Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby zoom rader » November 3rd, 2023, 2:25 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
thecloud1234 wrote:Anyone have experience working in Germany as a Trini expatriate? If yes ,
Do the ppl look like they like brown ppl
Are their domestic workers you can hire?
Generally is the regular man in the street speak German only?
Is the food healthy vs...doubles, kfc, black pudding, burger & fries......our staples are wheat flour and rice.... Carbs like eddoes,potato, yam, cassava,

While I at it....anyone know how working in houston could be for Trini?

Most Germans aren't overtly racist, but they do regard native Germans and Swiss to be intellectually superior.

Food was alright, lots of basic cafes, German bakeries tend to sell stuff that's more savory than sweet. Quite liked it. The beer is incredible, beer steins are massive lol. Kebab shops every too, lots of Turkish people in Germany. Indian food is plentiful but often not great compared to London. You'll get burger and fries.

Most Germans do know of Trinidad as we made it to their world cup, but most think we're an African country.

You not getting those carbs there, it's lots of potatoes, turnips, other root vegetables that aren't great.

Never been to Houston but some Trini friends there love it

Unless you're a Gypsy, most people in Europe won't have a problem with you. The moment I touched down in Rome, the car driver said in heavily accented English after asking where I was from "You are foreigner, so listen well, we have things called Gypsy here, do not make eye contact, do not fall for their tricks and do not give them money!". People from some Balkans countries thought I was a Gypsy, until I showed them my passport and then they were very friendly instead of apprehensive. If it's one thing all Europeans will openly hate, it's Gypsies.
Gypsies are technically Indians and yes, they are a problem.

There are real Indians over there, and they, too, are a bigger pest. From what I gathered, they are madrass Indians. They don't beg for money, but they persist on selling you suff using almost an aggressive tactic to buy from them. They just appear and right up in up face tying to sell u suff. Even police have problems with them.

Next is Africans from Senegal. They will trick u into buying a thread bracelet, making u think it's a good luck charm. They prey on women most of the times. Italy and Spain is doggy as fvck

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 2:55 pm

whole of europe is flooded with those migrants
not all are indians lot are bangladeshi but they not into crime like the gypsies

gypsies are the experts in pickpocket and scams

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 3rd, 2023, 3:10 pm

Paris have endless Senegalese scammers too. Roma women are some of the sexiest around, guys do not fall for it. You will be missing your walket in no time at all.

Postby zoom rader » November 3rd, 2023, 4:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Paris have endless Senegalese scammers too. Roma women are some of the sexiest around, guys do not fall for it. You will be missing your walket in no time at all.
Paris is a very dirty and disgusting city, the French are very rude. Will never visit that city again. It not a place to visit and is all hype. French are unhygienic.

Worth visiting is Switzerland, very expensive but really kool people. The French speaking part are very welcoming and will speak English with u. In France they refuse to speak English with you.

Germany, visited a few cities and was ok as a tourist, don't know what it is like to work and live there. Visited Dachau concentration camp, and its an eye opener .

Austria, another kool and welcoming country. Vennia is fab.

Norway, a lil boring, not much to do and very expensive. My offshore days had to go there when choppers could not land in UK due to bad weather.

Spain, some really beautiful cities and will be exploring some more next year.

Italy, stay away from Rome and Venice they all hype and very touristy. Cheap food and best wines. Doggy migrants so beware.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 4th, 2023, 1:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Paris have endless Senegalese scammers too. Roma women are some of the sexiest around, guys do not fall for it. You will be missing your walket in no time at all.
Paris is a very dirty and disgusting city, the French are very rude. Will never visit that city again. It not a place to visit and is all hype. French are unhygienic.

Worth visiting is Switzerland, very expensive but really kool people. The French speaking part are very welcoming and will speak English with u. In France they refuse to speak English with you.

Germany, visited a few cities and was ok as a tourist, don't know what it is like to work and live there. Visited Dachau concentration camp, and its an eye opener .

Norway, a lil boring, not much to do and very expensive. My offshore days had to go there when choppers could not land in UK due to bad weather.

Italy, stay away from Rome and Venice they all hype and very touristy. Cheap food and best wines. Doggy migrants so beware.

