Customers claim to be getting extra charges from PriceSmart

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2023, 3:12 pm

The Pricesmart scam could be placed in here?
r.e. PM repeating a transaction after the fact and then ppl being reimbursed less than they got charged.

Customers claim to be getting extra charges from PriceSmart

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2023, 4:50 pm

Zoom was right to stay away from credit cards:

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2023, 5:00 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The Pricesmart scam could be placed in here?
r.e. PM repeating a transaction after the fact and then ppl being reimbursed less than they got charged.

I just put it in the credit card thread.

Re: Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2023, 5:07 pm

bluefete wrote:Zoom was right to stay away from credit cards:

Ppl saying its only with RBC but I am with FCB and I also got the scam transaction
Capture.JPG

Postby Dave » October 15th, 2023, 5:07 pm

Scotia customers were experiencing this.
No reports from other banks.

Postby paid_influencer » October 15th, 2023, 5:08 pm

zoom is right about many things

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2023, 5:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:zoom is right about many things

True, eh - with his obnoxious self. :D

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2023, 5:12 pm

Dave wrote:Scotia customers were experiencing this.
No reports from other banks.

Scotia, FCB, RBC. Something is up.

No reports from RBL as yet?

timothymcdavid

Re: Customers claim to be getting extra charges from PriceSmart

Postby timothymcdavid » October 16th, 2023, 8:18 am

Very concerning I saw this crap this weekend saw the reimbursement and was like WTF is this about Pricesmart need to fix their $h!7.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 16th, 2023, 8:32 am

Pricesmart eh saying nothing as yet? I went on the 2nd October for pickup/ online payment and I ent see nothing. rbl cc

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 8:42 am

yeah the silence is deafening

Postby maj. tom » October 16th, 2023, 8:47 am

The bank conversion fees should be waived by the bank. That's a bank fee. Happened to me for a subscription I canceled and the company still charged it the next year. They refunded in US dollars. According to their books they did the exact refund and I got back my money. But the conversion rate fee is the bank's and I eventually got it back after a set of noise with dem teefing mc.

Oh and once you do any online transaction with whatever company with your credit card they save your details. Your info there forever waiting to get hacked and leaked. They don't need chip and pin to do an online transaction. The transaction security lies with Visa or Mastercard. Any company or hacker who has that info can just use those card details to make a purchase. If you don't query with the issuer, they take your money and consider it a valid transaction. Until you query it. Part of the terms of owning a credit card is that you do your due diligence and responsibilities of reviewing your transactions and card finances.

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 9:14 am

i checked in august statement but didn’t see anything

are these for online transactions or at cashier cc machine?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2023, 9:19 am

pugboy wrote:i checked in august statement but didn’t see anything

are these for online transactions or at cashier cc machine?

In person

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 9:23 am

ok just checked sept scotia cc statement and nothing fishy

dogg

Postby dogg » October 16th, 2023, 9:42 am

Registering as safe with my RBL card.

Postby gastly369 » October 16th, 2023, 10:14 am

I had same issue with digicel last month and yesterday friend called and told he he got the same with pricemart now both RBC

I got full refund tho

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2023, 10:50 am

Seeing a lot of these posts on FB

Kinda scary to realize somebody has remote access to your CC info and then shafting you on a refund

#InRacketWeTrust

killercow

Postby killercow » October 16th, 2023, 11:18 am

I haven't purchased from Pricesmart in a while so I'm a bit unfamiliar with the situation but seeing it all over social media. Can someone enlighten me as to why PayPal can reimburse me the exact figure that I payed using the rate that I payed on that date but the banks can't? And why are charges being converted to even cause this problem? Is this for online purchases?

