Did a tire shop ever steal your stem valve caps?

Re: Did a tire shop ever steal your stem valve caps?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 31st, 2023, 3:25 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Have a solar TPMS for about four years now . On my second set. Never had a problem with them being stolen, and it has saved me from am inconvenient tire change many times .

Will always have on a car going forward

so question. It replaces the stem valve caps? what feature prevents them from being stolen?
Driver/owner vigilance...thats about it really

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 31st, 2023, 3:26 pm

Just take it out put air and put it back

It is not shiny or colored. Not attractive to thieves.

Never had a problem with them being stolen

Has the fancy ones before, and they were always being stolen

It's very convenient to know the pressure in your tires at all times

Quite a few times I saw it going down checked and discovered holes

Just pumped it up and was always able to reach a tyre shop

Postby rollingstock » December 31st, 2023, 7:07 pm

It screws on like a valve cap. But there's a nut to place first that is tightened against the sensor that basically locks it in place. Can still be removed by loosening with a 12 spanner and unscrewing the sensor.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 31st, 2023, 9:09 pm

I doh even bother with that nut anymore . I have never got one stolen in 4 years

Without the receiver it can not be used.

Really cannot see why it will be stolen.

Postby rollingstock » December 31st, 2023, 10:14 pm

I took out my nuts too. Less hassle. Hardest thing is finding 1632 batteries

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 1st, 2024, 3:25 pm

Batteries going good in my own so far but had to change the o rings on one

Postby wagonrunner » January 1st, 2024, 5:58 pm

rollingstock wrote:I took out my nuts too. Less hassle. Hardest thing is finding 1632 batteries

only if you limit yourself to local middlemen.

PariaMan wrote:It's very convenient to know the pressure in your tires at all times

yup. cheaper than replacing a tire for sure