Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby paid_influencer » December 28th, 2023, 5:52 pm

FrankChag wrote:
adnj wrote:All of these are the same cheddar cheeses? They're are the same type? from the same country?

One should definitely shop for their food by price alone when the differences in taste don't matter.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceteris_paribus

i donno bro. that lil two-work thing is a load-bearing point of your post. the reality is not 'all things being equal' and you just kinda brushing aside the difference between the groceries. lemme tell you i does shop Massy and that I very satisfied with the service, cleanliness, atmosphere and convenience I get there. I go there and I feel at home, you know? This weekend gone they give me a calendar. I ent even have a massy card but they give me a calendar. A nice one too with the flip pages and recipes and thing.

Also, I disagree with the way the data is framed. The focus point of the discussion is Massy, so the focus point of the data visualisation should be Massy too. Make Massy's price the reference value and list the others as %overpriced and %underpriced, with colour coding based on the distance from Massy's price. Ah mean we have stores with phrases like "Low Price" and "Value" in the name, the implication being cheaper, inferior in some way, compared to Massy. Personally I would look to see what kinda %underpriced they are before making a decision to slum it, well not slum it, I sure they good too and people have good relationships with those places and that is fine.

tl:dr- I get a calendar from Massy.

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2023, 6:01 pm

yeah the massy hate is real all things equal

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 29th, 2023, 9:54 am

paid_influencer wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
adnj wrote:All of these are the same cheddar cheeses? They're are the same type? from the same country?

One should definitely shop for their food by price alone when the differences in taste don't matter.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceteris_paribus

i donno bro. that lil two-work thing is a load-bearing point of your post. the reality is not 'all things being equal' and you just kinda brushing aside the difference between the groceries. lemme tell you i does shop Massy and that I very satisfied with the service, cleanliness, atmosphere and convenience I get there. I go there and I feel at home, you know? This weekend gone they give me a calendar. I ent even have a massy card but they give me a calendar. A nice one too with the flip pages and recipes and thing.

Also, I disagree with the way the data is framed. The focus point of the discussion is Massy, so the focus point of the data visualisation should be Massy too. Make Massy's price the reference value and list the others as %overpriced and %underpriced, with colour coding based on the distance from Massy's price. Ah mean we have stores with phrases like "Low Price" and "Value" in the name, the implication being cheaper, inferior in some way, compared to Massy. Personally I would look to see what kinda %underpriced they are before making a decision to slum it, well not slum it, I sure they good too and people have good relationships with those places and that is fine.

tl:dr- I get a calendar from Massy.

Don't be overly distracted by the Massy rant in my post: the point was to illustrate the price distribution of cheddar across the selected sample of groceries, thereby showing (at least in a rudimentary way) how negatively skewed prices were i.e., skewed towards being more expensive (skew was -0.398 icyi). The argument being that you should shop around if you're price discriminating, which, in an inflationary period, most people are or should be.

Of course a box plot might have been more effective. But was feeling lazy yesterday, so I just did the pretty colors. You DEFINITELY should be shopping around if you're buying baby milk.

pugboy wrote:yeah the massy hate is real all things equal

paid_influencer wrote:tl:dr- I get a calendar from Massy.

Growing up (from 0 to 20ish), you could throw a ball from our front yard into HiLo's parking lot. I grew up knowing nothing but HiLo. In fact, for us, HiLo was the generic term to mean going to the grocery. I would go to HiLo in my pajamas or slippers and short pants. I sometimes still do. When I started adulting though, I switched to other places to give my $2000 or $3000/mth monthly grocery budget to, mainly when I realized that I don't care about ambience or 'wide aisles' (I have that at home), or even 'friendly staff'; I do care when my bill total seems like it's $300 or $400 more than it should be. That annoys me. Feels like I'm getting robbed, and I'm an OG HiLo-er. (Pricesmart may be a factor also, but I'm still reflecting on that).