Would you recommend Switzerland as a good destination to permanently migrate to?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 4th, 2023, 5:15 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Would you recommend Switzerland as a good destination to permanently migrate to?

100% yes, they've got some of the best quality life, swiss apls are gorgeous, beautiful lakes.

Salaries are very high in Switzerland too. German side like Lucerne and Zürich are beautiful with great food and culture. Haven't spent much time on the French side but it also looked amazing.

It's expensive AF though, maybe not Iceland or Norway expensive but close.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 4th, 2023, 9:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

100% yes, they've got some of the best quality life, swiss apls are gorgeous, beautiful lakes.

Salaries are very high in Switzerland too. German side like Lucerne and Zürich are beautiful with great food and culture. Haven't spent much time on the French side but it also looked amazing.

Switzerland is much more expensive than Scandinavia. You know somewhere is expensive when people border hop for groceries. There is nowhere in the world where I felt poorer than in Switzerland. I just went back to France after knocking around for half a day. For comparison between Norway and Switzerland.

Consumer Prices in Zurich are 53.5% higher than in Oslo (without rent)
Consumer Prices Including Rent in Zurich are 70.4% higher than in Oslo
Rent Prices in Zurich are 116.7% higher than in Oslo
Restaurant Prices in Zurich are 47.8% higher than in Oslo
Groceries Prices in Zurich are 60.2% higher than in Oslo

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 5:06 am

triniterribletim wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Switzerland is much more expensive than Scandinavia. You know somewhere is expensive when people border hop for groceries. There is nowhere in the world where I felt poorer than in Switzerland. I just went back to France after knocking around for half a day. For comparison between Norway and Switzerland.

Consumer Prices in Zurich are 53.5% higher than in Oslo (without rent)
Consumer Prices Including Rent in Zurich are 70.4% higher than in Oslo
Rent Prices in Zurich are 116.7% higher than in Oslo
Restaurant Prices in Zurich are 47.8% higher than in Oslo
Groceries Prices in Zurich are 60.2% higher than in Oslo

While the CPI is true facts brother and I haven't lived for extended periods of time (all those were only vacation) but Iceland and Norway definitely felt a bit more expensive to me than Switzerland, but also this wasn't in Zurich this was Lucerne and the country side. This is mainly looking at food and restaurant prices. But all still are roughly the same. Coming across from the UK, they all made the UK feel cheap.

Like a burger and chips in a UK pub is like £13 in Switzerland and Iceland that was £20-30.

I remember buying a box of KFC Iceland for almost £20 for what I think was a 2 piece combo.

UK gets a bad rep for being expensive, it really isn't too bad except for rent in London. Food and groceries in the UK often feel cheaper than Trinidad for most things.

But do remember, Swiss salaries are extremely high. Similarly Norwegian salaries are very high.

UK salaries aren't generally that high.

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2023, 6:41 am

i actually went both paris and switzerland on the same trip
zoom is right, we went zürich first and then paris
arriving by train into paris you feel and smell like you going into the bronx
but it is still a great place to see a wide variety of things and cultures but all these places getting over run by migrants now

everything in zürich is basically 2-3 times the price

Postby alfa » November 5th, 2023, 7:49 am

Apart from the culture and varying cost of living, salaries etc what is long term living like in some of these European countries? In terms of owning a house and property, raising a family etc? Seems like a cool place for young professionals to work and live but what are the prospects for the older folks who want to live a stable life?

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 8:35 am

AlphaMan wrote:

I did some research on migration, and it's not very straightforward.

It is very difficult to migrate, and it takes about 12 years to be a permanent residence. More so 20 years to be considered a Swiss national. Also, u can't have dual passports.

Only if you are married to Swiss national or one of the very few refugees with an exceptional case.

They are very conservative, it's one of reasons they are not 100% in the EU where immigration is concerned.

I applaud them for protecting their borders and immigration control.

They just had an election and from I gathered it was won on immigration control I was actually there in October.

On the plus side, they love black people, while walking around u see lots of mixed kids.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 8:40 am

alfa wrote:Apart from the culture and varying cost of living, salaries etc what is long term living like in some of these European countries? In terms of owning a house and property, raising a family etc? Seems like a cool place for young professionals to work and live but what are the prospects for the older folks who want to live a stable life?
Portugal has one of the easiest avenues for young, older folk and retirees.

