Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2023, 2:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:Well everyone still buying, so I don't know if it's unaffordable.

But the prices are definitely inflated. Doubles is still $5 in a few places still, and I see some places still selling normal chicken roti for $15-$20. A beef burger and fries combo is $50. And they are still surviving and still in business.

Trini consumers can just not buy if the price get too high.... but nah not really.

^^^where is that selling chicken roti so cheap ?, maybe they jes put 2 pieces to keep d price down for d average man

frozen goat is around $30\lb in d grocery so i dunno if d roti ppl buying fresh goat that costing them more than d 30 ... :|

Postby maj. tom » July 20th, 2023, 3:04 pm

Is right by CSF in Cunupia. I went at the hardware right next to it and saw the sign. I will have to try it a day and tell you, but $15 for a small roti for lunch is more than enough energy for a meal.

Postby paid_influencer » July 20th, 2023, 5:39 pm

is just a lil taste of the gravy people does want. not everybody could afford the meat

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2023, 5:48 pm

if that is the sisters hut painted red and yellow they cook with ridiculous pepper

treeneeboi

Postby treeneeboi » July 20th, 2023, 6:34 pm

pugboy wrote:if that is the sisters hut painted red and yellow they cook with ridiculous pepper
Say less.

Postby maj. tom » July 20th, 2023, 6:55 pm

Nah is not Sisters. This place was blue and yellow. I go check it out Saturday.

Sisters is a lil up more down the road going toward Montrose side. Had from Sisters a few times and I love their curry chicken. Very flavourful, spicy, they use the dark Chatak curry and their peppersauce rel good. Big roti that could eat twice. I good till the next day whenever I get one.

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2023, 7:50 pm

when u go on social media to complain about somebody food but everybody frig u up instead ... :lol:

Hi everyone, could u all explain and tell me how u could charge someone 12 dollars for 3 piece of little meat.

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=289 ... 3684581544

Postby rollingstock » July 20th, 2023, 11:21 pm

maj. tom wrote:Nah is not Sisters. This place was blue and yellow. I go check it out Saturday.

Sisters is a lil up more down the road going toward Montrose side. Had from Sisters a few times and I love their curry chicken. Very flavourful, spicy, they use the dark Chatak curry and their peppersauce rel good. Big roti that could eat twice. I good till the next day whenever I get one.

Jackie's better than sisters. There I said it.

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2023, 6:20 am

jackies is the blue/yellow ?
i hope they using less pepper than sisters

Postby rollingstock » July 21st, 2023, 12:00 pm

Jackie's is across the street, big red sign

Postby Rovin » August 10th, 2023, 7:30 pm

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2023, 7:49 pm

that around a very long time, i first went there in 90s
it’s average

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2024, 9:39 am

nervewrecker wrote:He eh know dirtier the canal and stinker the roti shop better the food? KFC having a hard time finding rat and cockroach for the oil these days it seems so it not tasting the way it used to.

I moved your quote because I didn't want to let that other thread take a tangent for nothing.

Places like these, well not exactly the cockroaches, but the perceived "dirty/poor establishment" are known as "hole in the wall" and everywhere has them all over the world. I particularly go looking for them within big cities and find that they have the best tasting food and best prices. It's a big thing in France and Italy, in those small villages all over the place.

It have a small hidden Chinese place in Chaguanas near Pariagh Hardware dunno how long they there, but definitely Trini-Chinese with our full accent and everything. Classic Hole in the Wall place. It's some of the best local Chinese food I ever eat. I ask the chef to wok-hai the fried rice and he instantly knew what I wanted. He blaze up the jet stove I swear the place was gonna burn down but the rice was that perfect roasted smoky flavour.

Postby Rovin » February 28th, 2024, 11:11 am

^^^ that place there for rel yrs, tried them yrsss gone by, it not bad but not really impressive, maybe its under new ownership & they got new chefs ? ... i dont eat chinese food often [cause so many of them giving u tyson meat] but if i remember i will give them a new try

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 11:32 am

Which grocery has the best rotisserie allyuh find? I only had from Massy and Tru Valu. Massy better IMO- I like the finish in the skin. Any reviews from elsewhere?

