Starbucks opens new branch... (is wah... SEVENTEEN Branches now?)

Re: Starbucks opens in Arima now.. (is wah... FIFTEEN Branch dey now?)

Postby Dave » January 13th, 2024, 1:26 pm

Good thing I don't like coffee.

Postby eliteauto » January 13th, 2024, 1:41 pm

Dave wrote:Good thing I don't like coffee.

Starbucks is dessert not coffee

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2024, 1:54 pm

regular coffee is the least sold product doh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2024, 2:32 pm

^ in T&T

eliteauto wrote:

I realise Trinis see Starbucks like that.
Like it's an ice cream shop.
Sunday evening Starbucks ram out like it's Willy's long time.

Everywhere else though Starbucks is for coffee and frappuccino, like a higher-end Dunkin.

Postby paid_influencer » January 13th, 2024, 2:47 pm

if i drink coffee i could dead

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 13th, 2024, 2:54 pm

I don't drink coffee ever. Starbucks hate people like me.

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2024, 3:06 pm

we developing even more sweet taste

i see ppl carrying chirren for them boba tea nonsense a lot now after school

boba tea been around a while but has taken off lately
the place in east gates doing well

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 13th, 2024, 3:10 pm

^ I does see them chinee restaurant selling that stuff. Doesn't look desirable at all to me.

Postby gastly369 » January 13th, 2024, 3:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ in T&T

eliteauto wrote:

I realise Trinis see Starbucks like that.
Like it's an ice cream shop.
Sunday evening Starbucks ram out like it's Willy's long time.

Everywhere else though Starbucks is for coffee and frappuccino, like a higher-end Dunkin.
Plenty genZ go have diabetes from posting their latest trip and starbucks combo to socials to posting daily needle shots...

Postby Dave » January 13th, 2024, 4:18 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Haha. Well said!

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2024, 8:45 pm

heard they raised prices recently
is this correct?

Postby MaxPower » January 13th, 2024, 9:33 pm

Check allyuh sugar consumption.

Especially those who have cancer running in their family.

Get tested.

Postby The_Honourable » January 13th, 2024, 9:50 pm

Trinis who never had starbucks:

"i Eh buYinG nO staRBuckS so I eh MiSSing nOthiNG"

"i eH BuyiNg No sTARbucks bEcAUsE deY doEs SuPporT murdERerS"

"we neeD 2 boYCotT" (LOL)

Meanwhile at Starbucks:

RAM OUT

Postby alfa » January 13th, 2024, 9:55 pm

Rituals always have more variety anyway

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2024, 9:59 pm

prestige holdings running biggest addictions(legal) in the country
kfc and starbux
Last edited by pugboy on January 13th, 2024, 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » January 13th, 2024, 9:59 pm

Trinis: "gOOd tinG I doH buY frOm deM!"

Starbucks: Opens 16th location in St Augustine few weeks ago.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C0EaxaWOQ0q/

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2024, 10:10 pm

trinis: “the 1% have we like this, need to stop giving them our money”

Postby Dave » January 13th, 2024, 10:32 pm

If that building was Chanka own..I hope he made a killing!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 13th, 2024, 11:19 pm

If rituals management did a better job at marketing and training they would be better poised to actually compete with starbucks.

Most people dont know you can get iced coffees (americano, latte, mocha etc) at a rituals branch. Unfortunately most of the staff dont know either, as it isnt posted on their board. It all comes down to if the person making the drinks could tap the cashier on the shoulder and show them what to punch in the computer. This has happened many times to me across different branches.

I will say the rituals xmas drink, the stout, was really enjoyable this year, was very underrated.

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2024, 11:55 pm

Dave wrote:If that building was Chanka own..I hope he made a killing!