You buy a property, and residency follows. Language is a barrier, if u know some Spanish it's a big help.

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2023, 9:02 am

zoom know he stuff

portugal is a pretty benign country and more than a few trinis with roots there have been able to get back a passport which is worth a lot being eu

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 9:05 am

alfa wrote:Apart from the culture and varying cost of living, salaries etc what is long term living like in some of these European countries? In terms of owning a house and property, raising a family etc? Seems like a cool place for young professionals to work and live but what are the prospects for the older folks who want to live a stable life?

You buy a property, and residency follows. Language is a barrier, if u know some Spanish it's a big help.

UK isn't that hard to get into either, tier 1 visas are attainable, tier 2 as well. all have easy paths to citizenship and ILR.

Problem with Portugal is low salaries, though Lisbon is an fantastic place and very livable.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 9:09 am

pugboy wrote:zoom know he stuff

portugal is a pretty benign country and more than a few trinis with roots there have been able to get back a passport which is worth a lot being eu
If u have a Portuguese Grand Parent, u in luck.

I know of one such trini person that did this and got citizenship.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 9:14 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

UK isn't that hard to get into either, tier 1 visas are attainable, tier 2 as well. all have easy paths to citizenship and ILR.

Problem with Portugal is low salaries, though Lisbon is an fantastic place and very livable.
UK is probably the easiest country to migrate to.

Just join the British army as a commonwealth citizen and I think in 2 to 5 years u get residency.

If u are a local trini armed personnel like police or solider its very easy to join the British armed forces.

Again I met a trini that did this and never returned to trini.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 9:17 am

For local policemen or armed forces personnel again if u have guts and willing to spend 5 years to get an EU passport.

Join the French foreign Legion, just be super fit.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 5th, 2023, 9:25 am

I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
How you migrating with a credit card to finance your stay over there...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 9:30 am

AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..

Yes

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 9:43 am

AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
In a nutshell yes.

U have to understand these countries need to protect their boarders. You can't have economic migrants just coming in. EU is not Trinidad

But there are ways if u are a young person to get a working visa/school and build urself from there.

Just research

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 9:54 am

In a nutshell yes.

U have to understand these countries need to protect their boarders. You can't have economic migrants just coming in. EU is not Trinidad

But there are ways if u are a young person to get a working visa/school and build urself from there.

Just research

I'd recommend getting a degree that's internationally recognised (UWI is but unless you have multinational experience they treating you like you have A-levels alone) and getting through to the UK. After 5 years you can get ILR then shortly after citizenship.

UK is a great platform to be an expat in other countries.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 5th, 2023, 10:05 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
In a nutshell yes.

Just research

I'd recommend getting a degree that's internationally recognised (UWI is but unless you have multinational experience they treating you like you have A-levels alone) and getting through to the UK. After 5 years you can get ILR then shortly after citizenship.

What's it like to be in another country away from all your trini family and friends?
Does it affect your mental state of mind? Loneliness etc..

xtech

Postby xtech » November 5th, 2023, 10:07 am

If anybody tried leaving Trinidad for good last night and was bound for USA would have not arrived in NYC as plane was diverted to Puerto Rico and returned to Trinidad .

Medical emergency

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2023, 10:13 am

that’s exactly what i talking about
they allow that which is a nice loophole

you won’t get away with that in most other countries

zoom yuh know the ropes

pugboy wrote:zoom know he stuff

If u have a Portuguese Grand Parent, u in luck.

I know of one such trini person that did this and got citizenship.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 5th, 2023, 2:09 pm

Be prepared to study hard. Portuguese is one of the hardest romance languages to pick up as a second language. French and Italian are both far easier. I've been immersed in Portuguese speakers for almost two years and I'm barely B2 at best. The grammar will screw with your head. The regular people here told me "Even we don't really know proper Portuguese grammar."

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 5th, 2023, 2:12 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
In a nutshell yes.

Just research

What's it like to be in another country away from all your trini family and friends?