So I don't ever go to Massy, except when I'm feeling nostalgic, or I need something in a hurry. And I strongly suspect that a lot of folks there go because they're OG HiLo-ers too (and like their calendars?), or just outright posers. Me? I like my money, so I go elsewhere. (Worse now since the whole obeah scandal).

tldr: Going HiLo lit. since I born, but I like my money. And I toss free calendars anyway.
Last edited by FrankChag on December 29th, 2023, 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 29th, 2023, 10:06 am

FrankChag wrote:. . . In fact, for us, HiLo was the generic term to mean going to the grocery. I would go to HiLo in my pajamas or slippers and short pants. I sometimes still do. . .

Something wrong with going grocery, or even the mall, in short pants? People have to dress up to go these places?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 29th, 2023, 10:16 am

Nope.

Postby adnj » December 29th, 2023, 10:37 am

One store, Bel Air Superstores, sells "baby formula" at prices between $79 and $340 for an equivalent 900g purchase.

Apparently, baby formula, like cheddar cheese, comes from various places, has various manufacturing methods, and various other qualities that to some, may make one choice more palatable than the other.

When comparison shopping, I prefer to be specific about those qualities that I find important to me. But for everyone else out there, let's just lump all of those baby formulas together and buy the cheapest one. Because the baby will not be able to tell the difference anyway.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 29th, 2023, 11:08 am

The infant formula is "Olilo Gold 1 (900g)" (#75 on the list).
So the price distribution is for the same product.

I'm willing to assume the cheese is "standard" NZ cheddar, or that they're all sufficiently similar to be characterized as 'cheddar', but I don't know.

As for baby-milk buyer behavior, obvi it's different from cheese: every baby is different, and you really should talk to your pediatric doctor. But once you and baby settle on a brand that works, it seems you should be shopping around.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 29th, 2023, 2:45 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
FrankChag wrote:. . . In fact, for us, HiLo was the generic term to mean going to the grocery. I would go to HiLo in my pajamas or slippers and short pants. I sometimes still do. . .

Something wrong with going grocery, or even the mall, in short pants? People have to dress up to go these places?

Only Maxipad does dress up in his Rattan's best to go to supermarkets.
Selfies like dat.

Postby bluefete » December 30th, 2023, 11:50 am

adnj wrote:One store, Bel Air Superstores, sells "baby formula" at prices between $79 and $340 for an equivalent 900g purchase.

Apparently, baby formula, like cheddar cheese, comes from various places, has various manufacturing methods, and various other qualities that to some, may make one choice more palatable than the other.

When comparison shopping, I prefer to be specific about those qualities that I find important to me. But for everyone else out there, let's just lump all of those baby formulas together and buy the cheapest one. Because the baby will not be able to tell the difference anyway.

Breast milk is best! Comes in the right container at the right temperature and best of all is absolutely FREE!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2023, 12:07 pm

Uncle Blue what you does be doing bai

Postby maj. tom » January 13th, 2024, 6:58 am

$12 for one. Let it stay dey and rotten. Pomegranate is $40 for one still.

(sorry protan color blind fellas it's 3 red pears on the left)

Peas is $15/lb
Tomato $14/lb
Plantain $12/lb

Postby bluefete » January 14th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Tunapuna Market today:

25 and 20 portugals for $20
10-20 mixed oranges for $20 (depends on size)
Sweet potato 3lbs / $10
Coconut water - 2L/$40.00
Pawpaw - $4/lb

Food Basket - Chocolates and chocolate biscuits- BOGO - Family Circle got 2 boxes for $60.00.
Apples 12 (small gala) /$20

Postby bluefete » January 17th, 2024, 1:49 pm

bluefete wrote:Tunapuna Market today:

25 and 20 portugals for $20
10-20 mixed oranges for $20 (depends on size)

Passed thru Massy today:

$45 for 10 oranges - about the same size I get in the market
$39.00 for 10 portugals.

I did get yogurt 2/1.

Postby bluefete » January 17th, 2024, 1:51 pm

Anyone noticed that BOGO is no longer BOGO?

You are paying the same price with BOGO in many cases although the true deals are getting scarcer. That f/x is really hitting hard.

X-Tra Foods seems to be the biggest culprit at this time.

snatman

Postby snatman » January 21st, 2024, 2:24 pm

I seeing plenty people selling roucou in puna market of late.

How to tell if is good quality or not?

