eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
So now i have four ethernet connected hardware connected to my router and all wifi devices switched to access point. Warning off and i have noticed an improvement already in video streaming.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
So now i have four ethernet connected hardware connected to my router and all wifi devices switched to access point. Warning off and i have noticed an improvement already in video streaming.
What router are you using?
eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
The one that comes with Digicel
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
My advice is to use the Digicel device as a modem and get a mesh WiFi, especially if you have devices all over your house that connect to WiFi
eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
My advice is to use the Digicel device as a modem and get a mesh WiFi, especially if you have devices all over your house that connect to WiFi
Will evaluate how this setup performs and take it from there. The only issues i have experienced were lagging in fb videos , a lil lag in gaming. Cameras taking long too load view. I haven’t had issues with smart devices falling off network.
Have had those issues since i installed the smart switches and plugs. But so far i am seeing an improvement.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:eitech wrote:I got a tp link wap and set it up in access point mode. I started migrating wifi devices one by one to it but when when i moved up to 10 of them, my router still says too many devices. I had to migrate most and then that warning came off.
Will evaluate how this setup performs and take it from there. The only issues i have experienced were lagging in fb videos , a lil lag in gaming. Cameras taking long too load view. I haven’t had issues with smart devices falling off network.
Have had those issues since i installed the smart switches and plugs. But so far i am seeing an improvement.
The wireless access points will definitely help but a mesh is stronger with more features.
cloud based internet cameras take long to load - that's just a thing
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ it's just spread out around the house, upstairs and downstairs
that way no single router is handling all the devices and the signal coverage is spread out.
I've found that 5Ghz don't work well in T&T houses cause we use a lot of concrete and steel in our construction and 2.4Ghz works better through floors and walls.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:thelem-again wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What I want to set up is a water tank level monitor.
The setup is a water level transducer
https://www.amazon.com/Generic-Transmit ... 09B399GZQ/
Wired to a Shelly UNI
https://www.amazon.com/Shelly-190372-UN ... B08X4YSVSR
This guys shows the setup
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N90C9Xge8Z4
Same but I’ve been considering Mopeka Non-Pressured Sensors. https://www.mopekaiot.com/products#Non- ... nk_Section
I Would have to add the Wi-Fi bridge and integrate it into HomeKit.
I’ll check this out thanks!
I saw this Mopeka brand on Amazon but it was for propane and LPG tanks.
https://amzn.to/3QGfAlz
Oh I now see they have this water tank sensor but looks like you have to mount it on the base and it’s not for very big tanks
https://amzn.to/3YxG4qZ
Are you running HomeBridge?
st7 wrote:lol nah man, i dont have that much devices. i keep most of the smart stuff on the 2.4ghz and use the 5ghz for my computer, ps4, firestick.
in total, i have 6 echo devices, 4 active smart bulbs, 1 smart led strip, 2 smart switches, and 2 smart plugs.
i can only imagine how many you've got! lol
thelem-again wrote:st7 wrote:lol nah man, i dont have that much devices. i keep most of the smart stuff on the 2.4ghz and use the 5ghz for my computer, ps4, firestick.
in total, i have 6 echo devices, 4 active smart bulbs, 1 smart led strip, 2 smart switches, and 2 smart plugs.
Honestly…it starts off like that. Then you end up saying “one more device” and it ends up being another and another.
But I feel you with the no hub idea. One reason why I don’t like the Lutron. You need the hun for all the switches to work. If the hun has no internet, no app control for the switches.
Right now I’m on Kasa/tp link and I have no issues. But I only have a handful of switches.
I’d suggest creating a vlan for all IoT devices.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:scotty_buttons wrote:That’s what’s been happening overnight.
I removed the G3 hub from the home app and it works fine on their Aqara app hence why you’re not seeing it here.
4215436bcbb4e5a8bd36507dce980d86.jpg
Since you have so many Aqara devices and already using a mesh wifi system, I'd try the Aqara M2 hub since it's stand alone
https://amzn.to/45sPV3G
before looking at changing all those Aqara switches and devices
scotty_buttons wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:scotty_buttons wrote:That’s what’s been happening overnight.
