Thats all he have to say crack a "comedy tent joke" they will clap and kekekekemaj. tom wrote:And they will. They're happy to, once is not Kamla who teefing out the Treasury.
Gotta remember, they not too smart to begin with, they blind-er than ah bat when it comes to their loyalty and it doesn't take much more than a hamper or 2, a few tee shirts and other " meaningful " items to have them renew their loyalty eh. Fickle is the minds....orshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Interested in seeing how bringing this tax during the silly season pans out. You begging for votes on one hand and telling people pay more on the other?
The government has already saidThe_Honourable wrote:$400m from property tax
Colm: Most to pay $42 to $92 monthly
The total amount of property tax to be collected in 2024 is expected to be “in the vicinity of $400 million”, Finance Minister Colm Imbert said yesterday.
He said the Inland Revenue Division will be issuing assessment notices for property tax “very shortly” to property owners.
Piloting the budget debate in the Senate, Imbert said: “Our calculations tell us that the full property tax for 2024 would be in the vicinity of $400 million. But we expect that there will be a learning curve and therefore we have made a preliminary allocation in the budget estimates in three different categories, in three different sizes of local government corporations. So we have allocated $8 million to the smaller ones (corporations), $10 million to the medium-sized ones and $12 million to the large ones,” he said.
Population size was used to determine the allocation, he added.
Imbert also gave an undertaking that regional corporations would not be allowed to use property tax revenues to pay salaries and wages, but for procuring goods and services and financing development in the communities.
“I want to emphasise that we are not going to permit property tax to be used for personnel expenditure. I have made allocations in the 2024 estimates within each municipal corporation to allow them to collect, retain and utilise property tax. But we will be making legislative amendments in due course to ensure the money is not used for the wrong purpose. I want to emphasise that it is (to be used) for goods and services and the development programme,” Imbert stated.
He said property tax would provide local government bodies with a new and sustainable revenue stream to procure goods and services.
Imbert reiterated that property tax on residential properties is calculated at three per cent of the rental value and not the capital value.
“And this is something that our opponents on the lower bench continue to attempt to confuse the population with, by saying that property taxes are based on the capital value. It is not,” he said.
Imbert said at least 50 per cent of property owners in Trinidad and Tobago will be required to pay property tax in the range of $500 to $1,100 per year or between $42 and $92 per month.
“That is what we have seen so far from the valuation roll which has now registered in excess of 200,000 properties. And there is also the provision for deferral of that for those who are genuinely unable to pay property taxes,” Imbert said.
He said what would have to be done is an application for the deferral of the tax where someone is a senior citizen on a fixed income and cannot pay, or any other vulnerable person.
Imbert said during fiscal 2024 the Government would proclaim and operationalize the relevant sections of the local government legislation to allow residential taxes to be collected by the two cities, five boroughs and seven regional corporations within the 14 municipalities.
More: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 332da.html
adnj wrote:Waiting for the tax default property sales. *rubs hands together*
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
You really want property in laventille, sealots, beetham etc?
nes123 wrote:novastar1 wrote:I dont know why everyone dont realise this means an increase in everything
ie. Grocery , utilities, you name it
You think that businessmen just going to ABSORB the extra tax?
This will be passed on to the consumer
Don't you guys think about the flip side to this?The other 50% chances are that houses purportedly value at 1.5mil for a 3bdroom house in let say diamond vale...will drop to the actual value avg 600k-700k which is a more practical price for a house with concrete roof,3 rooms,1 bath on 4900s.f. of land.....lets all look on and see..after all that's all we can do for now
It will send it up and rental value up.88sins wrote:nes123 wrote:novastar1 wrote:I dont know why everyone dont realise this means an increase in everything
ie. Grocery , utilities, you name it
You think that businessmen just going to ABSORB the extra tax?
This will be passed on to the consumer
Don't you guys think about the flip side to this?The other 50% chances are that houses purportedly value at 1.5mil for a 3bdroom house in let say diamond vale...will drop to the actual value avg 600k-700k which is a more practical price for a house with concrete roof,3 rooms,1 bath on 4900s.f. of land.....lets all look on and see..after all that's all we can do for now
You missing something
This tax is based on what the government feel you can get as an annual rent for your house, NOT what it worth as a sake in a fair value open market. This tax will do absolutely nothing to bring property prices down.
The_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Before you even reach there, with our history of not enforcing the law people really think the corporations will go after homeowners in those areas?
Good point. More contracts for gang members posing as contractors..... with kickbacks to councilors / mayor etc.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Before you even reach there, with our history of not enforcing the law people really think the corporations will go after homeowners in those areas?
Before we even reach to going after homeowners![]()
Allyuh really think the money would be used for what its really meant for?
alfa wrote:Anybody get property tax letters yet? Hearing at least one business place on my side got telling him he has to pay from January