the worse.

“I know I left her in good condition, after that call I dropped on the floor and started crying. Her dad rushed to the hospital and saw them trying to resuscitate her. When I got there about 45 minutes later she had all these tubes connected to her, she was barely breathing. It was so very emotional, she had on her going home outfit and around 6.18 pm she died in our arms,” she cried.

Samaroo said when her daughter died, no one at the hospital said what caused her demise.

“We did not know about any bacteria that was present because we asked every day if everything is okay, is there anything we should be worried about. They told us it was a bacteria she developed.”

Aarya was laid to rest and since then, Samaroo said her life has been filled with heartache.

“Everyday is getting progressively worse for me, just the thought of her not being there, not being around, it has been challenging and overwhelming. It is hard to make it out of bed some days. We have her blanket that she would have left NICU with and I sleep with it every night, it is so hard to let go of things,” she said as she wept.

Asked if she believes there was negligence on the part of hospital officials, Samaroo admitted there were some things that raised red flags.

“It’s a neonatal intensive care unit, it’s an ICU for a reason, the proper protocols weren’t being followed. That same day when I visited my baby, they were not even handling her with gloves to re-insert the inserts in her hand. A proper investigation must be done.”

Samaroo said they welcome the probe into the deaths of the babies and encouraged affected families to keep praying.

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2024, 10:58 am

sMASH wrote:TV6 last night said that the sterilization boiler was non functional for at lest a year. And some clean room areas were used as regular storage space.

Like the place running like a parlor

madness madness madness yes

but if the staff lacking then at the very least it have one person who suppose to be overseeing and checking those things not so?
seeing how important it is

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2024, 11:32 am

So that infection just spreading from Child to Child via unsterile environment since February?
This probably isn't limited to POS alone then if Doctors would go there and then go to other locations
They hadda check all the hospitals for that time period and see what other children die from this same thing and trace it

unless proper sterlization procedures were being done at all other locations so the infection wouldn't end up there and only POS lacking

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 2:50 pm

sweden have gangs and crime

wonder when he gonna blame kamla for these deaths
Mmoney607 wrote:Rowley come looking for sympathy saying that he used to have to go to nicu to check on his daughter. But then they ask us not to politicse it.

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 2:51 pm

papers say the nurses were handling without gloves etc

Chimera wrote:So that infection just spreading from Child to Child via unsterile environment since February?
This probably isn't limited to POS alone then if Doctors would go there and then go to other locations
They hadda check all the hospitals for that time period and see what other children die from this same thing and trace it

unless proper sterlization procedures were being done at all other locations so the infection wouldn't end up there and only POS lacking

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2024, 3:56 pm

Postby 16 cycles » April 18th, 2024, 4:24 pm

For a parent to go through that is madness.

For staff and admin to see it happen 11 times without some type of intervention is criminal.

Postby The_Honourable » April 18th, 2024, 4:31 pm

Suspending the head of IPC may be a start but more heads have to roll. Especially if nicu deaths were long before brought to the attention of hospital administration and the necessary "committees" that managers and board members are usually a part off.

wing

Postby wing » April 18th, 2024, 4:45 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Suspending the head of IPC may be a start but more heads have to roll. Especially if nicu deaths were long before brought to the attention of hospital administration and the necessary "committees" that managers and board members are usually a part off.
Is there any provision for criminal proceedings to be started against persons found liable and complicit? The parents will get some sort of compensation with && on the case, but negligent homicide like this needs draconian punishment.

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2024, 4:54 pm

^^ we might need a million dollar commission of enquiry that last over a year and then something might come out of it.

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 5:13 pm

what do you do when you discover nurses were handling babies without fresh gloves?

wing wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Suspending the head of IPC may be a start but more heads have to roll. Especially if nicu deaths were long before brought to the attention of hospital administration and the necessary "committees" that managers and board members are usually a part off.
Is there any provision for criminal proceedings to be started against persons found liable and complicit? The parents will get some sort of compensation with && on the case, but negligent homicide like this needs draconian punishment.

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2024, 5:14 pm

coe is tens of millions

redmanjp wrote:^^ we might need a million dollar commission of enquiry that last over a year and then something might come out of it.

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2024, 5:18 pm

pugboy wrote:what do you do when you discover nurses were handling babies without fresh gloves?

wing wrote:
Souzette lower had made a post about her twins and experience in Pos. I saw it on fb, not sure if it elsewhere.

She left the country.

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2024, 5:20 pm

The highest person that knew the protocols were abused by the and all participating , should be jailed.

Big people should know better.

Now thinking this is an international level media disaster.

Which worse this or 1990?

Postby matr1x » April 18th, 2024, 5:24 pm

sMASH wrote:The highest person that knew the protocols were abused by the and all participating , should be jailed.

Big people should know better.

Now thinking this is an international level media disaster.

Which worse this or 1990?

What kinda stupid question was that?

1990 obviously