Postby gastly369 » February 28th, 2024, 12:24 pm

Lil fyzo gyro with ah extra lamb link up no extra cost bai nerve...place near bhola hardware side
IMG_20240227_190200.jpg

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2024, 12:27 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^ that place there for rel yrs, tried them yrsss gone by, it not bad but not really impressive, maybe its under new ownership & they got new chefs ? ... i dont eat chinese food often [cause so many of them giving u tyson meat] but if i remember i will give them a new try

Have to ask the chef to fry over the rice or noodles to give it the smoky flavour.

Postby MaxPower » February 28th, 2024, 12:30 pm

dogg wrote:Which grocery has the best rotisserie allyuh find? I only had from Massy and Tru Valu. Massy better IMO- I like the finish in the skin. Any reviews from elsewhere?

O skont boddy,

Both okish but I lean more towards Massy, lil salty on some days though.

Postby Dave » February 28th, 2024, 12:35 pm

Xtra foods years ago used to have a kick to it. Was real good back then.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 12:38 pm

gastly369 wrote:Lil fyzo gyro with ah extra lamb link up no extra cost bai nerve...place near bhola hardware sideIMG_20240227_190200.jpg

If artery clogger was a food...

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2024, 12:57 pm

dogg wrote:Which grocery has the best rotisserie allyuh find? I only had from Massy and Tru Valu. Massy better IMO- I like the finish in the skin. Any reviews from elsewhere?

O skont boddy,

tru valu

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Dave wrote:Xtra foods years ago used to have a kick to it. Was real good back then.

I see Xtrafoods in Aranguez have whole rotisserie for $35-45. I wanted to try but was hesitant. Will try next time.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 1:09 pm

O skont boddy,

Musbe the salt does make it taste good. I like the crinkly dried out skin in Massy's

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2024, 1:14 pm

dogg wrote:

O skont boddy,

Musbe the salt does make it taste good. I like the crinkly dried out skin in Massy's

yuh talking about the chicken still or one of the cashier

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 1:19 pm

massy have 2/$100 special today
i now buy but i find they doesn’t clean the inside of the chicken good
got some pieces of innards inside
mind you i know a lot of ppl eat that

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 1:26 pm

X-tra foods one in Aranguez is the worst tasting rotisserie I've ever eaten. Haven't tried the others, might try massy given the price. So far the best rotisserie is home made for me.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 28th, 2024, 1:29 pm

DMan7 wrote:X-tra foods one in Aranguez is the worst tasting rotisserie I've ever eaten. Haven't tried the others, might try massy given the price. So far the best rotisserie is home made for me.

Nice! now I know not to try it.
Anyways, homemade anything is the best, but life gets in the way sometimes eh.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 1:30 pm

them charging by weight too

large part of it has to do with when you eat or it gets sappy and lose the crisp wrinkled skin texture men looking for

DMan7 wrote:X-tra foods one in Aranguez is the worst tasting rotisserie I've ever eaten. Haven't tried the others, might try massy given the price. So far the best rotisserie is home made for me.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2024, 2:07 pm

anyone ever went Food Square on the Avenue? (Corner Rosalino street & Ariapita Avenue)

its basically an open air food court- it has a burger/sandwich shop, a doubles shop, pizza, and others

so far i tried the doubles as well as the burger

this vid was a few months ago when they launch

Postby Dizzy28 » February 28th, 2024, 3:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:anyone ever went Food Square on the Avenue? (Corner Rosalino street & Ariapita Avenue)

its basically an open air food court- it has a burger/sandwich shop, a doubles shop, pizza, and others

so far i tried the doubles as well as the burger

this vid was a few months ago when they launch

Went there last week for the first time.
Had doubles from Darrens, Pizza from Casali's, gyro from the Arabian place and pork from Piggiliiks (not full portions of anything obviously, shared stuff with my wife)
Darren's is not a new thing for me as my inlaws always buy from him when we lime by them and end up staying over for the night.

The gyro was kinna meh even though it had non traditional fillings such as sauteed onions. The pizza from Casali's was ok (I wanted a cheese but thier pizza by the slice were only meat options) and the chadon beni pork from Piggi Liiks was the greasiest pork I have seen in a long time.