Plumbing help

Re: Plumbing help

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 11th, 2024, 9:05 am

cornfused wrote:Plumber's mate is maybe only for WC applications. There are a myriad of Rubber Seals too seal the trap in a WC . Potable water use thread seal always clock wise unless some where else in the world or non domestic applications , a good PVC Glue Christel's is good enough but I use EZweld, past compress for 10 seconds move on even underwater applications a bit longer compression time hold an move on. All joints may come loose with movement, water hammer etc.

Have you tools, skills at hand.

counterclockwise if you're screwing the male into the female, like a garden tap

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2024, 9:55 am

imo clockwise, same as when threading on fitting
don’t want the female fitting unwinding the thread seal
most ppl use too much too, it ends up bunching up and tearing instead of staying in the threads

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 11th, 2024, 10:18 am

Fellas we talking plumbing here or...?

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2024, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:imo clockwise, same as when threading on fitting
most ppl use too much too, it ends up bunching up and tearing instead of staying in the threads

yuh ever see where they roll it up and wrap it in the threads only

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 11th, 2024, 10:34 am

Just got a plumber to change some fixtures at apartment, and he said "doh throw way dem ting fellah it could fix back easy" so I kept one to try my hand at a DIY. I have no idea how to start, anybody have a clue how this opens?
11223365p.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 11th, 2024, 10:37 am

Pic of the swing tap to DIY repair
11223365p.jpg

Postby Dave » April 11th, 2024, 10:47 am

Top pops out with a flat edge...screw to remove and you will see the cartridge. Remove and see if you find one.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 11th, 2024, 10:59 am

I think I eff this up already unless it was the problem.

Tenant just explained, the tap was swinging beyond the quarter turn stop point and water was leaking from the faucet outlet as well as the swing top if it wasn't centred.

Took out screw and the handle was just spinning not coming off. Done fling way that but maybe next time I'll try

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2024, 11:11 am

yeah
that seems to avoid the bunching up problem

Chimera wrote:
pugboy wrote:imo clockwise, same as when threading on fitting

yuh ever see where they roll it up and wrap it in the threads only