***2023 local elections thread****

Who will win the upcoming local elections????

PNM
32%
UNC
34%
NTA
2%
PEP
7%
TIED VOTE
7%
DON'T VOTE
17%

Total votes: 41

Re: ***2023 local elections thread****

Postby maj. tom » August 19th, 2023, 4:07 pm

I thought they supposed to flip a coin or draw straws.

Postby paid_influencer » August 19th, 2023, 4:17 pm

heartland unc area and the pnm get a tie?

Postby zoom rader » August 19th, 2023, 4:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:heartland unc area and the pnm get a tie?
No bro,

It's just lazy UNC people. They complacent thinking it's a safe UNC area.

Postby MaxPower » August 19th, 2023, 4:22 pm

aaron17 wrote:Hey Zoom , what is your signature catchphrase again?

I believe one was a stupid country filled with stupid people.

Postby 16 cycles » August 21st, 2023, 11:07 am

“There is, however, one contentious ballot with a vote cast in favour of the UNC candidate that was deemed to be a rejected ballot on the ground that it did not contain the initials of the Deputy Presiding Officer. The controversial rejection of this ballot has led to the equality of votes. If it is counted as a valid vote, the UNC’s candidate will have to be declared as the duly elected representative for this district,” Kanhai wrote in the letter to the EBC.

Kanhai added, “The UNC’s representatives who were present at both recounts submitted that there was no lawful justification for invalidating the said ballot because the intention of the voter was clear and the inadvertent omission and/or negligence of the DPO in failing to initial same was not a lawful basis for invalidating it. At best, this was but a mere administrative irregularity on the part of the EBC’s official that could not disenfranchise the voter who exercised his right to vote in favour of the candidate of his/her choice.”

Kanhai said there’s nothing in law which states that an uninitialed ballot is a basis for disqualification.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/disqual ... c8504a98d4

some context

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2023, 11:44 am

aaron17 wrote:Hey Zoom , what is your signature catchphrase again?

I believe one was a stupid country filled with stupid people.
No , it was monkeys want to run our country and I got banned for it.

But I take it back cause Chimpanzees seems more intelligent right now.

Just look at Chimp Empire on Netflix and see intelligent they are compared to a barbaric Trinidad

death365

Postby death365 » August 21st, 2023, 12:04 pm

hear wha eh... i think the unc wrong this time around, i disagree with the stance. the Chief Election officer is within her powers to call it a draw and call fresh polls.

going to court is time consuming and will only stymie the results. take the polls, bring out your people and solve it asap.

(for those of you all know me - shut yuh damn mouth!!! online persona and real life differs)

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 22nd, 2023, 4:57 pm

How exactly Is Kamla planning to win the next General elections.
She currently has 19 seats while PNM has 22 (Including Tobago).
Which east west corridor seats can she swing in her favor.. :drinking:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2023, 10:04 pm

AlphaMan wrote:How exactly Is Kamla planning to win the next General elections.

None

Postby The_Honourable » August 22nd, 2023, 10:59 pm

Simple, hope 2 seats in Tobago goes to Farley to reduce PNM to 20. Swing either San Fernando or Toco-Sangre Grande or both from the PNM to have the majority. If PNM keeps both Sando & Grande but looses Tobago, Farley is Kamla's lifeline.

Now you understand why Farley is being undermined in Tobago.

Postby Country_Bookie » August 23rd, 2023, 12:19 am

This election results will wake up PNM supporters for GE in 2025. They won't take it for granted and will be out in their numbers. UNC will keep putting up the dead horse that loses every election. If anything, PNM might win more than 22 seats in GE.

death365

Postby death365 » August 23rd, 2023, 7:56 am

St Joseph can go UNC, d JA we have there right now aint do nuthin for the area in 9 years.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 23rd, 2023, 9:25 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Simple, hope 2 seats in Tobago goes to Farley to reduce PNM to 20. Swing either San Fernando or Toco-Sangre Grande or both from the PNM to have the majority. If PNM keeps both Sando & Grande but looses Tobago, Farley is Kamla's lifeline.

