Plumbing help

kstt

Plumbing help

Postby kstt » March 23rd, 2019, 6:41 am

Did some plumbing and the elbow dripping. How or what can I do to stop it from leaking?

eitech

Re: Plumbing help

Postby eitech » March 23rd, 2019, 7:10 am

kstt wrote:Did some plumbing and the elbow dripping. How or what can I do to stop it from leaking?

Depending on where and how bad it is you can put some plumber’s mate.

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2019, 7:11 am

They have this at Bhagwansingh's.
https://www.flexsealproducts.com/produc ... d-coating/

Or do over the entire joint system from scratch. The pipe either not fully and firmly inserted into the joint with pvc glue, or the joint is defective.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2019, 7:56 am

There is a ledge or ridge in the elbow where the pipe is supposed to touch when it is fully inserted, If you did that then either you didn't use enough glue, or you didn't let it cure properly It may also be that you didn't deburr the ends of the pipe properly.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2019, 8:07 am

that need to do over, cut and splice over to fit
good tip, always use the hacksaw or fingernail to remove the burr
you need a minimum of 1/2" glued insertion for a good joint and preferably more
pvc glue is cheap, dont skimp on it and also remove any paint if gluing over painted pipes

having said that I have seen joints that weren't glued hold up for years until somebody bumped the pipe

Postby Dave » March 23rd, 2019, 8:34 am

Make sure the leak isn't coming from above that join you just made as you could have woken up an older connection.

Postby Les Bain » March 23rd, 2019, 8:56 am

From experience, is either the pipe fitting into the elbow wasnt properly cut, fit, glued or given enough time to cure.

Recently I've taken to hastening the curing stage with a blowdryer and even then, leaving it overnight before turning the water on.

airuma

Postby airuma » March 23rd, 2019, 3:08 pm

kstt wrote:Did some plumbing and the elbow dripping. How or what can I do to stop it from leaking?

If the pipe and fitting are not properly aligned, you may need to fix that first

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2019, 5:04 pm

pugboy wrote:that need to do over, cut and splice over to fit
good tip, always use the hacksaw or fingernail to remove the burr
you need a minimum of 1/2" glued insertion for a good joint and preferably more
pvc glue is cheap, dont skimp on it and also remove any paint if gluing over painted pipes

having said that I have seen joints that weren't glued hold up for years until somebody bumped the pipe

Sandpaper works better.

eitech

Postby eitech » March 23rd, 2019, 5:22 pm

Where is the leak? Is it by a pipe that under constant pressure and gushing out? Or is it by a drain dat only sees a lil pressure when water flows? Is it seeping like 1 drop per day? Depends on how bad and where the leak is is what will determine the extent of the repair

kstt

Postby kstt » March 23rd, 2019, 9:00 pm

Thank you for all the help thus far.

It is on an elbow from my main, so it is pressurised. It is dripping every 3 seconds.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2019, 9:20 pm

cut and replace is the best option
A leak can eventually separate the glue and cause the elbow to blow out

Postby RedVEVO » March 24th, 2019, 2:09 am

Hoss do it over .

Glue and plumber mate and take your time .

airuma

Postby airuma » March 24th, 2019, 10:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:cut and replace is the best option
A leak can eventually separate the glue and cause the elbow to blow out

X2. Pics would help you get better advice. How long after the repair did you turn on the water?

Postby adnj » March 24th, 2019, 6:11 pm

Les Bain wrote:From experience, is either the pipe fitting into the elbow wasnt properly cut, fit, glued or given enough time to cure.

Recently I've taken to hastening the curing stage with a blowdryer and even then, leaving it overnight before turning the water on.
PVC cement joints should be held for 30 seconds. The cement fully cures in 2 hours.

The drip is not critical but the joint should be replaced relatively soon.

Leaks in PVC plumbing is typically from uneven pipe cuts, insufficient insertion or dirty/wet pipe surfaces.

FAMILY MAN

Postby FAMILY MAN » April 9th, 2024, 3:59 pm

The trick that worked for me was fully turning off the water, drying the area,and then applying plumbing tape around the threads before screwing it back together tightly.

