T&TEC & WASA rate increase coming?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Postby Habit7 » February 19th, 2024, 12:01 pm

State agencies owe T&TEC $1.4B https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-ow ... 25eb858112 to pay it off requires allocating state revenue to pay it off. That state revenue would have to come from increased tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

T&TEC owes NGC $9.32B https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ttec-rate-hike-n ... this-week/ To pay it off it would have to come by reducing the use of natural gas while increasing tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

Govt is building the largest solar park in the Caribbean https://newenergyevents.com/new-trinida ... caribbean/ to finance it you will need either increased tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

You cant be already receiving subsidised electricity, low rates of blackouts, nearly every playing ground has lights in this country, yet you want upgrades on more street lights first before tariff increases. We are already there, prepare your angus.

Postby paid_influencer » February 19th, 2024, 6:01 pm

yes the issue clearly is playground lights
that is why we are in debt

and our taxes need to raise

and all the money
has to come from poor people
tax even the shack they live in
take it away if they dont pay

they can shelter with newspapers
that have printed
how many hundreds of millions in profit
collected by their betters

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 19th, 2024, 6:07 pm

^ Waaays boi paid why you soo hard on poor people. You know they can't afford newspapers to shelter with. Come nah man...

Postby The_Honourable » February 19th, 2024, 10:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:State agencies owe T&TEC $1.4B https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-ow ... 25eb858112 to pay it off requires allocating state revenue to pay it off. That state revenue would have to come from increased tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

T&TEC owes NGC $9.32B https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ttec-rate-hike-n ... this-week/ To pay it off it would have to come by reducing the use of natural gas while increasing tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

Govt is building the largest solar park in the Caribbean https://newenergyevents.com/new-trinida ... caribbean/ to finance it you will need either increased tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

You cant be already receiving subsidised electricity, low rates of blackouts, nearly every playing ground has lights in this country, yet you want upgrades on more street lights first before tariff increases. We are already there, prepare your angus.

And with all this debt, WHO is to blame? the public who you pointing fingers too? Last time I checked, I pay my bills on time.

The state is to blame for not paying their bills, bad debt management, and failure to incrementally raise rates when necessary... pure and simple.

Whenever a government is in power and they want to do multi million or billion dollar projects, they somehow find the money to do so... cost overruns included. The government can always find the money to pay off their bills, it simply chooses not to.

Postby Habit7 » February 19th, 2024, 11:41 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Habit7 wrote:State agencies owe T&TEC $1.4B https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-ow ... 25eb858112 to pay it off requires allocating state revenue to pay it off. That state revenue would have to come from increased tariffs, taxes or selling state assets.

And with all this debt, WHO is to blame? the public who you pointing fingers too? Last time I checked, I pay my bills on time.

The state is to blame for not paying their bills, bad debt management, and failure to incrementally raise rates when necessary... pure and simple.

Whenever a government is in power and they want to do multi million or billion dollar projects, they somehow find the money to do so... cost overruns included. The government can always find the money to pay off their bills, it simply chooses not to.

Nobody is blaming anybody because we are all guilty. We all enjoyed cheap subsidised electricity and grown accustomed to it. The price hasn’t changed in 18yrs. It doesn’t matter if you personally paid your bills because they were still subsidised more than what it actually costs.

Now the subsidy is unsustainable, our natural gas usage has to decrease, we need to pay off debts for past gas usage and we need to invest in renewables.

And as was said before it can only be financed with increased tariffs, increased taxes or selling state assets.

Postby 88sins » February 20th, 2024, 7:09 pm

My only question, is a simple one.
Since the real reason for these proposed rate increases is to make the population pay for government wastage, mismanagement and incompetence, what's to stop this from repeating in a few years?

wing

Postby wing » February 20th, 2024, 7:45 pm

88sins wrote:My only question, is a simple one.
Since the real reason for these proposed rate increases is to make the population pay for government wastage, mismanagement and incompetence, what's to stop this from repeating in a few years?
Easy, vote UNC.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 20th, 2024, 8:19 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2024, 8:24 pm

The moment you begin to question the govt of the day, you automatically become an opposition supporter: tuner maths

Postby Habit7 » February 20th, 2024, 8:36 pm

While it is easily to broad brush every problem as stemming from this, it doesn’t address the facts.

Having the same tariff for 15 years, inflation will eat away any profit into loss. Plus the largest debt T&TEC has is to NGC. T&TEC has been giving gas to the IPPs to make electricity but hasn’t been paying for it. Because if they pay for it they will be in a greater loss. The only country in the region with cheaper electricity than us is Cuba, and the demand nor reliability is nowhere near us. Those losses are supplemented by the Consolidated Fund depriving tax funds from more needed areas of the economy.

No utility company in the world can work profitably, well managed and competently with a tariff of $0.05 per kWh. Plus running it on natural gas in country where we don’t have enough gas for all our industries. Plus, having to deal with an increasing household electricity usage way above the world average.