Just call them on WhatsApp. It's only really lonely if you're alone and have to make new friends from scratch. Apart from that, nothing too drastic that most folks shouldn't be capable of dealing with. Unironically, being in a country away from Trinidad is fun and exciting. Lots to see and do, especially if you're in a big place like the US or Brazil. You just have to keep yourself occupied.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 5th, 2023, 2:18 pm

On a more interesting note, my mother finally decided to get over her fear of travelling to anywhere not North America and come down for a visit. Maybe I can convince her to get out of Trini before the CoL increases by another 50% next year.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 2:28 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
In a nutshell yes.

Just research

In the UK it does affect u in a way. Some trinis there, students, workers or families stay in a close loop with other trinis. It takes a couple of months to grow friends outside of Trinidad.

Let just say UK folk like to keep to themselves and they don't really care to mingle with u, unless if u belong to a social circle.

In the UK u can go to school or work and know these people for years, but that is as far as it goes. Very rarely will u get invited to their homes or things like celebrations, wedding, parties ect.

However they will invite u to pubs/bars maybe restaurants.

You will find ethic groups stick to themselves

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 5th, 2023, 2:45 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
In a nutshell yes.

Just research

In the UK it does affect u in a way. Some trinis there, students, workers or families stay in a close loop with other trinis. It takes a couple of months to grow friends outside of Trinidad.

Let just say UK folk like to keep to themselves and they don't really care to mingle with u, unless if u belong to a social circle.

In the UK u can go to school or work and know these people for years, but that is as far as it goes. Very rarely will u get invited to their homes or things like celebrations, wedding, parties ect.

However they will invite u to pubs/bars maybe restaurants.

You will find ethic groups stick to themselves

Totally the exact opposite here in Brazil. People will go out of their way to be friendly to you. You will get invited to parties, bars, weddings, beach excursions and all manner of other things. People in smaller cities where foreigners are a rare sight will want to talk to you for a while and take pictures with you. It is harder to not make friends here.

thecloud1234

Postby thecloud1234 » November 5th, 2023, 4:28 pm

I work for a multinational. Another main concern is health care / insurance. Local I covered.
I have to use a lot pills and quaterly/monthly visiits to doctors..
i think its reasonable expect health incurance will tranfser.But how common is english speaking GPs ?

quote="zoom rader"]
triniterribletim wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
thecloud1234 wrote:Anyone have experience working in Germany as a Trini expatriate? If yes ,
Do the ppl look like they like brown ppl
Are their domestic workers you can hire?
Generally is the regular man in the street speak German only?
Is the food healthy vs...doubles, kfc, black pudding, burger & fries......our staples are wheat flour and rice.... Carbs like eddoes,potato, yam, cassava,

While I at it....anyone know how working in houston could be for Trini?

Most Germans aren't overtly racist, but they do regard native Germans and Swiss to be intellectually superior.

Food was alright, lots of basic cafes, German bakeries tend to sell stuff that's more savory than sweet. Quite liked it. The beer is incredible, beer steins are massive lol. Kebab shops every too, lots of Turkish people in Germany. Indian food is plentiful but often not great compared to London. You'll get burger and fries.

Most Germans do know of Trinidad as we made it to their world cup, but most think we're an African country.

You not getting those carbs there, it's lots of potatoes, turnips, other root vegetables that aren't great.

Never been to Houston but some Trini friends there love it

Unless you're a Gypsy, most people in Europe won't have a problem with you. The moment I touched down in Rome, the car driver said in heavily accented English after asking where I was from "You are foreigner, so listen well, we have things called Gypsy here, do not make eye contact, do not fall for their tricks and do not give them money!". People from some Balkans countries thought I was a Gypsy, until I showed them my passport and then they were very friendly instead of apprehensive. If it's one thing all Europeans will openly hate, it's Gypsies.
Gypsies are technically Indians and yes, they are a problem.

There are real Indians over there, and they, too, are a bigger pest. From what I gathered, they are madrass Indians. They don't beg for money, but they persist on selling you suff using almost an aggressive tactic to buy from them. They just appear and right up in up face tying to sell u suff. Even police have problems with them.

Next is Africans from Senegal. They will trick u into buying a thread bracelet, making u think it's a good luck charm. They prey on women most of the times. Italy and Spain is doggy as fvck[/quote]