aaron17 wrote:WELP!
Banking and credit card info in TSTT cybersecurity leak
https://guardian.co.tt/news/banking-and ... 0bc6cab040
redmanjp wrote:The only 'good' thing about this is that prominent ppl data leaked too so maybe we will finally get serious about data security and pass data protection legislation.
aaron17 wrote:Parasram: Nothing to be done about data exposure
https://technewstt.com/nothing-to-be-do ... -exposure/
Mmoney607 wrote:The minister should get fired too, if someone tell me something, I would make sure it true before I start to run with it
maj. tom wrote:It good. For lying to the Minister who conveyed that given information in Parliament.
And because as CEO you are ultimately responsible for this level of insecurity on your system. And continually lying about the hack until the files literally buss for everyone to see how much lying went on. CEO, you never had meetings with your security people to know this is what would happen? You never had them test the system? Cisco123! passwords in Word documents are the current industry standard? Of course is not she alone responsible eh, but that head had to roll.
bluefete wrote:maj. tom wrote:It good. For lying to the Minister who conveyed that given information in Parliament.
And because as CEO you are ultimately responsible for this level of insecurity on your system. And continually lying about the hack until the files literally buss for everyone to see how much lying went on. CEO, you never had meetings with your security people to know this is what would happen? You never had them test the system? Cisco123! passwords in Word documents are the current industry standard? Of course is not she alone responsible eh, but that head had to roll.
It was lies all over the place. She appointed a square peg in a round hole in that IT department who knew nothing about cyber-security. - even after the 2022 hack.
That person was told about all the holes in TSTT's infrastructure from which an attack could happen and did nothing.
When Oct. 9th came, that manager lied to the CEO who lied to the Minister. Then came the backpedalling.
The CEO is gone but that other incompetent manager is still there. Meanwhile there was an exodus of highly qualified cybersecurity experts from TSTT when they realized that the Board of Directors and Executive management did not care one hoot about cyber-security.
bluefete wrote:maj. tom wrote:It good. For lying to the Minister who conveyed that given information in Parliament.
It was lies all over the place. She appointed a square peg in a round hole in that IT department who knew nothing about cyber-security. - even after the 2022 hack.
That person was told about all the holes in TSTT's infrastructure from which an attack could happen and did nothing.
When Oct. 9th came, that manager lied to the CEO who lied to the Minister. Then came the backpedalling.
The CEO is gone but that other incompetent manager is still there. Meanwhile there was an exodus of highly qualified cybersecurity experts from TSTT when they realized that the Board of Directors and Executive management did not care one hoot about cyber-security.
FrankChag wrote:bluefete wrote:maj. tom wrote:It good. For lying to the Minister who conveyed that given information in Parliament.
Sounds like the Peter Principle happening there.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_principle
There are exceptions, but it's a classic public-sector disease, especially when you mix in corruption and nepotism.
Once, I literally heard one manager in state company (who was recently promoted), in a lime, and with a BIG GRIN saying something like "I get thru.. time to fake it till I make it! Ent!"
From what you're saying, perhaps that's what happened there.. incompetent manager "get thru" so "highly qualified cyber experts" leave to let them ketch.
And ketch they did apparently.
Monk BANzai wrote:bluefete wrote:maj. tom wrote:It good. For lying to the Minister who conveyed that given information in Parliament.
you sound hurt![]()
and to be fair that exodus been happening since the removal of the Jamaican CTO in 2019.... come nah man... gih dem the full "blahzay"...... Lisa only exposed (at the time) the Thin skinned club that was TSTT ICT.... even after they brought in "Galt-n-Littlepage".....Men still left. So doh lay it on the "Incompetent" manager... Lay it on the general TSTT landscape.
And you know this.