timothymcdavid wrote:There is nothing to mediate or negotiate or even talk about this border business is before the ICJ that is Guyana's contention and talk by CARICOM countries about mediation and negotiation is them taking on Venezuela's talking points which is traitorous at best.
paid_influencer wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:There is nothing to mediate or negotiate or even talk about this border business is before the ICJ that is Guyana's contention and talk by CARICOM countries about mediation and negotiation is them taking on Venezuela's talking points which is traitorous at best.
both sides have good points and talk never hurt anybody.
Venezuela has been claiming the disputed area since the 1800's, yet when last was there a war over it? The proof is there - Talk works.
You know what doesn't work? Adverturism and involving foreign powers that do not have our regional interest as a priority. We are neighbours, it is not traitorous to talk plainly amongst ourselves.
timothymcdavid wrote:Talk is good ... lol ... talk accomplished what when in recent memory ... Talk doesnt placate an aggressor like Venezuela it only encourages them as it shows weakness.
Ukraine is a good example of talking yourself into a corner ... they accepted false Russian promises of no aggression and gave up their nukes look where they are now.
Venezuela isnt prepared to accept anything less than all of Essequibo and CARICOM by encouraging talk is encouraging them in this position.
There is nothing to negotiate or mediate in this matter President of Guyana is correct let ICJ decide.
Caricom is just noise and seen as a backwater association in the hands of the UStimothymcdavid wrote:There is nothing to mediate or negotiate or even talk about this border business is before the ICJ that is Guyana's contention and talk by CARICOM countries about mediation and negotiation is them taking on Venezuela's talking points which is traitorous at best.
Redress10 wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:Talk is good ... lol ... talk accomplished what when in recent memory ... Talk doesnt placate an aggressor like Venezuela it only encourages them as it shows weakness.
Ukraine is a good example of talking yourself into a corner ... they accepted false Russian promises of no aggression and gave up their nukes look where they are now.
Venezuela isnt prepared to accept anything less than all of Essequibo and CARICOM by encouraging talk is encouraging them in this position.
There is nothing to negotiate or mediate in this matter President of Guyana is correct let ICJ decide.
Some of you all keep talking as though it's only Maduro pushing Essequibo agenda. The average Venezuelan believes that the region is rightfully theirs. This problem not going away anytime soon even if Maduro goes away. Guyana needs a definite answer to this now. The ICJ has already stated that a judgement is years away at best. Guyana aint have years to wait with an emerging aggressor next door. The US and european countries don't need to exist and live next door to Venezuela but Guyana does.
Let them talk and see what the next steps could be.
timothymcdavid wrote:Redress10 wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:Talk is good ... lol ... talk accomplished what when in recent memory ... Talk doesnt placate an aggressor like Venezuela it only encourages them as it shows weakness.
Some of you all keep talking as though it's only Maduro pushing Essequibo agenda. The average Venezuelan believes that the region is rightfully theirs. This problem not going away anytime soon even if Maduro goes away. Guyana needs a definite answer to this now. The ICJ has already stated that a judgement is years away at best. Guyana aint have years to wait with an emerging aggressor next door. The US and european countries don't need to exist and live next door to Venezuela but Guyana does.
Let them talk and see what the next steps could be.
Bro ... Guyana doesnt need anything other than the status quo to be maintained that is the irony of this situation.
ICJ has already ruled on this and has stated Venezuela shouldnt disturb the status quo.
Any further action by Venezuela will be a violation of international law so what is it we need to talk about?
This unilateral position you are taking talk or there will be war isnt the position on the ground it is Maduro's talk his unilateral position which he cant back up.
As you stated Venezuela isnt going to accept anything but the area being under their administration that isnt going to change.
But in the future under the status quo Guyana will be in a better position to defend itself or there maybe an American base in the disputed area an ICJ ruling would facilitate that.
timothymcdavid wrote:Guyana has always been ostracized by CARICOM members and by South America in general lill oil found everyone now wanna be friends is like when you win the lotto you got the world of friends but they arent really friends.
Russia putting a base in Venezuela ... lmao ... la la land.
Russia hands full with Ukraine.
The status quo has more or less been maintained since 1899 and will remain so.
US Southern Command is flying over Guyana making sure fellahs like allyuh know who runs thing in this hemisphere it isnt China or Russia it is Uncle Sam.
Uncle Sam wishes the status quo will be maintained till the ICJ ruling is made if Maduro wanna go against their wishes so be it more sanctions maybe some tomahawks and no dragon gas for Trinbago ... Guyana has stated its position they willing to talk but administration of Essequibo will not be up for any discussion.
paid_influencer wrote:the status quo not really in we benefit.
Imagine we have to get US permission to buy gas from a country 11km away.
I mean I understand, but is it in we island benefit?
Redress10 wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:Guyana has always been ostracized by CARICOM members and by South America in general lill oil found everyone now wanna be friends is like when you win the lotto you got the world of friends but they arent really friends.
