new_gran_fella wrote:My experience having a credit card with Republic for over 15 years was very nice. Unfortunately, was out of the country for school for 10 months in 2016 and it got cancelled. There was a $200USD balance on it I was not aware of, and they kept sending mails to my home address before deciding to cancel it. Last January I figured I would re-apply for a credit card and try another establishment to see.
I also had a savings with RBC so I decided to apply there. Princes Town, my home branch, told me that the Credit Manager who is at San Fernando has to contact me to come in for a meet. I've been waiting for over a year. Visited Sando a few times and the person wasn't there. Has anyone ever been through this with RBC or heard of this???? RBC calls me every quarter to see if I'm interested in taking a loan, but salt for a credit card??
I'm not entirely sure what my credit score at this point is so I've made an appointment at TransUnion for later this month to check it out. I was generally responsible over the years in paying my bill on time, but I'm not sure how that cancellation in 2016 might have affected my score.
Anyway, will be applying again with Republic.
Mmoney607 wrote:Anyone know how to increase Scotiabank 3000us limit on credit card? For example if i give them us dollars can a get a temporary increase? But then they would buy it for 6.7 whereas other places buy it for 7+
If you are talking about overpaying your balance prior to leaving, you can certainly use your online banking to transfer multiple payments to your credit card account before your statement closing date, while you are out of the country.j.o.e wrote:Question guys have you ever loaded up your credit card (in excess of your limit) for travel ?
I remember doing this before but I also remember someone saying it’s no longer allowed. Or should I just request a limit increase…… any advice before I engage with the bank which is never fun. FCB if it matters
j.o.e wrote:Question guys have you ever loaded up your credit card (in excess of your limit) for travel ?
I remember doing this before but I also remember someone saying it’s no longer allowed. Or should I just request a limit increase…… any advice before I engage with the bank which is never fun. FCB if it matters
The_Honourable wrote:j.o.e wrote:Question guys have you ever loaded up your credit card (in excess of your limit) for travel ?
I did it with FCB 2 months ago and used some of the funds within three days to bring it back down to my CC limit or just below it. I would not recommend your funds staying above the limit over a long period of time before you trigger some security sheit and your card is temporarily disabled.
If you have an FCB account, you can do online transfers which credits your CC instantly. Go to the tabs on top and select: My Payments -> Standard Payees -> Insert Amount -> Select your Savings/Checking as your "From Account" -> Select your credit card as your "To" account and execute transaction. Make sure you know your transaction pin, funds on your CC in 1 minute or so.
Inform them that you are travelling so that they will understand the transactions between your account and CC if any red flags come up on their end.
mero wrote:Pay it via online and and should be OK.
But at the end of the day u have a fixed FX amount that is more important. Classic cards are 5k usd and that cant be increased so you could transfer 50k and can't access it.
However if you card get compromised or skimmed, u only insured for your assigned credit limit.
You could also ask for the hotel to partially invoice you during your stay.j.o.e wrote:The_Honourable wrote:j.o.e wrote:Question guys have you ever loaded up your credit card (in excess of your limit) for travel ?
I did it with FCB 2 months ago and used some of the funds within three days to bring it back down to my CC limit or just below it. I would not recommend your funds staying above the limit over a long period of time before you trigger some security sheit and your card is temporarily disabled.
If you have an FCB account, you can do online transfers which credits your CC instantly. Go to the tabs on top and select: My Payments -> Standard Payees -> Insert Amount -> Select your Savings/Checking as your "From Account" -> Select your credit card as your "To" account and execute transaction. Make sure you know your transaction pin, funds on your CC in 1 minute or so.
Inform them that you are travelling so that they will understand the transactions between your account and CC if any red flags come up on their end.
Gotcha usually make payments via online but just for clarity. Let’s say my allowed limit is 18000 but my first payment due when I land is my hotel which is 25000. So I pad my account up tp 30k ….. would the payment go through?