No fantasy country can maintain a $0.05 per kWh tariff for 15yrs, profitably without subsidies.

wing

Postby wing » February 20th, 2024, 8:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:

While it is easily to broad brush every problem as stemming from this, it doesn’t address the facts.

Having the same tariff for 15 years, inflation will eat away any profit into loss. Plus the largest debt T&TEC has is to NGC. T&TEC has been giving gas to the IPPs to make electricity but hasn’t been paying for it. Because if they pay for it they will be in a greater loss. The only country in the region with cheaper electricity than us is Cuba, and the demand nor reliability is nowhere near us. Those losses are supplemented by the Consolidated Fund depriving tax funds from more needed areas of the economy.

No utility company in the world can work profitably, well managed and competently with a tariff of $0.05 per kWh. Plus running it on natural gas in country where we don’t have enough gas for all our industries. Plus, having to deal with an increasing household electricity usage way above the world average.

No fantasy country can maintain a $0.05 per kWh tariff for 15yrs, profitably without subsidies.
The moment you come with logic that is not rabidly anti PNM, automatically makes you a card carrying PNM lackey. Tuner maths.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2024, 7:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:

I hear you but still, in any event., we must remember that $1.4B bill is what has been accrued over several years, across 23 ministries. Now, that being said.

Let's say the based on the last budget, the average ministry is annually allocated anywhere around $2.47B via the annual budget. We know some get more, and some get less, so for argument sake say that no ministries get less than $1B minimum. That's a paltry 1000 million million for each.
Lets also say the T&TEC bills for all your particular ministry buildings in a particular year come up to say $50M.

Exactly who you trying to convince that out of your 1000 million minimum allocation, you can't find 50 million dollars to pay your light bill?

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2024, 7:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:

I hear you but still, in any event., we must remember that $1.4B bill is what has been accrued over several years, across 23 ministries. Now, that being said.

Let's say the based on the last budget, the average ministry is annually allocated anywhere around $2.47B via the annual budget. We know some get more, and some get less, so for argument sake say that no ministries get less than $1B minimum. That's a paltry 1000 million million for each.
Lets also say the T&TEC bills for all your particular ministry buildings in a particular year come up to say $50M.

Exactly who you trying to convince that out of your 1000 million minimum allocation, you can't find 50 million dollars to pay your light bill?

T&TEC owes NGC $9.32B. Whatever debt is owed to T&TEC pails in comparison. So even if they were to receive all the money from the state companies, they will still owe $8B to NGC, still have to subsidise electricity and still be running up a bill at NGC.

The current tariff which has been unchanged for 15yrs is unsustainable.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2024, 8:38 pm

2 questions for you.
Who owns NGC?
Who you feel owes NGC the bulk of that $8B you mentioned?

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2024, 9:05 pm

88sins wrote:2 questions for you.
Who owns NGC?

T&T owns NGC and T&TEC. If you think just because govt owns it they can forget the debt then that contradicts state agencies paying T&TEC. T&TEC needs its money just like NGC.
T&TEC owes NGC $9.32B because it takes their gas and gives it to the IPPs to produce electricity. Natural gas is the main money earner in our country and it is decreasing. If we burn gas for free just for electricity to inefficient households, it is almost the literally story of Nguyamyam (if you are my generation you will know this video by heart).

Postby The_Honourable » February 22nd, 2024, 9:09 pm

You sure is 9.32B?

Seeing conflicts... Imbert say 7B - https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/imb ... 2d5dc58eee

but RIC saying 3.8B - https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 4d593.html

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 22nd, 2024, 9:10 pm

^ Damnnn I ain't realize people still remember that yes.

Postby sMASH » February 22nd, 2024, 9:14 pm

Balisier house push out social media spin doctor funds early for the 2025...

Full steam pushing the agenda...

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2024, 9:59 pm

The_Honourable wrote:You sure is 9.32B?

Seeing conflicts... Imbert say 7B - https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/imb ... 2d5dc58eee

Its T&TEC total debt including to NGC
Billion-dollar debt

Thomas said T&TEC’s debt now stands at $9.32 billion inclusive of its debt to the National Gas Company (NGC).
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ttec-rate-hike-n ... this-week/

sMASH wrote:Balisier house push out social media spin doctor funds early for the 2025...

So when you are literally cutting and pasting posts from Kick Out the PNM and creating false narratives about secret compartments are you doing for free or its part of your recruitment?

wing

Postby wing » February 22nd, 2024, 10:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Billion-dollar debt

Thomas said T&TEC’s debt now stands at $9.32 billion inclusive of its debt to the National Gas Company (NGC).
sMASH wrote:Balisier house push out social media spin doctor funds early for the 2025...

So when you are literally cutting and pasting posts from Kick Out the PNM and creating false narratives about secret compartments are you doing for free or its part of your recruitment?
Unfortunately they don't get paid to spin yellow tata. Kinda sad, especially since he's unemployed too.

Postby sMASH » February 22nd, 2024, 10:40 pm

Jimmies get rustled.