Russia putting a base in Venezuela ... lmao ... la la land.
Russia hands full with Ukraine.
The status quo has more or less been maintained since 1899 and will remain so.
US Southern Command is flying over Guyana making sure fellahs like allyuh know who runs thing in this hemisphere it isnt China or Russia it is Uncle Sam.
Uncle Sam wishes the status quo will be maintained till the ICJ ruling is made if Maduro wanna go against their wishes so be it more sanctions maybe some tomahawks and no dragon gas for Trinbago ... Guyana has stated its position they willing to talk but administration of Essequibo will not be up for any discussion.
You acting as though when the bombs start falling they gonna fall in Washington or New York. Guyana already lose a helicopter and 5 bodies and nothing aint even start as yet. You honestly think that America is looking forward to going into a conflict with a country that has only 4000 armed personnel? Ukaine has thousands and look how that is playing out.
Also...newsflash...America isn't going to fight Guyana's war. Whether it is controlled by Venezuela or Guyana, they are still going to benefit from the minerals extracted from that region. So don't count on indefinite US support.
timothymcdavid wrote:Let me add something it isnt only who regards the situation of Essequibo to be non negotiable.
Guyanese calypsonian Dave Martins has a very popular song called not a "blade of grass" ... it has essentially become a national song every Guyanese views situation in Essequibo and new rivertriangle "as being non negotiable".
Any Guyanese politician varying from this is essentially committing political suicide.
paid_influencer wrote:shouldf we be sucking sam off tho
Redress10 wrote:Amazing song. Now let us see you all move Guyanese tanks and personnel to defend your border. What about the strength of your navy? Do you have one of those? Any planes that can penetrate and avoid venezuelan anti aircraft defenses?
timothymcdavid wrote:Redress10 wrote:Amazing song. Now let us see you all move Guyanese tanks and personnel to defend your border. What about the strength of your navy? Do you have one of those? Any planes that can penetrate and avoid venezuelan anti aircraft defenses?
You ever been to the Essequibo bro ... the Brazilians (another Guyana ally) have posted troops on their border cause in order for the Venezuelans to enter the Essequibo enforce with same tanks and heavy equipment they must pass through Brazil it is for most part dense jungle ... it isnt planes or tanks that hold ground it is the infantry man with his rifle ... Venezuela militarily can never be stopped by Guyana.
Exxon ship captains done laugh at the Venezuelan navy already when ordered off their claim years ago so no need for a Guyanese navy.
Maduro tell Exxon they got 30 days to leave so let us see what happens there is going to be more laughter from the Americans.
But Venezuela better not invade or disrupt Exxon in anyway cause there will be terrible consequences read up on the Monroe doctrine nothing further needs to be said other than that.
It is a clear mismatch if Venezuela invades there essentially Guyana can do but offer token resistance ... and wait to see if Uncle Sam is prepared to look weak.
Redress10 wrote:Seems the US getting cold feet to continue to fund the war in Ukraine.
Highly doubt they gonna he enthusiastic about funding Guyana's seeing that Guyana has even less equipment and manpower than Ukraine
teems1 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Seems the US getting cold feet to continue to fund the war in Ukraine.
Highly doubt they gonna he enthusiastic about funding Guyana's seeing that Guyana has even less equipment and manpower than Ukraine
Exxon Mobil is heavily invested in Guyana.
Oil and gas industry lobbyists can get nearly anything they want from congress.
The British tried twicetimothymcdavid wrote:teems1 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Seems the US getting cold feet to continue to fund the war in Ukraine.
Exactly my point Exxon reported record profits this year why because of high oil prices and the sweet heart deal they got for Guyana 2% royalties practically unheard of they would have to find 5 or 7x that elsewhere.
https://corporate.exxonmobil.com/news/n ... 23-results
But sit down and think this is only because Guyanese politicians cant negotiate one crap or lack knowledge or experience ... Venezuela has actively been trying to stifle development in Guyana's Essequibo for decades, running away oil exploration vessels and kicking up nonsense whenever any kind of substantive development is meant to take place.
https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/compani ... r-AA1l6aO9
I am still waiting on Redress10 to tell me when the UK invaded Argentina?
They actually tried twicetimothymcdavid wrote:teems1 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Seems the US getting cold feet to continue to fund the war in Ukraine.
Exactly my point Exxon reported record profits this year why because of high oil prices and the sweet heart deal they got for Guyana 2% royalties practically unheard of they would have to find 5 or 7x that elsewhere.
https://corporate.exxonmobil.com/news/n ... 23-results
But sit down and think this is only because Guyanese politicians cant negotiate one crap or lack knowledge or experience ... Venezuela has actively been trying to stifle development in Guyana's Essequibo for decades, running away oil exploration vessels and kicking up nonsense whenever any kind of substantive development is meant to take place.
https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/compani ... r-AA1l6aO9
I am still waiting on Redress10 to tell me when the UK invaded Argentina?