Former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has died

Nexus

Re: Former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has died

Postby Nexus » January 4th, 2024, 2:15 pm

We should rename the airport to the Basdeo Panday International Airport, but that will never happen

Postby maj. tom » January 4th, 2024, 2:39 pm

I'm satisfied with the Amerindian name for the airport, and hope it never changes.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 4th, 2024, 2:48 pm

Nexus wrote:We should rename the airport to the Basdeo Panday International Airport, but that will never happen

I find so...every major project beset with some of the biggest corruption/mismanagement we ever see as a nation should be named after the PM at the time.

The ball already rolling with the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Basdeo Panday Airport up next, then the Patrick Manning Cricket Academy (alternatively we can just rename Udecott to Patrick Manning Co Ltd.), KPB Highway/KPB Water Treatment Plant (people's pick) and finally Keith Rowley Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 2:51 pm

steups... Bas was cool..but not "Name a building after him" cool....

Name a strip of road after him oui.... Basdeo Panday Dual Carriage way on the way to the airport as yuh turn off the highway. Fitting to the first Corruption Project highlighted inna the Country.

Postby 16 cycles » January 4th, 2024, 2:58 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:steups... Bas was cool..but not "Name a building after him" cool....

Name a strip of road after him oui.... Basdeo Panday Dual Carriage way on the way to the airport as yuh turn off the highway. Fitting to the first Corruption Project highlighted inna the Country.

lol....feel you just trolling here...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 4th, 2024, 3:09 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:steups... Bas was cool..but not "Name a building after him" cool....

He is

Eric's list of public fruck ups makes Panday look like Lee Kuan Yew. We even took former Government Ministers to Canadian courts for monies stolen in the 1980s and won.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 3:10 pm

16 cycles wrote:

highlighted dan...back "then" a glass door was $32k.... now its actually close to that price lol... And John O'Halloran was a different kind of corruption which was actually celebrated.

I eh trolling one bit....wait till '25 and there's a Change of Station.

We go revisit the scene then lol.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 3:12 pm

16 cycles wrote:

He is

Eric's list of public fruck ups makes Panday look like Lee Kuan Yew. We even took former Government Ministers to Canadian courts for monies stolen in the 1980s and won.

I am not for any biulding being named after any leader.....its a Colonial thing stemming from CHR and UBH and Claude Noel (who end up being a full blown bandit)..

Its a crappy concept...in case yuh feel issa Black/PNM thing.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 3:19 pm

But doh tie this up with the need to have a former Sitting Prime Minister receive a State Funeral. That is a mark of a respect on behalf of the Country to that Politician's family.

If UNC smart.... now is the time to mend bridges with Mickela (sp) and prep for a godo run in 2025.... imagine her on a podium saying "when my Daddy was alive"....with her sisters Nicola, Vastala and the other one name again? (the cute looking one ....hear nah ..Oma make some kinda children dey....faddah)...sitting on the front row at a UNC platform?

Go be 2010 all over again.....now self the streets will be laden with "WETIMENAO" placards...

Postby The_Honourable » January 4th, 2024, 3:19 pm

Zoom just went nuclear in bantanamo reading that :lol:

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 4th, 2024, 3:19 pm

FrankChag wrote:Dunno. What is he then? Latino?

Our census records two categories of mixed race who cumulatively account for around a quarter of the population.
Mixed - African/East Indian
Mixed - Other

If I had to guess it would one of those.

He looks more indo than me tbh,
and I'm Mixed-Other.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 3:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Zoom just went nuclear in bantanamo reading that :lol:

allyuh leave Mario alone please. .. :lol:

Name dem buidlings n dem after innovators... ppl who affected real change....Scientists/Agriculturalists/Academics.

Not puppets fuelled by a class of ppl who are racially driven.

Postby bluefete » January 4th, 2024, 3:48 pm

LOLZ. How about the Eric Williams Caroni Racing Complex (1978)?