Hoss, rest assured, people voted pnm bsck into power, we hadda eat the bread from the dough they knead.

In addition to posting the price of power in other countries, pnm need to post the price of the natgas they pay to produce the power.

But, i dont see this 6 4 9 as a specific pnm thing. This is a globalist agenda thing, that we jess need to fall in line and get rid of the middle class, and replace it with police

Postby The_Honourable » February 22nd, 2024, 11:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Billion-dollar debt

Cool, thanks for the clarification

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2024, 6:59 am

sMASH wrote:Jimmies get rustled.

Hoss, rest assured, people voted pnm bsck into power, we hadda eat the bread from the dough they knead.

In addition to posting the price of power in other countries, pnm need to post the price of the natgas they pay to produce the power.

But, i dont see this 6 4 9 as a specific pnm thing. This is a globalist agenda thing, that we jess need to fall in line and get rid of the middle class, and replace it with police

Changing govt doesn’t solve the problem of the unsustainability of our electricity tariff. It is a can that only be kicked down the road so far as local gas production decreases. There is nothing much to compare what other countries pay for their gas to energy production because T&TEC hasn’t been paying NGC for its gas hence the large debt.

You can’t create some conspiracy and say it’s a globalist agenda. For 17yrs your tariff hasn’t changed. According to the Energy Chamber even if the subsidy is cut we will still have one of the lowest prices in the Caribbean https://energynow.tt/blog/pt-2-how-much ... ty-subsidy We need to direct more gas to money making downstream industries, not to subsidise air conditioned mansions.

Postby bluefete » February 23rd, 2024, 11:00 am

Simple solution - increase rates by 5% every year.

Postby 88sins » February 23rd, 2024, 6:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Who owns NGC?

T&T owns NGC and T&TEC. If you think just because govt owns it they can forget the debt then that contradicts state agencies paying T&TEC. T&TEC needs its money just like NGC.
T&TEC owes NGC $9.32B because it takes their gas and gives it to the IPPs to produce electricity. Natural gas is the main money earner in our country and it is decreasing. If we burn gas for free just for electricity to inefficient households, it is almost the literally story of Nguyamyam (if you are my generation you will know this video by heart).

How much Keith and Colm pay you to swallow that bs & try to convince others to believe it too? Or you doing it for free?

Bruh, look some free advice.
When a politician speaks, take it with a grain of salt.
But when a trini politician speaks, buy salt by the metric ton.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2024, 8:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Who owns NGC?

How much Keith and Colm pay you to swallow that bs & try to convince others to believe it too? Or you doing it for free?

Bruh, look some free advice.
When a politician speaks, take it with a grain of salt.
But when a trini politician speaks, buy salt by the metric ton.
It seems like in this place when you weight out logic and facts, and ppl are unable to respond, they run to their safe place of party politics. Nothing in this equation has to do with people in office. It is about managing the use of limited resources. I have been citing technical personnel in RIC and Energy Chamber but your small mind and tinted lens can only see them as “Keith and Colm”.

But dont stop at Keith and Colm, add Kevin too, that nasty PNM.
IMG_0117.jpeg

Postby 88sins » February 23rd, 2024, 9:32 pm

Party politics? that's what you think? next time you try to think, put some more effort into it.

The fact of the matter is that the burden of this increase is being placed on the population while your beloved pnm are in office. If the unc were there, I'd say the same thing. As I indicated prior, all politicians lie, and trini politicians lie A LOT.

At the end of the day, you can believe/think/defend whatever you like, but nobody is obligated to agree with you.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 24th, 2024, 6:54 am

Little over a year to go for GE, bloggers would be working overtime on tuner

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2024, 12:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Little over a year to go for GE, bloggers would be working overtime on tuner
Yeah I wonder how much they paid Kevin Ramnarine to blog all those lies about T&TEC. Because apparently everybody on tuner needs to sing from the same song sheet otherwise they have some ulterior motive.

I guess the consensus here is that if state agencies pay the $1.3B debt to T&TEC we can perpetuate the 17yrs of the unchanged and one of the lowest tariffs in the region. But the $9.3B debt and growing that T&TEC owes is just some political propaganda that doesn’t exist on some balance sheet.

Postby paid_influencer » February 24th, 2024, 8:40 pm

habit have a point tho. There is no policy difference between PNM and UNC, just a pack of old talk and angling for political mileage.

I would disagree about Kevin Ramnarine's statement that the problem is T&TEC's inability to set prices. They have a natural monopoly, so the last thing they should have is the ability to set their own prices. The blame should really be on the structure of government, in this case the Regulated Industries Commission, for not increasing the price to a realistic level when the country was better able to adjust (i.e., during the PP spendaholic years).

And particularly, for not adjusting rates on the industrial and corporate entities that made an absolute profit by exploiting "cheap energy costs". Those "cheap" energy costs went straight to private hands via corporate profits. The real cost will now have to be repaid by a much more indebted and poorer citizenry.

no dont riot
the status quo is fine
it is in your interest