I saw one of his sons offed himself a few weeks ago, sad stuff

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2024, 6:12 am

rituals coffee is crap, what ever beans they use or grind for the machine is no consistency at all

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 14th, 2024, 10:28 am

pugboy wrote:rituals coffee is crap, what ever beans they use or grind for the machine is no consistency at all

Starbucks vs Rituals has nothing to do with the quality and taste of the beans and you know it

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2024, 11:07 am

condensed milk crowd checking in

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » January 17th, 2024, 12:04 pm

Ritual's drinks to me didnt have it watery ... but recently i tried their chocolate stout mudslide ... that tasted damn good ... So I aint gonna pound them too hard ... they earn a couple more try backs.

A while ago tried Noir Coffee lab in St. Augustine very nice as well.

Postby bluefete » January 17th, 2024, 12:26 pm

pugboy wrote:heard they raised prices recently
is this correct?

1% reading 2NR:

What Uncle Keith say? Nothing wrong with the rich getting richer ...

https://guardian.co.tt/business/prestig ... 4251f7c5b2

Trinidadian patrons of Starbucks are now paying up to ten per cent more for their favourite drinks and sandwiches at the US coffee franchise.

Simon Hardy, chief executive officer of Prestige Holdings, which holds the franchise for Starbucks in Trinidad, said the price increase was as a result of the increase in the national minimum wage and higher input costs for the brand's premium ingredients.

The price increases took effect on January 2.

A blogger on Facebook posted on January 12 that Starbucks increased its prices by 25 per cent. This caused social media to buzz last week into this week as people were up in arms over the increase, with some saying that it did not sound accurate as 25 per cent is a huge jump in the grand scheme of things.

On Monday, Guardian Media reached out to Hardy, who categorically denied that prices at the coffee house had gone up by 25 per cent. But he did say that prices of all items had been increased across the board.

Hardy outlined that for the hot drinks - the Americano (i.e. a black coffee) for the grande size increased by $1.

For the Café Mocha (hot) the price increased by $2.

On the cold side - a grande caramel frappuccino (the blended cream-based drink) went up by $3. A grande Cookie and Crème went up by $2. A tall vanilla Chai Latte went up by $2.

He indicated that bakery items on average went up by $2, while sandwiches increased between $3 to $5.

Hardy said the price increases were partly due to input cost increases from Starbucks International, along with the $3 an hour increase in the minimum wage to $20.50 an hour, which took effect on January 1.

Hardy said the last increase at the local Starbuckks operations was February 2023, but he could not give a percentage figure or dollar value at the time.

Postby The_Honourable » January 17th, 2024, 12:43 pm

Waiting for paid_influencer to mention capitalism :lol:

Postby maj. tom » January 17th, 2024, 1:01 pm

Well I mean.... the persons who choose to buy Starbucks not really going to be affected by any price increase. So #notaffected is the trend.

On one hand the health Minister bawling up the population about diabetes, on the other hand corporate profits. Even KFC here don't offer coke zero or anything without 6 metric tons of sugar in it. Christmas is sorrel time with 2 lbs of sugar per cup. But nah .... the leaders concerned about the diabetes and HTN. Big Sugar loves your diabetes. Buy more.

Postby alfa » January 17th, 2024, 1:10 pm

Not really a big fan of the bucks as I mentioned earlier I believe rituals has more variety, more branches and less sufferers lining up. Yes sufferers in starbucks is a real thing, just like the folks with the latest Iphone whatever but taking taxi lol. Once KFC ent increase I good, but even if it increase I'll still buy it :( .
As for healthy fast food options that's an oxymoron, when I want fast food I want it tasting like fast food. It was never meant to be an everyday thing, same with designer coffee. I watch my weight and work out so I know when I can indulge. If you're pre diabetic, comorbidities etc then just like covid you need to make safe and healthy choices but shouldn't affect my choices and I especially don't like the govt dictating what is healthy or not for a grown arse man like me.

Postby MaxPower » January 17th, 2024, 2:30 pm

I drinking water these days only.

Allyuh take all the sugar for me

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 17th, 2024, 2:43 pm

Sugar is the new drug. Highly addictive and just bad for health.