death365 wrote:This morning...
But yuh kno na ... trinis only have short term memory. BTW what's the status of this?
"Just asking for a friend"Screenshot_20231107_050146_Reddit.jpg
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:death365 wrote:This morning...
But yuh kno na ... trinis only have short term memory. BTW what's the status of this?
"Just asking for a friend"Screenshot_20231107_050146_Reddit.jpg
Results of the COE were expected to be released sometime this month
The_Honourable wrote:Final report goes to President Nov 30
The final report into the Paria diving tragedy which claimed four lives is to be delivered to President Christine Kangaloo on November 30.
This is according to secretary to the commission of enquiry Sarah Sinanan.
However, lone survivor Christopher Boodram, says he is not holding his breath.
“I am trying not to think about it. I have been disappointed too many times,” he said in an interview with the Express yesterday.
Commission of enquiry chairman Jerome Lynch, KC, had initially hoped to hand in a draft report in early April, with the final report at the end of that month.
But since then, there had been two requests for extensions, with Lynch stating the volume of evidence was far greater than he had anticipated. The commission requested an extension to August 31, but there was a further delay, and another request was submitted for an extension to November 30.
The final report will contain the commission’s findings into the incident, along with recommendations. Lynch has suggested the report be made public.
Boodram said the commission’s report into the incident was the first step in finding closure for him and the loved ones of the four deceased divers.
He said, “This report was the first step to closure. Now I am living a life filled with anxiety and panic attacks. My co-workers and I were left to suffer inside that pipeline. I thank God I managed to get out.”
On February 25, 2022, five LMCS divers—Kazim Ali Jnr, 36; Fyzal Kurban, 57; Yusuf Henry, 31; Rishi Nagassar, 48; and Christopher Boodram, then 36—were conducting maintenance works on a pipeline owned by Paria Fuel Trading Company Ltd in Pointe-a-Pierre, when they were sucked into the pipeline. Boodram was the lone survivor.
The commission heard evidence over a six-month period, with the final piece of evidence, the hyperbaric chamber, being viewed on the compound of Paria, Pointe-a-Pierre, in March.
The enquiry into the tragedy was chaired by Lynch and included fellow commissioner Gregory Wilson, a subsea specialist. The commission was represented by Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC.
The enquiry has accumulated $21 million in costs so far between the Office of the Prime Minister and Paria.
At a virtual news conference in September, Lynch said lawyers from Paria and Heritage Petroleum Company Ltd sent letters to the commission; and prior to that, attorneys from Kenson—a service contractor to oil and gas companies—sent letters on August 2 and previously, all claiming bias.
He said further that there has been some media speculation that the cause of the delay has been as a result of either political or company (Paria) interference in some way, but stated categorically: “That is not the case. If there were even a whiff of such an approach, I would make that very public indeed.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/f ... 89013.html
bluefete wrote:Enquiry chairman: Paria report will see light of day
HUGE RED FLAG:
"After the report is submitted to Kangaloo, it will be sent to the Cabinet, which will study it and determine the next step."
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/11/29/enquir ... ht-of-day/
Lynch: Paria diving tragedy 'no act of God'
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/11/29/lynch- ... ct-of-god/
Of course the families are entitled to hefty compensation. I won't be surprised to see the first billion dollar award. Too bad Praks, &&, Kiel, Jaya and the other bottom feeders will get a nice cut too. Well the yellow mess opposition will need lots of funding for elections, though.The_Honourable wrote:Lawsuits are coming
Whether the Commission of Enquiry’s report into the 2022 Paria Diving tragedy is made public or not, attorney Prakash Ramadhar says he will be pursuing legal action against those who may be liable on behalf of the victims’ families.
Ramadhar, who represents the families of divers 57-year-old Fyzal Kurban and 31-year-old Yusuf Henry, who perished after being sucked inside a pipeline owned by Paria Fuel Trading Company Ltd on February 25 last year, made the announcement while speaking at a news conference yesterday.
He spoke to reporters following a final virtual sitting of the Commission into the diving tragedy, hosted by Commissioner Jerome Lynch, KC.
He said his team will be filing actions against those viewed as responsible for the tragedy.
He also called for ex-gratia payments to be made to the grieving families of all four divers who died—Kazim Ali Jnr, Fyzal Kurban, Yusuf Henry and Rishi Nagassar—and lone survivor Christopher Boodram.
“We hope and expect that those who are liable and those who are responsible will know in their heart and do the right thing, the common decent thing and do an ex-gratia payment so that the families will no longer have to wait and suffer. We know once we engage court, we get a judgment and for those whose resources are unlimited because it is the public purse, may choose to appeal to the Court of Appeal and then to the Privy Council and this is not the case for that. We ask for humanity to be our guiding light,” Ramadhar said.
He said the question of whether the Commission’s findings, which are expected to be sent to President Christine Kangaloo today, would be made available to the public, has caused him “discomfort”.
He said he expected that the Government would take the decision to release the report when it is passed on from the President.
“I would shudder to imagine that any responsible government would not make the report public. I expect that they will. My expectations are bound on what is decent and what is common courtesy and what is right and proper,” Ramadhar said.
The families of the deceased divers have been struggling to deal with the sudden deaths of their loved ones both financially and emotionally, he said. The Kurban family had found it difficult to fund the tertiary education of a close relative while others were left without a source of income, Ramadhar added.
He called on the Government to ensure that the affected families were made comfortable, adding that it was not too late for payments to be made to them.
“The chairman also said as a matter of human decency he would have expected, as we would have been saying from day one, that an ex-gratia payment be made to the families. I stand today with some of my clients, not all of them, because some have children who had school...without a father, without a breadwinner and these families have been left bereft without knowing where their next meal would have come from, knowing what security they have for the future and their children and once again it is obscene and absurd to this day not a single cent has been paid to any one of these families as an ex-gratia payment,” Ramadhar argued.
“It is not too late, it is late, yes, but the Government can do the right and proper thing as a matter of common decency to ensure that these families can get some comfort financially. One of the children in this Kurban family is in university and they have to scrape by every term to be able to keep her at university. There are those I remember last year, the families had to hold a barbecue before Christmas so they could raise money for the children,” he said.
No rescue
Ramadhar congratulated the chairman and the Commission for the completion of the report, adding that he felt a sense of relief.
He said that he agreed with the statements presented during the final hearing, that the deaths were no act of God.
He said he was waiting with bated breath to see the wording of the report.
“This has been our position, these men need not have died if those who had the responsibility and therefore the duty, took upon themselves to exercise power that was given to them or taken by them to allow the rescue. They had the resources. You had the son of Mr Kurban’s son waiting and pleading to go in to save his own father and they were prevented by the arms of the Coast Guard and the management of Paria.
Today up till today, the Commissioner spoke to this, no one has the responsibility, in fact I will always remember, one of the members having said after a cross-examination of him, how would he rate the conduct of Paria’s team on that day. After deep reflection he said excellent. Excellent that four men would be allowed to perish and they considered themselves in their actions to have been excellent. That is obscene,” he said.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 19067.html
teems1 wrote:Stories like this is why you need some life insurance if you work in high risk jobs.
The premium may be higher, but you won't leave your family in a quandary.
j.o.e wrote:teems1 wrote:Stories like this is why you need some life insurance if you work in high risk jobs.
The premium may be higher, but you won't leave your family in a quandary.
Stories like this is why you need life insurance **full stop**
maj. tom wrote:That's tradition in Trinidad. Hide all the enquiries and reports from the public, or never have one (1990 Coup). The Scott Drug Report from 1986 was never officially released. The power outage report from last year never released. Yet the taxpayers funding it all.