I removed the G3 hub from the home app and it works fine on their Aqara app hence why you’re not seeing it here.
4215436bcbb4e5a8bd36507dce980d86.jpg
Since you have so many Aqara devices and already using a mesh wifi system, I'd try the Aqara M2 hub since it's stand alone
https://amzn.to/45sPV3G
before looking at changing all those Aqara switches and devices
Aren’t cameras technically hubs as well?
All my Aqara devices connect to the G3 camera. And I think that’s the only thing that connects directly to my WiFi.
Will still try it though. Cheaper than a whole new mesh system.
Trying to decide which mesh to go with.
thelem-again wrote:st7 wrote:lol nah man, i dont have that much devices. i keep most of the smart stuff on the 2.4ghz and use the 5ghz for my computer, ps4, firestick.
Honestly…it starts off like that. Then you end up saying “one more device” and it ends up being another and another.
But I feel you with the no hub idea. One reason why I don’t like the Lutron. You need the hun for all the switches to work. If the hun has no internet, no app control for the switches.
Right now I’m on Kasa/tp link and I have no issues. But I only have a handful of switches.
GLANIMAL wrote:thelem-again wrote:st7 wrote:lol nah man, i dont have that much devices. i keep most of the smart stuff on the 2.4ghz and use the 5ghz for my computer, ps4, firestick.
UM...with lutron...if internet is down...and if your home on the local network (ie same wifi signal but no internet) ...you can still control the light from your phone via the app (local control)..kasa/tp are cloud base...so once internet goes down u have no local (being home) access either to yours kasa/tp switches...plus if it is 50 lutron switches with one hub...only the hub is the devices registered in the router no 50 lutron switches...kasa/tp will register every single device you have on the router ..
Lutron switches/hubs stands.the test of time and their hubs are the most stable and in the market...hence the higher pricing...also they can be integrated to control4 etc ..
Chimera wrote:Lol them start back business? Whole of covid and after you couldn't make contact with them. Had a padna pay them for some smart door locks and they disappeared on him
redmanjp wrote:Chimera wrote:Lol them start back business? Whole of covid and after you couldn't make contact with them. Had a padna pay them for some smart door locks and they disappeared on him
i wonder if it's cloud/server dependent - what if internet goes down but the local wifi network still up can it still work? more so can it work if as u say they (along with the servers) disappear permanently ?
gastly369 wrote:*walk to tank knock... Knows level
Ah mean for what $12-1500? To know my tank level
Im all for smart devices into tech and have lots of smart control stuff home from lights to doors, gate climate control outlets etc but i eh see the use for tank level at the cost tbh..
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Can anyone recommend a good controller to remotely control your non smart a/c units? I have some older Peakes a/c units that I would like to be able to control remotely like the newer Lennox unit that I have.
Thanks.
j.o.e wrote:gastly369 wrote:*walk to tank knock... Knows level
Ah mean for what $12-1500? To know my tank level
Im all for smart devices into tech and have lots of smart control stuff home from lights to doors, gate climate control outlets etc but i eh see the use for tank level at the cost tbh..
Exactly. Especially when there’s not one mc you can do to make the tank fill lol
st7 wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Can anyone recommend a good controller to remotely control your non smart a/c units? I have some older Peakes a/c units that I would like to be able to control remotely like the newer Lennox unit that I have.
Thanks.
same here. i assume it would be an IR Blaster.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:st7 wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Can anyone recommend a good controller to remotely control your non smart a/c units? I have some older Peakes a/c units that I would like to be able to control remotely like the newer Lennox unit that I have.
Thanks.
same here. i assume it would be an IR Blaster.
Yes correct.
The one I use for the non-smart unit I have is a Sensibo.
https://amzn.to/3M3CMH1
There are more expensive models that work directly with Apple HomeKit like the Sensibo Air and others that have air quality monitors.
You can technically get a cheap smart IR blaster and program it with your AC remote,
Like this one from MOES https://amzn.to/3S0NDoV
but most don't have temp sensors and the Sensibo has other features like scheduling.
A cheaper option with a temp sensor on the power cable is the Broadlink RM4mini
https://amzn.to/3QhY3iP
But the Sensibo app has a lot more features.