Now you understand why Farley is being undermined in Tobago.

Farley and team has lost a good bit of the goodwill they had in Tobago. They will be lucky to be competitive in a GE

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 23rd, 2023, 9:51 am

2025 is already a PNM victory.
You have to understand and acknowledge the greatness of the machinery that is the PNM.

BTW, I'm anti-everyone if that's not clear, so miss me with the supporter label.

They hadda do something monumentally dotish to lose it. Forget the daily doses of dotish, those are minor blips in the bigger picture.

IF KPB and the PP had actually axed the tax when they promised, maybe they would've had a shot at toppling the red machine. Major policy shift promises are empty, and the yuppie voter base knows this. She already lost a lot of diehard support with the baby boomer generation. (~55-70 age) and many of them just refused to vote this last LGE. At least based on my observations in two central areas, so I wanna see official stats from the EBC.

Both parties will be working extra hard to get people to the polls in 2025.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2023, 5:25 pm

Arima Northeast shift back to PNM by one vote after recount #2.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2023, 6:27 pm

Where do they find these extra votes?
20230824_182327.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 24th, 2023, 6:31 pm

What's the lost deposit threshold?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 24th, 2023, 6:47 pm

So if FixIT joins up with UNC they won?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2023, 7:42 pm

1/8th of the total vote cast
VexXx Dogg wrote:What's the lost deposit threshold?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 24th, 2023, 9:58 pm

If Kamla steps down or doesn't make it to 2025, who is the most likely person to take over the party and defeat the PNM?

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2023, 11:19 pm

AlphaMan wrote:If Kamla steps down or doesn't make it to 2025, who is the most likely person to take over the party and defeat the PNM?

Jearlean John and Roodal Moonilal are the only persons I am seeing so far to take over the party. Jearlean has the best chance to defeat the PNM but would she be accepted by the base since she is non-indo? More than likely yes since the base accepted Jack Warner at one point in time. Now... would Jearlean be accepted by the national executive of the UNC? well...

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2023, 8:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:If Kamla steps down or doesn't make it to 2025, who is the most likely person to take over the party and defeat the PNM?

Jearlean John and Roodal Moonilal are the only persons I am seeing so far to take over the party. Jearlean has the best chance to defeat the PNM but would she be accepted by the base since she is non-indo? More than likely yes since the base accepted Jack Warner at one point in time. Now... would Jearlean be accepted by the national executive of the UNC? well...
Indos on both sides of UNC and Red mis government will quicker accept a non African to lead them.

The same can't be said on the red mis government supporters

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2023, 9:18 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Well if those are the only viable options, UNC is screwed. Tell bas come and reclaim his throne yes. Even in his retirement, he's better than all of those options combined.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 25th, 2023, 9:40 am

So once someone "take over the party", they guaranteed to defeat the pnm?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2023, 10:42 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

So once someone "take over the party", they guaranteed to defeat the pnm?

Nope, but it may reduce the likelihood of supporters leaving the party or not voting.

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2023, 10:47 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Indos on both sides of UNC and Red mis government will quicker accept a non African to lead them.

Pretty much

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2023, 11:02 am

eliteauto wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Pretty much
That's does not means idiots like you that show racist tendencies. I knew you would fall for this. Ur bias is blatant as u show favour for the red mis government.

Africans in the red mis government will never accept an indo as PM

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2023, 11:32 am

eliteauto wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Pretty much
That's does not means idiots like you that show racist tendencies. I knew you would fall for this. Ur bias is blatant as u show favour for the red mis government.

Africans in the red mis government will never accept an indo as PM

K

Postby j.o.e » August 25th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Where Mickela ? I find she could build something from the ground up , I like her.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2023, 3:03 pm

j.o.e wrote:Where Mickela ? I find she could build something from the ground up , I like her.

She doh have enough wind in her sails to pick up that kinda movement. I feel she shoulda reactivate her party card and pull out a coup to kick KPB out. Ironically, I might add, since KPB did a similar coup for bas.