Dylz305

Postby Dylz305 » April 9th, 2024, 4:00 pm

Had the same thing going on under my kitchen sink not too long ago. I tried the whole turn-off-the-water, dry-it-out, and slap-some-plumbing-tape-on-it tactic. Thought I was pretty clever, but that thing kept on dripping.

So, I caved and called up a local plumber. Best decision, honestly. They rocked up, gave it a quick look, swapped out the fitting, and bam – no more leak.
Last edited by Dylz305 on April 11th, 2024, 5:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » April 9th, 2024, 6:02 pm

Now reading this thread
Plumbing tape? Yuh sure yuh eh mean thread seal?
the thing name is pvc solvent, not pvc/plumbing glue.

Anyway
When using thread seal on threaded male connections, ALWAYS be mindful of the direction that you wind it onto the male connection. Put it on in the wrong direction, and you will use the whole roll and it will still leak.

Postby adnj » April 9th, 2024, 6:21 pm

[quote="88sins"]Now reading this thread
Plumbing tape? Yuh sure yuh eh mean thread seal?
the thing name is pvc solvent, not pvc/plumbing glue.

Anyway
When using thread seal on threaded male connections, ALWAYS be mindful of the direction that you wind it onto the male connection. Put it on in the wrong direction, and you will use the whole roll and it will still leak.[/quote]

The actual name is PVC solvent cement. It is also known and labeled as PVC solvent, PVC glue and PVC cement.

Skillys

Postby Skillys » April 9th, 2024, 9:28 pm

Op was the leak fixed?

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2024, 9:29 pm

a lot of plumbers put solvent on top of the tape
they claim it works better that way

i don’t believe it, esp if you screwing into a female pvc fitting the solvent will soften up the pvc and possibly increase the tolerances

Postby 88sins » April 9th, 2024, 10:03 pm

pugboy wrote:a lot of plumbers put solvent on top of the tape

i don’t believe it, esp if you screwing into a female pvc fitting the solvent will soften up the pvc and possibly increase the tolerances

You want to see a female pvc adapter split while or shortly after threading up? Or a male adapter fail to unscrew from a female? That's the way to do it.

What ppl doesn't study
It's a solvent. Meaning, it heats and melts pvc, thus allowing two separate pieces to fuse together.
Now, when one of those pieces has less material in some spots than others, anyone with experience can tell what most probable to happen.
It weakens the thinner spots, increasing the likelihood of fracture. If not immediately, let there be some air in the line and see the outcome.

And as I mention air in the line...
When turning off your ball valve, stop cork, taps, etc. turning it off somewhat slowly vs slamming it shut will save you the headache of ruptured lines and vibrating pipes.

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2024, 10:57 pm

pugboy wrote:a lot of plumbers put solvent on top of the tape

Wha madness I reading

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 2:52 am

it is madness but i guess it doesn’t fail since these are tapered fittings so the solvent gets squeezed out pretty quick

Postby Dave » April 10th, 2024, 7:10 am

Them fellas operate for themselves and not for repairs in the future. They use threadseal and solvent on pvc and brass.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 9:13 am

a true trini expert technique

Postby Dave » April 10th, 2024, 11:49 am

Overkill for me is a slight wipe of plumbers mate and thread seal and I absolutely hate plumbers mate.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 12:49 pm

plumbers mait is meant for nonpressure use, not on threads
it supposed to remain sticky soft to keep seal, which is why it stinks
eg use on the coupling joint of a P toilet outlet to the big pvc heading to sewer.

Dave wrote:Overkill for me is a slight wipe of plumbers mate and thread seal and I absolutely hate plumbers mate.

Postby Dave » April 10th, 2024, 3:29 pm

Hence overkill like hard to reach or buried stuff.
Just peace of mind for me.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 10th, 2024, 6:30 pm

Plumber's mate is maybe only for WC applications. There are a myriad of Rubber Seals too seal the trap in a WC . Potable water use thread seal always clock wise unless some where else in the world or non domestic applications , a good PVC Glue Christel's is good enough but I use EZweld, past compress for 10 seconds move on even underwater applications a bit longer compression time hold an move on. All joints may come loose with movement, water hammer etc.

Have you tools, skills at hand.