In 1978 the South Bank viewed the decision taken by the PNM Government to establish the Race Track as a compensatory mechanism for filling the long void in employment opportunities provided by the former sugar factory but this expectation was short-lived owing to the graft and wanton corruption that lay at the heart of the project and perpetrated by one notorious bandit, Johnny O’Hallaron, the confidante of then Prime Minister Williams.

https://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/s ... 6624,52294,

Plus Trintuner was on the ball:

caroni racing complex pictures

viewtopic.php?t=385029

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2024, 4:31 pm

no pics of the racing complex in that link

Postby K74T » January 4th, 2024, 5:49 pm

Time to revert to Crown Point International Airport.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 4th, 2024, 7:23 pm

This!

Postby Monk BANzai » January 4th, 2024, 11:26 pm

bluefete wrote:

LOLZ. How about the Eric Williams Caroni Racing Complex (1978)?

In 1978 the South Bank viewed the decision taken by the PNM Government to establish the Race Track as a compensatory mechanism for filling the long void in employment opportunities provided by the former sugar factory but this expectation was short-lived owing to the graft and wanton corruption that lay at the heart of the project and perpetrated by one notorious bandit, Johnny O’Hallaron, the confidante of then Prime Minister Williams.

https://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/s ... 6624,52294,

Plus Trintuner was on the ball:

caroni racing complex pictures

viewtopic.php?t=385029

ayeee!! this was a WHOLE SCENEEE!!!!!i forget bout this!!!! mean threten to park dey fresh mazda 626 and holden across the road and bun it down!!

AYEEEE

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Name a strip of road after him oui
.... Basdeo Panday Dual Carriage way on the way to the airport as yuh turn off the highway. Fitting to the first Corruption Project highlighted inna the Country.

ah building is more pips\ranks than ah road ? ... i jes asking eh, imo its about d same level ... :|

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2024, 12:04 pm

the bas hate is real lolll

Postby Dizzy28 » January 5th, 2024, 12:16 pm

Nobody went Red House today to check him out?

Protocol aside I know it must be a bit strange to knowledged Hindu pundits to have this spectacle play out. Cheddi Jaggan the last Hindu Head of Govnt in the Caribbean to die (also in the US but at Walter Reed) had a 5 day gap between death and Funeral whilst Panday's is 10.

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2024, 12:19 pm

^^^ same thing i said in d previous page , but its up to his family to do as they see fitting ...

death365

Postby death365 » January 5th, 2024, 12:33 pm

the man repeatedly said he dont want nothing named after him... respect d man wishes na.

Nexus wrote:We should rename the airport to the Basdeo Panday International Airport, but that will never happen

Postby The_Honourable » January 5th, 2024, 1:14 pm

On Friday 5 January, 2024, the body of Mr. Basdeo Panday, former Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, lay in honour at the Red House for public viewing.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 5th, 2024, 6:54 pm

A better version of the procession. Less talking
Last edited by eliteauto on January 5th, 2024, 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed youtube link

Postby paid_influencer » January 5th, 2024, 6:57 pm

saw the flag flying at half mast

plenty programs on radio today about the contribution Panday made to labour

RIP comrade
your beret is waiting

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2024, 7:25 pm

kamala like she very uncomfortable talking bout bas
when interviewed

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2024, 7:34 pm

^^^ i noticed it too

really good coverage by tv6 & great show of appreciation by pandays daughters coming out in d hot sun to meet & say thanks to each member of d public who stood in line waiting to go inside to show their respect ...

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 5th, 2024, 7:43 pm

Some pictures
Screenshot_20240105-190053.png
Screenshot_20240105-190613.png
Screenshot_20240105-190405.png
Screenshot_20240105-190214.png
Screenshot_20240105-191255.png

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 5th, 2024, 7:45 pm

Some More Pictures.
Screenshot_20240105-190508.png
Screenshot_20240105-190332.png

Postby 88sins » January 5th, 2024, 8:30 pm

FrankChag wrote:He looks more indo than me tbh,
and I'm Mixed-Other.

Provision/fried rice with roucou/curry empanada crew reporting for duty Sir!!!