Used to do this all the time with RBC years ago with no issue.
See in your case you used some and brought it down to your limit in my case I’m actually doing a transaction over my limit. Slight difference.
j.o.e wrote:The_Honourable wrote:j.o.e wrote:Question guys have you ever loaded up your credit card (in excess of your limit) for travel ?
Gotcha usually make payments via online but just for clarity. Let’s say my allowed limit is 18000 but my first payment due when I land is my hotel which is 25000. So I pad my account up tp 30k ….. would the payment go through?
Used to do this all the time with RBC years ago with no issue.
See in your case you used some and brought it down to your limit in my case I’m actually doing a transaction over my limit. Slight difference.
whiterose868 wrote:Have y’all seen the new Bachannal that is the Scotia AERO redemption?
For reference : https://tt.scotiabank.com/personal/cred ... oints.html
They have basically increased the amount of points needed to redeem a flight (as at about 2 months ago) and now have added a price cap on top of it! So unless I plan my trips way in advance, the AERO program is basically the most expensive “platinum” card in the country with the most restrictions. I can no longer plan a last minute something and cover it totally with points.
That combined with their ridiculous $3k USD a month and that card has gone from hero to zero real quick.
Compare that to Republic, where I started off with $2kUSD on a visa gold and ever so kindly asked the csr on the phone to increase my limit permanently as I plan to make that card my main card now. One branch visit and a week later, I swapped out to the AAdvantage gold Mastercard, got my limit pushed to 8500usd and still pay less than scotia’s aero cards or even their damn gold cards.
Kenjo wrote:whiterose868 wrote:Have y’all seen the new Bachannal that is the Scotia AERO redemption?
For reference : https://tt.scotiabank.com/personal/cred ... oints.html
They have basically increased the amount of points needed to redeem a flight (as at about 2 months ago) and now have added a price cap on top of it! So unless I plan my trips way in advance, the AERO program is basically the most expensive “platinum” card in the country with the most restrictions. I can no longer plan a last minute something and cover it totally with points.
That combined with their ridiculous $3k USD a month and that card has gone from hero to zero real quick.
Compare that to Republic, where I started off with $2kUSD on a visa gold and ever so kindly asked the csr on the phone to increase my limit permanently as I plan to make that card my main card now. One branch visit and a week later, I swapped out to the AAdvantage gold Mastercard, got my limit pushed to 8500usd and still pay less than scotia’s aero cards or even their damn gold cards.
I still can’t figure out what exactly they did here but it seems like it’s time to get a new card instead of that platinum card
Phone Surgeon wrote:lol daz flabbergastery yes
a relative of mine use 75000 points for her and 2 others to go miami in august
they paid $1200 each in taxes only
we saw on the printout from the travel agency that the cost of the flight was $6300 to Aero per person
now with these new rules
that same flight they would have to pay $2345 excess PLUS whatever the processing fees are
if u dont want to go over the cap you hadda book early or book off peak
i hate when these credit cards change their terms and conditions......
No fee and cash back credit cards become a scam when you can't pay your bill when the bill is due.zoom rader wrote:Credit cards are a scam
zoom rader wrote:Credit cards are a scam
Dave wrote:what is there not to like?
Dave wrote:Once you make it work for you in our present situation, it can be rewarding.
You just need the right hook up.
I haven't paid for an international flight in over 6 years!
Every QTR money back...what is there not to like?zoom rader wrote:Credit cards are a scam
st7 wrote:what allyuh men does do when allyuh travel? tote US cash everywhere?
Nice, u waited 6yrs for flight.Dave wrote:Once you make it work for you in our present situation, it can be rewarding.
Every QTR money back...what is there not to like?zoom rader wrote:Credit cards are a scam
zoom rader wrote:Nice, u waited 6yrs for flight.Dave wrote:Once you make it work for you in our present situation, it can be rewarding.
Good investment, carry on