Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 8:38 pm

I don't think the farm eggs are fertilized at all. They have layers chickens doing that job where they ovulate every day by releasing an oocyte from the ovary and it forms an egg within a day and comes out.

Embryo development for fertilized eggs doesn't start below 27°C so they have to sit on them to keep them at the correct temperature.

Postby Habit7 » February 9th, 2024, 9:43 am

I used to buy Silk Almond Milk 2 pack in Pricemart before the pandemic. When I saw the price at $53+ I decided that it is too rich for my blood. Now it is $96.95.

Postby Dave » February 9th, 2024, 10:05 am

You ever tried buying from Hadco directly?
We did during COVID as we figured pricesmart would have been crazy.
Was closer for us and I do believe a bit cheaper.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 9th, 2024, 10:55 am

Habit7 wrote:I used to buy Silk Almond Milk 2 pack in Pricemart before the pandemic. When I saw the price at $53+ I decided that it is too rich for my blood. Now it is $96.95.

I saw "Natural Almond "almond milk at Food Giant maritime for less than $30 each.
I don't use it though. So I can't vouch for the quality.

Postby Habit7 » February 9th, 2024, 12:27 pm

Dave wrote:You ever tried buying from Hadco directly?
We did during COVID as we figured pricesmart would have been crazy.
Was closer for us and I do believe a bit cheaper.

As in wholesale?
The only retail Hadco I know is Peppercorns and that is a 1-2 item per month kinda grocery.

dogg wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I used to buy Silk Almond Milk 2 pack in Pricemart before the pandemic. When I saw the price at $53+ I decided that it is too rich for my blood. Now it is $96.95.

I saw "Natural Almond "almond milk at Food Giant maritime for less than $30 each.
I don't use it though. So I can't vouch for the quality.

Pricesmart store brand is $113.95 for 6 946ml cartons. Better value.

Postby Dave » February 9th, 2024, 3:41 pm

Yup retail at factory prices. Not necessarily in large quantities.

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 9:05 pm

Well this chicken working daily. I just hope she decides to hatch them soon.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 10:01 pm

tomato finally come down a bit
got some nice sized properly ripened ones in debe for 2lb/$25

Postby Rovin » February 17th, 2024, 11:24 am

u minding chicken tom ? ... eggs looking good

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2024, 11:45 am

Nah is wild chicken and I just put a box for she to hatch and make chickies. I not sure what is her plan though.

Postby 88sins » February 17th, 2024, 6:27 pm

maj. tom wrote:Nah is wild chicken and I just put a box for she to hatch and make chickies. I not sure what is her plan though.

I can tell you what the plan is.
Move in your yard, make chirren and stay there permanently.
Nuttn really wrong with that eh, just be mindful that chickens can sometimes carry lice, and if they have those parasites and they nesting in or close to dirt that don't get sun, them lice will become a real problem real fast

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 17th, 2024, 6:42 pm

^ And he go soon have to pay child support for children that isn't his? :lol:

Postby 88sins » February 18th, 2024, 8:09 pm

maj.tom.?
I had no idea u were a c0cksmith.
daz tru? :lol:

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 1:26 pm

So this morning I see on the feeds Massy have frozen ocean delight strimpses 4lb for $60. So I rush this morning to buy up some because that brand frozen shrimp is a consistently good product.

WHen I reach, yuh know they saying is a typo and that is really ONE lb for $60!!! When I check back the feeds they change it quick quick to one lb. BUT the signage in-store was still there (see the pic i pulled from FB)
msssy.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 1:29 pm

^ But how could 1lb of shrimp be for $60 and be called a SALE? Makes no sense to me. You get 4 lbs of shrimp for $100 by the vendor.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 1:32 pm

in other countries legally you can hold them to that or they get charged with false advertising

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 1:32 pm

DMan7 wrote:^ But how could 1lb of shrimp be for $60 and be called a SALE? Makes no sense to me. You get 4 lbs of shrimp for $100 by the vendor.

Yeah, but then you have to spend 2 hours cleaning and de-veining 4lbs of shrimp and smelling up the whole house. I rather pay for those 2hrs I'll never get back!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 1:37 pm

Them could keep that dey eh. I go buy my 4lbs for 100 shrimps by the vendor.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 1:52 pm

those packaged strimps are treated with a phosphate solution
tasteless

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 6:54 pm

DMan7 wrote:^ But how could 1lb of shrimp be for $60 and be called a SALE? Makes no sense to me. You get 4 lbs of shrimp for $100 by the vendor.

It is called Massy - that's why.

Wifey went Massy and paid $60.00 /lb for kingfish last week. And the fish slices thin, thin like turkey bacon.

I was seeing all colours of the rainbow, especially the blue vex one.

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2024, 6:58 pm

wda that price I good with the mackerel in the can. King mackerel, short mackerel, chub mackerel is the same for me at that price. $60 a pound you say you know.

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 6:59 pm

maj. tom wrote:wda that price I good with the mackerel in the can. King mackerel, short mackerel, chub mackerel is the same for me at that price. $60 a pound you say you know.

Boy, I was so vex. You know this week I saw the price was $40.00/lb. in Massy.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 1st, 2024, 7:12 pm

bluefete wrote:

Wifey went Massy and paid $60.00 /lb for kingfish last week. And the fish slices thin, thin like turkey bacon.

Dais an instant divorce dey boi blue :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 7:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Dais an instant divorce dey boi blue :lol:

Nah. Is her money dat spend and I in dis marriage business for too long.

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2024, 8:21 pm

bluefete wrote:

Fresh king fish ans carite is 50 to 60 a lb right now all over

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2024, 8:56 pm

They could keep it at that price
I bought some fresh carite before carnival and froze it.

Postby bluefete » March 2nd, 2024, 4:50 am

[quote="pugboy"]They could keep it at that price
I bought some fresh carite before carnival and froze it.[/quote]

Exactly.

X-Tra Foods selling kingfish $30.00/lb.

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2024, 7:38 am

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:They could keep it at that price
I bought some fresh carite before carnival and froze it.

Exactly.

X-Tra Foods selling kingfish $30.00/lb.
Imported fish steaks yea .

Don't forget carite and king fish was 10 to 12 to 15 for several months around and before divali.

I waiting for them time to stock back up again lol

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2024, 8:22 am

once fish fresh and cleaned properly and any thick bloodline removed and wrapped in glad wrap
it will freeze for a long time

Postby maj. tom » March 2nd, 2024, 9:16 am

If the fish get bleed out via the tail vein as soon as it was caught it doesn't spoil or sour as easily even without freezing. Just like how we slaughter all other animals with a backbone for consumption. Fish however, we suffer them by asphyxiation which makes everything sour and haram.

Another point of why we should only consume halaal meats.