Postby maj. tom » January 24th, 2024, 12:35 pm

Something new? Something weird?

Postby bluefete » January 24th, 2024, 12:40 pm

^^ It takes all kinds maj.tom. At least it has milk and not vegetable oil. LOL.

Meanwhile, I am getting oranges & grapefruits- 20 for $20 while they are in a bumper season.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 24th, 2024, 1:57 pm

^ You getting all the best deals boi, same some deals for we nah uncle.

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2024, 2:11 pm

you mean palm oil

bluefete wrote:^^ It takes all kinds maj.tom. At least it has milk and not vegetable oil. LOL.

Meanwhile, I am getting oranges & grapefruits- 20 for $20 while they are in a bumper season.

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2024, 2:11 pm

where we getting grapefruit so cheap?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 24th, 2024, 3:36 pm

pugboy wrote:you mean palm oil

bluefete wrote:^^ It takes all kinds maj.tom. At least it has milk and not vegetable oil. LOL.

Red Palm oil is the real deal though. I bought it to use for a Brazilian dish and I was like "Wait nah, this thing tasting like a better Golden Ray!", and it was then that I realized that Golden Ray was the product trying to replicate the taste of Red Palm oil, which is an integral part of African cuisine.

death365

Postby death365 » January 26th, 2024, 4:53 am

Right so technically this na be food but ah looking 4 matches, preferably three plumes but any good one.

I does go better deal and xtra foods but that don't have. Direct me to where have na.

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 11:53 am

death365 wrote:Right so technically this na be food but ah looking 4 matches, preferably three plumes but any good one.

I does go better deal and xtra foods but that don't have. Direct me to where have na.

Trinidad Match Factory
Corner Gordon & Maingot St.,
Mt. Hope,
Trinidad.
Tel:
(868) 638-1974

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 11:54 am

pugboy wrote:where we getting grapefruit so cheap?

Tunapuna market

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 11:59 am

DMan7 wrote:^ You getting all the best deals boi, same some deals for we nah uncle.

Well, yuh hadda stop being a Massy chile and shop with the plebs every now and then.

Sweet potatoes $3. / lb.

Passed by the new X-Tra Foods in Aranjuez. Most prices hot butplenty for $20 soon come.

I hearing that West Bees going and open an outlet next to Food Basket in Mt. Hope (don't know if it is true). Is either Bicks bought the land and leased it to businesses or West Bees bought it.

Real people vex that the samaan tree by the bus route was cut down.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 26th, 2024, 1:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:^ You getting all the best deals boi, same some deals for we nah uncle.

Well, yuh hadda stop being a Massy chile and shop with the plebs every now and then.

Sweet potatoes $3. / lb.

Passed by the new X-Tra Foods in Aranjuez. Most prices hot butplenty for $20 soon come.

I hearing that West Bees going and open an outlet next to Food Basket in Mt. Hope (don't know if it is true). Is either Bicks bought the land and leased it to businesses or West Bees bought it.

Me ain't no massy chile nah, I does shop where its the cheapest. I is ah sufferer.

Btw they go cyar call it WestBees anymore. EastBees perhaps?

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2024, 2:00 pm

boy supermarkets must be real good business for so many in close proximity
or
our population density so high that they always will have customer traffic apart from the smart shoppers

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 2:42 pm

pugboy wrote:boy supermarkets must be real good business for so many in close proximity
or
our population density so high that they always will have customer traffic apart from the smart shoppers

That area is a marginal. It falls within St. Joseph and there has been many government apartments built in the past few years to make sure the votes fall in favour of the incumbent.

West Bees (if true) sees an opportunity because there is a greater population and it is within driving / walking / maxi distance of San Juan Barataria Aranjuez El Socorro / Curepe / St. Augustine Tunapuna / Santa Cruz

And yes, supermarket business real good because every week they are raising prices.

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 2:43 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Sweet potatoes $3. / lb.

Me ain't no massy chile nah, I does shop where its the cheapest. I is ah sufferer.

Btw they go cyar call it WestBees anymore. EastBees perhaps?

Bargains would depend on where you live.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 26th, 2024, 2:49 pm

Better deal not bad...