Budget Day - October 2nd 2023

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2023, 9:29 am

FB_IMG_1695043251299.jpg

Re: Budget Day - October 2nd 2023

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2023, 9:40 am

I look forward to budgets as much as look forward to hitting my little toe with a sledgehammer.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2023, 9:42 am

Econameee would tun rong next year...this year is to tighten yuh belly again

Postby Les Bain » September 18th, 2023, 9:50 am

Waiting to see PNM do what they warned Kamla would have done.

Postby The_Honourable » September 18th, 2023, 10:21 am

2024-2025 is election budget so if they want to do anything adverse in this budget, they will have to do it now.

Imbert already talking about online shopping with respect to the forex shortage so I would not be surprised he already decided to increase this tax and have "talks with stakeholders" after the fact.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 399e2.html

Postby Chimera » September 18th, 2023, 10:22 am

sigh wonder what flabbergastery those fawkers coming with now

they fresh off a LGE "win" so they know Trinidadians taking anything

death365

Postby death365 » September 18th, 2023, 11:21 am

what u think all this talk bout "no USD" just pop up just so!!!

the only budget to look forward to is the election 1, other than that is sufferation

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2023, 11:29 am

reading between the lines in that article I suspect import duties gonna get a bump for certain types of goods that may compete with local supplier

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2023, 11:32 am

tax the hell out of the middle class

Postby zoom rader » September 18th, 2023, 11:44 am

pugboy wrote:tax the hell out of the middle class
It's the same middle class that will secure a red mis government victory

Same middle class that buy out carnival costumes

Postby MaxPower » September 18th, 2023, 12:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I look forward to budgets as much as look forward to hitting my little toe with a sledgehammer.

I think all Trinis should look forward to it…they should even be given a holiday to add to the UNproductivity.

Take in the budget in a bar or during discussions for Carnival 2024…and after the result, remain in the bar and continue discussions for Carnival.

The Govt KNOWS the priority of the average Trini

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 18th, 2023, 12:16 pm

Awaiting the commentators after the budget

Postby redmanjp » September 18th, 2023, 1:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:2024-2025 is election budget so if they want to do anything adverse in this budget, they will have to do it now.

Imbert already talking about online shopping with respect to the forex shortage so I would not be surprised he already decided to increase this tax and have "talks with stakeholders" after the fact.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 399e2.html

so Image now ?

death365

Postby death365 » September 18th, 2023, 2:15 pm

But wait ah minute ... Weren’t we promised that the REVENUE AUTHORITY was to be started in this financial year.

Postby Dave » September 18th, 2023, 5:01 pm

Got delayed.

If they are so adamant about USD then bring back the negative list.
death365 wrote:But wait ah minute ... Weren’t we promised that the REVENUE AUTHORITY was to be started in this financial year.

Postby paid_influencer » September 18th, 2023, 5:12 pm

anybody ever notice Rowley does never talk about the future. When you listen to him, is always something about the past or more often buffing up people about what happening. You never see Rowley giving a speech or talking for a whole hour or so about what Trinidad to look like 10 years from now, 20 years from now. Is always a kinda short-sighted, backward looking speech he does give.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 18th, 2023, 5:16 pm

No election goodies..
Move along

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2023, 7:34 am

Look out for Floating gas prices based on world market rates.

Red mis government plans to suffer gas users to switch and spend money on battery karts.

ItzRyan

Postby ItzRyan » September 19th, 2023, 7:54 am

Past and present governments have done little to nothing to diversify our economy. What will happen when our oil and gas reserves are depleted? which is expected to happen in the near future.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 19th, 2023, 8:20 am

ItzRyan wrote:Past and present governments have done little to nothing to diversify our economy. What will happen when our oil and gas reserves are depleted? which is expected to happen in the near future.

The rich will be fine, why you worried

Postby aaron17 » September 19th, 2023, 8:31 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
ItzRyan wrote:Past and present governments have done little to nothing to diversify our economy. What will happen when our oil and gas reserves are depleted? which is expected to happen in the near future.

The rich will be fine, why you worried

Is like saying ..'the human race will survive'

wingnut

Postby wingnut » September 19th, 2023, 9:29 am

Considering the world is trying to move away from oil and gas, drop in demand and price might faster cripple us

Postby MaxPower » September 19th, 2023, 10:15 am

paid_influencer wrote:anybody ever notice Rowley does never talk about the future. When you listen to him, is always something about the past or more often buffing up people about what happening. You never see Rowley giving a speech or talking for a whole hour or so about what Trinidad to look like 10 years from now, 20 years from now. Is always a kinda short-sighted, backward looking speech he does give.

Backward speeches for backward people.

Trinis deserve what they voted for.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2023, 10:40 am

paid_influencer wrote:anybody ever notice Rowley does never talk about the future. When you listen to him, is always something about the past or more often buffing up people about what happening. You never see Rowley giving a speech or talking for a whole hour or so about what Trinidad to look like 10 years from now, 20 years from now. Is always a kinda short-sighted, backward looking speech he does give.

Backward speeches for backward people.

Trinis deserve what they voted for.

Postby teems1 » September 19th, 2023, 11:18 am

zoom rader wrote:Look out for Floating gas prices based on world market rates.

Red mis government plans to suffer gas users to switch and spend money on battery karts.

Gas in TT is nearly as expensive as the US.

In the US it's $3.90 a gallon which is approx TT $27

Price of Premium is TT $7.75 a liter which is approx TT $29 per gallon

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 19th, 2023, 12:00 pm

Why all the fuss about the budget?

We are a very poor country, and the govt will take steps to maximise our value for $ in this coming budget.

death365

Postby death365 » September 19th, 2023, 12:23 pm

hope thats sarcasm !!!

Alpha_2nr wrote:Why all the fuss about the budget?

We are a very poor country, and the govt will take steps to maximise our value for $ in this coming budget.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 20th, 2023, 8:45 am

How much ollur think online shopping tax going up to?
10% ?
12.5%
15%
I say 20% in we rukungkutunks!!!

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 8:56 am

snatman wrote:How much ollur think online shopping tax going up to?
10% ?
12.5%
15%
It should be 100% and if so ppl will still vote for the red mis government.

Postby adnj » September 20th, 2023, 9:12 am

snatman wrote:How much ollur think online shopping tax going up to?
10% ?
12.5%
15%
It should be 100% and if so ppl will still vote for the red mis government.

You do realize that there is currently no OPT for shipments by way of sea, right?

If you can wait a few more weeks you can save some cash.