Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2023

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 5:17 pm

st7 wrote:lol nah dred.... quest 3 for it XD

After all that hardware and capability they just showed I don't think Quest 3 is even comparable to the Apple device

lol well all of those specs is impressive, and the presentation itself is impressive, but that price is ridiculous. the major thing VP has over the Quest is the higher resolution which will prolly look impressive but at the same time with 1800×1920 on the quest 3, people won't miss 4k that much when they get used to it.

what i love about the VP is you dont need controllers, although i wonder how gaming would be on that -- they didnt really demonstrate gaming -- it was more productivity and entertainment (as in movies).

the VP win in my books eh but....

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 5th, 2023, 6:03 pm

Waiting for the reports that this overheats on people's faces....

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2023, 6:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Apple Vision Pro ad

I watched the Keynote and had mentally ejaculated in my head multiple times

the whole keynote is just ways of saying this built for pr0n. screen as big as you want. webcam "chats". use it any position lying down even. screen obscured when you "fully immersed". they study opening pictures and videos in the demos. everybody know what they doing

$3,495 ent bad imo. that is a lot of money but the purpose money is to be spent. you cyar talk to money or watch money when the place boring

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2023, 7:01 pm

I lost it when the Disney CEO casually walks on stage. Jesus

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 7:18 pm

DMan7 wrote:Waiting for the reports that this overheats on people's faces....

i hope not... if it succeeds, everyone else should be pushing the bar with this to get better n better products to market.

you think this is Hooli? :lol: :lol: :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 5th, 2023, 8:00 pm

I'll wait for the VR contacts instead, who wants that giant face hugger to be walking around with? :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 11:19 pm

First impressions are impressive so far

he wears glasses and seems to be impressed - assuming he's nearsighted? because you can't wear the Vision Pro with glasses on.

Postby maj. tom » June 6th, 2023, 8:20 am

This tech is amazing eh? Like that Tony Stark display in Avengers Ultron. We finally reached here because everything is just right in the industry.

Can't wait to see what Samsung and the other R&D big boys come up with. But I suspect it may be a bit difficult to get around the strict Apple patents on this product for a while. Plus the Apple environment is what pulls all this hardware together. So it'll be interesting on how their design will look.

Hoping this is a success rather than one of those no-name failures that appears on Techmoan in 25 years, and drives more innovation.

Postby st7 » June 6th, 2023, 9:37 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 6th, 2023, 10:06 am

^ was just coming to post that video.

Hoping there's a SE or Vision Air that's more affordable.
I can definitely see the usefulness of VisionOS especially in the Apple ecosystem where it augments your Mac for better workflow.

It's tough to pay that price for it but there's nothing to compare it to. Quest 3 doesn't have half the features.

Postby paid_influencer » June 13th, 2023, 8:22 pm

got a new macbook pro and it is giving my room a 'new car smell'

i chit you not. it smells awesome

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 13th, 2023, 8:28 pm

What about the Vision Pro, anyone pre-ordering it?

Postby maj. tom » July 1st, 2023, 8:51 am

Apple is now the first public company to be valued at $3 trillion

Apple is now the first publicly traded company to close a trading day with a $3 trillion market value, marking another milestone for a technology juggernaut that has reshaped society with a line-up of products that churn out eye-popping profits
https://abcnews.go.com/Business/wireStory/apple-close-becoming-public-company-valued-3-trillion-100548246

Apple shares closed up 2.3% at $193.97 Friday, bringing its market value to $3.04 trillion. Apple is one of a handful of technology companies, including Microsoft and chipmaker Nvidia, that helped drive the S&P 500 to a gain of nearly 16% in the first half of the year.

Today, Apple makes so much money that it can afford to pay $105 billion annually in investor dividends and repurchases of its own stock — and still be left with nearly $56 billion in cash at the end of its last fiscal quarter.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 10:16 am

Can anyone confirm if the personal hotspot feature works on iPhones if you're with bmobile?

Thinking about porting my number and switching because Digicel plans have gotten too expensive and I see bmobile has a shared plan that's reasonable

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2023, 11:11 am

it’s irrelevant of whom the iphones service is

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 11:14 am

I remember when bmobile was no longer identified as an official carrier on Apple's website, the hotspot feature had stopped working. That was the reason I had switched to Digicel some years ago...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 6th, 2023, 11:15 am

Swisha wrote:Can anyone confirm if the personal hotspot feature works on iPhones if you're with bmobile?

Thinking about porting my number and switching because Digicel plans have gotten too expensive and I see bmobile has a shared plan that's reasonable

Always worked in my experience with it.

Swisha

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2023

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 11:17 am

Ok thanks.

Another question, does bmobile limit the amount of data you can use with the hotspot? Digicel has started limiting it to 5GB, so that's another reason I'm thinking of switching...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 6th, 2023, 11:26 am

Don’t use it too often but never had any issues as far as limit.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 11:32 am

Thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2023, 3:23 pm

Personal Hotspot works great on iPhone with both carriers.
There is no limit for data with Bmobile when sharing a personal hotspot and it can share to multiple devices at once.
I use it with my iPad and Mac all the time and in the car to share to kids devices.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 3:28 pm

Thanks, that's what I need it for as well so just wanted to confirm it works with bmobile

0x868

Postby 0x868 » August 6th, 2023, 5:27 pm

Swisha wrote:Thanks, that's what I need it for as well so just wanted to confirm it works with bmobile

I ported for the same reason. The trick to ensure that hotspot is enabled is make sure the APN for personal hotspot is inputted.

I have 3 devices shared postpaid with esim. Only issue is iMessage gives issues to activate for the number but they are aware of the issue. Sending International SMS isn’t as reliable. I however have better signal home with bmobile than Digicel. It’s also a lot cheaper.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2023, 8:49 pm

0x868 wrote:
Swisha wrote:Thanks, that's what I need it for as well so just wanted to confirm it works with bmobile

I ported for the same reason. The trick to ensure that hotspot is enabled is make sure the APN for personal hotspot is inputted.

I have 3 devices shared postpaid with esim. Only issue is iMessage gives issues to activate for the number but they are aware of the issue. Sending International SMS isn’t as reliable. I however have better signal home with bmobile than Digicel. It’s also a lot cheaper.

I agree, it's cheaper. With the new Digicel prepaid plans, I'm paying $300 per month for a plan that is beyond my needs because the next cheaper plan is not enough.

With bmobile, there's the shared plan that will be enough for my wife and I and we'll be paying $170 each.

I also wouldn't need to worry about hotspot data being limited...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2023, 12:16 pm

Swisha wrote:
0x868 wrote:

I agree, it's cheaper. With the new Digicel prepaid plans, I'm paying $300 per month for a plan that is beyond my needs because the next cheaper plan is not enough.

With bmobile, there's the shared plan that will be enough for my wife and I and we'll be paying $170 each.

Details on this plan please

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 7th, 2023, 12:48 pm

Swisha wrote:
0x868 wrote:

Details on this plan please

The bmobile shared plan?

https://bmobile.co.tt/faq/what-is-the-p ... ared-plan/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2023, 2:09 pm

Oh it's Prepaid

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 7th, 2023, 2:13 pm