Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 10:14 pm

triniterribletim wrote: I think that devaluation is a matter of when, not if, and the real rate may be somewhere closer to 9 TTD for 1 USD. There's going to have to be some economic pain eventually, you can only tread water for so long.

And even after all that, Carnival goes on.
It's already sold out.

Trinis have money and impsbert right to tax dey MC

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2023, 10:56 pm

Trinis have money and impsbert right to tax dey MC

Exactly….Trinis need a blasted wake up call.

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2023, 10:48 am

Foreign exchange limits on FCB credit cards. Good luck applying for the high end cards...

https://www.firstcitizensgroup.com/tt/f ... limit-faq/
FCB CC.png

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2023, 10:53 am

The_Honourable wrote:Foreign exchange limits on FCB credit cards. Good luck applying for the high end cards...

https://www.firstcitizensgroup.com/tt/f ... limit-faq/

I have the classic and as recent as 2018 the monthly limit was US$20K. The fall started sometime thereafter.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 21st, 2023, 2:07 pm

pugboy wrote:black market rates are 7.5 - 8 ?
how much the chinese groceries paying ?

Where is this black market located that has unlimited amounts of usd you can purchase..
Everyone talks about it but where exactly is it...

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2023, 2:16 pm

republic bank isn't raising anyones limits or giving any new cards currently

Postby supercharged turbo » September 21st, 2023, 3:02 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Where is this black market located that has unlimited amounts of usd you can purchase..
Behind POS market

Postby redmanjp » September 21st, 2023, 3:04 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:republic bank isn't raising anyones limits or giving any new cards currently

seriously, no more new cards? :shock: i now talking about dat in the other ched

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2023, 3:07 pm

alpha, you know user effective designs?

supercharged turbo wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Behind POS market

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2023, 3:12 pm

shopping locally is real mess

look at these few purchases in the last few weeks for me

wanted extractor fan, paid $900 landed with skybox for a 1800 CFM

locally they're selling a 500 CFM for $1700

bought a fake owl ornament to put by my pond to scare away birds, cost like $250 landed
saw it in bhagwansingh for $600

need some boric acid, locally i`m getting 1 lb for $90

bought 10 lbs for $550 landed online

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2023, 3:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:shopping locally is real mess

look at these few purchases in the last few weeks for me

wanted extractor fan, paid $900 landed with skybox for a 1800 CFM

locally they're selling a 500 CFM for $1700

bought a fake owl ornament to put by my pond to scare away birds, cost like $250 landed
saw it in bhagwansingh for $600

need some boric acid, locally i`m getting 1 lb for $90

bought 10 lbs for $550 landed online

I never saw a local factory for any of those things. The same forex is being spent but no profit for the local store owners to buy a Bentley.

So a net foreign exchange savings.

Postby MaxPower » September 21st, 2023, 3:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:shopping locally is real mess

X3000

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 21st, 2023, 3:34 pm

Is there any benefit to shopping locally at all?

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2023, 3:47 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Is there any benefit to shopping locally at all?
Yes.

Postby redmanjp » September 21st, 2023, 3:50 pm

u just doh have to wait for the item- but dey digging out yuh eye with price

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2023, 3:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Some stores sell some items near or even below the best prices that you can get online -- before shipping, duty, taxes, etc. I find local deals like that all of the time. I've posted some of them.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2023, 4:01 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Some stores sell some items near or even below the best prices that you can get online -- before shipping, duty, taxes, etc. I find local deals like that all of the time. I've posted some of them.

The Skechers Store here usually has shoes cheaper than you can get on either Amazon or Skechers site.

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2023, 6:43 pm

yea i myself buy a sketchers, that place does be real busy. idk what so spectacular about it tho, my crocs better crocs is the best

jehusaunders

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits On Credit Cards

Postby jehusaunders » January 20th, 2024, 9:22 am

Good day all. I have accounts with scotiabank and republic. Was wondering if it’s worth opening an account with rbc given that the other banks are constantly reducing their usd for credit cards? Those who bank with rbc, how has your experience been? Thanks

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits On Credit Cards

Postby The_Honourable » January 20th, 2024, 1:13 pm

jehusaunders wrote:Good day all. I have accounts with scotiabank and republic. Was wondering if it’s worth opening an account with rbc given that the other banks are constantly reducing their usd for credit cards? Those who bank with rbc, how has your experience been? Thanks

RBC Credit Cards:

Clients holding RBC personal and/or business credit cards will be able to conduct transactions to a maximum of your account’s credit limit or TT $51,000 in forex, whichever is less, per calendar month

Private banking clients will be able to conduct transactions to a maximum of your account’s credit limit or TT $169,000 in forex, whichever is less, per calendar month.

If RBC runs a check and see you have credit cards with other banks plus any other financing such as loans or mortgages, they can deny you a CC stating you don't qualify. If they do give you a CC, forex amount can be very low hence in their statement "to a maximun of your account's credit limit".

Keep in mind you are not the only person shopping around for CC to use forex, banks already know.

0x868

Postby 0x868 » January 20th, 2024, 4:39 pm

Depending on your income bracket you can qualify for multiple credit cards in multiple banks. It all depends if you meet the debt servicing ratios, credit history and what ever risk assessment they do. Having cards across different banks mitigates the limits but we’re all still dipping in the same pool of limited USD supply. If you have any short term loans, paying it off or refinancing the monthly payment when opening the card with RBC will increase your chances as well.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » January 20th, 2024, 7:12 pm

Thanks for the advice guys

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » July 16th, 2024, 8:22 am

Anybody know us limit for Scotiabank Aero? I got of a call with agent and she says $3000 per cycle??

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » July 16th, 2024, 8:27 am

https://tt.scotiabank.com/tt-pb/preferred-products/scotiabank-premium-credit-cards.html#:~:text=Effective%20March%201%2C%202020%2C%20the,USD%20%243%2C000.00%2C%20whichever%20is%20applicable.

Confirmed. Very surprising that Aero Platinum lumped with ordinary Scotia cards and it's lower than other TT bank cards since March 1, 2020!

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 8:56 am

sekhar_777 wrote:Anybody know us limit for Scotiabank Aero? I got of a call with agent and she says $3000 per cycle??
Yes its been 3000 usd per cycle for several years now. The black card is 10000 usd per cycle

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2024, 9:21 am

what’s the annual fee for that black card with the black card folks?

i asked about it the other day and them tell me it has a monthly fee of $200usd or something
they obviously tell me that because they aint want to with that

Chimera wrote:
sekhar_777 wrote:Anybody know us limit for Scotiabank Aero? I got of a call with agent and she says $3000 per cycle??
Yes its been 3000 usd per cycle for several years now. The black card is 10000 usd per cycle

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2024, 9:31 am

pugboy wrote:what’s the annual fee for that black card with the black card folks?

i asked about it the other day and them tell me it has a monthly fee of $200usd or something

Chimera wrote:

TT$300 per month afaik

Postby zoom rader » July 16th, 2024, 9:46 am

Forex = A PNM problem

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 10:15 am

pugboy wrote:what’s the annual fee for that black card with the black card folks?

Chimera wrote:

yeah 300 TT per month plus u must have a salary of i think 35,000 to apply

Postby mero » July 16th, 2024, 10:41 am

That's too much. Think you should double check that

Fcb platinum card is 450 annually
Signature(black card) is 600
Infinite is $1000 annually

$300 a month for personal card is nasty work