WTK: Opel Astra

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 24th, 2023, 9:35 pm

I am seeing an independent car dealer offering new 2021 model year Opel Astras at a reasonable price for what the car is equipped with.

I have a few questions that I am sure the very knowledgeable among you can answer for me.

1) Where is the dealer sourcing a right hand drive Opel? I thought right hand drive GM vehicles would either be branded as Chevrolet or Vauxhall.

2) The car is equipped with a 1.4L turbo 4 cylinder. Is this car based on the locally sold Chevrolet Cruze? Would mechanical/electrical parts from the Cruze work with the Astra?

3) How easy would it be to source parts for this car outside of the local dealer?

4) The warranty is 3 years / 30,000km whichever comes first, which I find is a crap warranty. How reliable is this brand of car? Is the Opel brand actually built in Germany?

5) What warranty is offered by other independent car dealers who sell new cars? Do they match the warranties from Southern Sales (3 years / 100,000km), Massy Motors (4 years / 100,000km) or Lifestyle Motors (5 years / 100,000km)? Or is that low mileage warranty (30,000km) typical with these smaller local car dealers who offer new cars?

Thanks.

Kindest Regards,

RP

Re: WTK: Opel Astra

Postby Dave » July 24th, 2023, 10:12 pm

Did I see them outside RexKar?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 24th, 2023, 11:48 pm

Dave wrote:Did I see them outside RexKar?

Bess Motors Limited in Montrose Chaguanas is where I saw them.

Rex Kar Limited has some new company called King Motors that deals in the JAC brand.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 25th, 2023, 8:49 pm

Anyone?

Postby SMc » July 31st, 2023, 9:29 am

When I was in Ireland earlier this year I noticed that the the brand there was Opel rather than Vauxhall brand you see in the rest of the UK- I also think it is branded Opel for Australia & NZ markets.

I think these are made in the plant in Germany which i get confused by as the some of the LHD Astras are made in the UK.

Regarding warranty- no clue as I guess this is being offered directly by the independent dealer rather than by a franchise or directly with the manufacturer.

Swapability of parts- may be best to check the dealer to see what motor is currently being used and compare that to the Cruz.

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2023, 8:40 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I am seeing an independent car dealer offering new 2021 model year Opel Astras at a reasonable price for what the car is equipped with.

I have a few questions that I am sure the very knowledgeable among you can answer for me.

1) Where is the dealer sourcing a right hand drive Opel? I thought right hand drive GM vehicles would either be branded as Chevrolet or Vauxhall.

2) The car is equipped with a 1.4L turbo 4 cylinder. Is this car based on the locally sold Chevrolet Cruze? Would mechanical/electrical parts from the Cruze work with the Astra?

3) How easy would it be to source parts for this car outside of the local dealer?

4) The warranty is 3 years / 30,000km whichever comes first, which I find is a crap warranty. How reliable is this brand of car? Is the Opel brand actually built in Germany?

5) What warranty is offered by other independent car dealers who sell new cars? Do they match the warranties from Southern Sales (3 years / 100,000km), Massy Motors (4 years / 100,000km) or Lifestyle Motors (5 years / 100,000km)? Or is that low mileage warranty (30,000km) typical with these smaller local car dealers who offer new cars?

Thanks.

Kindest Regards,

RP

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I swear some ah allyuh does wake up juan morning and decide this rock too uncomfortable to live under