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 11:29 am

because a yankee company doing a straight reimbursement with the cc company
whereas a local bank does a reverse forex buy back conversion

ie converts the $6.78tt sale to $1usd then they reimburse the $1usd at $6.5 or whatever the lower rate is

i get a lil rbc dividend check from rbc in cad$ and they do me the same thing when i go to cash it

killercow wrote:I haven't purchased from Pricesmart in a while so I'm a bit unfamiliar with the situation but seeing it all over social media. Can someone enlighten me as to why PayPal can reimburse me the exact figure that I payed using the rate that I payed on that date but the banks can't? And why are charges being converted to even cause this problem? Is this for online purchases?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2023, 11:38 am

pugboy wrote:because a yankee company doing a straight reimbursement with the cc company
whereas a local bank does a reverse forex buy back conversion

ie converts the $6.78tt sale to $1usd then they reimburse the $1usd at $6.5 or whatever the lower rate is

i get a lil rbc dividend check from rbc in cad$ and they do me the same thing when i go to cash it

killercow wrote:I haven't purchased from Pricesmart in a while so I'm a bit unfamiliar with the situation but seeing it all over social media. Can someone enlighten me as to why PayPal can reimburse me the exact figure that I payed using the rate that I payed on that date but the banks can't? And why are charges being converted to even cause this problem? Is this for online purchases?

Why is forex conversion even an issue?
Its a local credit card, a local bank, a local store (of a foreign company) and a local transaction albeit fake.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2023, 11:42 am

if its a online pricesmart transaction they charge it in USD

death365

Postby death365 » October 16th, 2023, 11:57 am

wait .... people still buying Fai's rat food in 2023

:mrgreen:

bluefete wrote:Zoom was right to stay away from credit cards:

Ppl saying its only with RBC but I am with FCB and I also got the scam transaction
Capture.JPG

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2023, 5:50 pm

fellas, lemme explain something.

When a power disparity exists, the less powerful party will invariably gets shafted. and there will be limited or no opportunity for recourse. that is the nature of a power disparity.

union
collective action

those are your tools in the fight against capital

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2023, 1:27 am

Both sides fixing the problem by saying nothing. I would have been even more concerned after reading this.

Pricesmart and the banks take no prisoners:

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2023, 5:49 am

It gets better - LOL

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/h ... 9a993.html

Hello PriceSmart, No Comment?
And as the Trinidad Express newspaper sought to obtain a response beyond this, the company abruptly hung up the phone not once, but on three separate occasions, leaving many questions unanswered.

ALSO:

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... be0b3.html
PRICESMART BLAMES FOREX RATE
PRICESMART Trinidad and Tobago yesterday attributed the discrepancies in their customers’ refunded accounts over the weekend to “foreign exchange rate fluctuation”.

Now these waste of time people decide to jump in the fray:

Consumer Affairs to probe PriceSmart credit-card charges
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/10/16/consum ... d-charges/

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2023, 9:53 am

#pricesmartmanting

wing

Postby wing » October 17th, 2023, 11:12 am

Republic Bank admits, and apologises

Vishanna Paghoo

Oct 17, 2023 Updated 27 min ago

Comments

1 min to read

TO SUBSCRIBE CLICK HERE 

[https://bloximages]

The Republic Bank head office at Park Street in Port of Spain.

Facebook

Twitter

WhatsApp

SMS

Email

Copy article link

Save

Republic Bank has admitted that it was responsible for the situation which saw credit card customers having duplicated transactions and refund discrepancies.

And Republic Bank is now apologising for it.

"Republic Bank is aware that several credit card holders of other banks saw transactions that were conducted between August 14th to September 6th at certain merchants, being reversed and re-posted within the past few weeks," it stated.

Republic Bank said "technical challenges experienced with our credit card processing system which resulted in the original transactions being incorrectly processed as USD transactions."

"The Bank also confirms that these issues have since been corrected," it stated.

"We are working closely with all the local banks to identify impacted customers and will be taking all steps necessary to address any discrepancies. We appreciate the concern that this situation has caused to customers and our valued merchant partners and for this, we sincerely apologise," Republic Bank stated.

Facebook

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2023, 11:20 am

Hmm is this why we haven't seen anyone complain who banks with RBL?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2023, 11:32 am

Pricesmart, RBL and all the banks