Driving in the USA

Re: Driving in the USA

Postby Dizzy28 » July 18th, 2019, 9:39 am

pete wrote:Use the Hertz rate 2 on their website. That includes LDW and SLI which is all you need. Also check out the adrenaline series, sometimes ya could get a hemi Challenger for slightly more than a Corolla.

Hertz looking like the most likely option and the Hertz 2 rate as well. I can most easily drop back their vehicle to one of their locations not far from where I am going to Winter Haven on the Friday.

Thanks for all the comments.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 19th, 2019, 9:56 am

When I need a car in the US, I use Turo... it's like airbnb for cars. Always a great selection of vehicles, easy to use, some may have limitations on minimum number of days, mileage, returns, etc but you can always find a vehicle to meet your needs

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 20th, 2019, 7:54 am

Next time get a tesla model 3 and report back to base
ek4ever wrote:When I need a car in the US, I use Turo... it's like airbnb for cars. Always a great selection of vehicles, easy to use, some may have limitations on minimum number of days, mileage, returns, etc but you can always find a vehicle to meet your needs

Postby Kenjo » July 20th, 2019, 11:18 am

Nexus wrote:^ Read the fine print of the credit card insurance coverage carefully. Atleast with MasterCard, it will cover the cost of the rental vehicle but not that of the cost to fix another vehicle or property

Oh this is interesting , will check to see if it’s the same for visa aero but pAying with credit card is supposed to be decent enough coverage

Postby pete » July 20th, 2019, 4:12 pm

I've arrived in Miami and been told that they will not rent me the car without purchasing insurance. That is with Expedia insurance and telling them my card has insurance. The Hertz way works out cheaper than buying at the counter and I prefer not have to worry if anything happens to the car.

Only thing is the couple times I did that it seems to be older vehicles they use. No big deal for me.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 13th, 2019, 11:30 am

^ Booked the Ford Focus hatch but got a Corolla. Was doing 1000 miles so essentially brand new. Rate 2 was really easy to book and even the car seat seemed new.

Rented a car with car seat in Tobago once and that thing looked like it saw WW2.

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 11th, 2023, 5:05 pm

Has anyone rented from Hertz in any part of Florida since the pandemic? Not seeing any positive reviews online within recent years.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 11th, 2023, 6:01 pm

Been ages since we rented from hertz tbh, unless I get coupons... I end up just going to Alamo or national now, cheapest rental company + credit card insurance perk hasn’t failed me yet

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2023, 6:08 pm

msg1 wrote:Has anyone rented from Hertz in any part of Florida since the pandemic? Not seeing any positive reviews online within recent years.

Rented from Alamo many times pre and post Covid.

No issues.

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 11th, 2023, 6:16 pm

Yeah I usually rent with the others. Just considering Hertz this time as they have a good deal.

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2023, 7:28 pm

msg1 wrote:Yeah I usually rent with the others. Just considering Hertz this time as they have a good deal.

Yeh man do yuh ting.

Just read through the terms and conditions a second time when they have these best deals. Always a ketch.

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2023, 7:37 pm

Consider this if you going hertz

They have a agent down here in pos.

You can go there and pay TT to rent the vehicle.
They also have a deal for Trinidadians/caribbean ppl where they give you a voucher that the deposit/ hold on your card would only by 50 usd rather than the 300 or 400 they usually put on hold.

The reason I suggest this is that it will conserve the us currency you have on your card available to.you to use for.other things like shopping etc.

Check it out

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2023, 7:49 pm

Hertz really have plenty Trinis renting hence why i stay away. It’s embarrassing to know when a Hertz employee told me its always some issue, something smart shot for things missing/damaged and the hygienic state of the rental returns.

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2023, 8:03 pm

Hertz cud hull dey muddac**t.

It's their staff that tries to rob people who they think don't know what's going on

A while ago I had paid for my rental in trinidad completely and was given documents so when I go up there I don't have to pay a extra cent. Just present documents and collect car.

When I gone by the counter they announce "well sir you just need to make the $200 usd payment and you will be on your way"

I ask them 200 usd for what. They say on their system when they scan the voucher it says there's a $200 balance.

I tell them bring a manager I not paying that.

He say hold on let me check back. Okay I refreshed the screen and it was a computer error you're good to go.

The staff in hertz and other rental companies try to upsell as well as outright rob people who they think they can.

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2023, 8:09 pm

commission is the name of the game

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 11th, 2023, 8:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Consider this if you going hertz

They have a agent down here in pos.

You can go there and pay TT to rent the vehicle.
They also have a deal for Trinidadians/caribbean ppl where they give you a voucher that the deposit/ hold on your card would only by 50 usd rather than the 300 or 400 they usually put on hold.

The reason I suggest this is that it will conserve the us currency you have on your card available to.you to use for.other things like shopping etc.

Check it out

Interesting. Just seeing some bad reviews of Hertz in FLL, but they aren’t very recent. Was hoping someone had a recent review.

Postby Dave » July 11th, 2023, 9:40 pm

Enterprise user and they pick me up.
Constantly upgrading to even useless vehicles for the trip:s intended purpose.

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 12th, 2023, 12:26 am

Yeah, Iim familiar with those and Avis n Budget.

What about Sixt? Any experience with them? Seeing some good options.

bgh

Postby bgh » July 12th, 2023, 11:47 am

Sixt is a good option.
Rented a Rav 4 with them through Expedia and got a free upgrade to a pathfinder.
BTW it drinks gas like juice, 2.5 days in and it's almost half tank.

The 200 usd hold seems to be norm for years, so budget accordingly.

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 12th, 2023, 6:05 pm

bgh wrote:Sixt is a good option.
Rented a Rav 4 with them through Expedia and got a free upgrade to a pathfinder.
BTW it drinks gas like juice, 2.5 days in and it's almost half tank.

The 200 usd hold seems to be norm for years, so budget accordingly.

Good info man. Thanks a lot.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » July 12th, 2023, 7:29 pm

Rented with hertz from MIA this past carnival, all in all a fair experience, would prefer to deal with Alamo and skip the counter.
Prices were generally high for all rentals, someone mentioned using a local agent (Lazzari) and they gave me a better rate than I was getting at the time. I was however price watching like a Hawk, multiple times a day and ended up scoring a ‘deal’ for a full size SUV, better rate than even a full size car. So I went through with that.
When I got to Miami, the hertz desk was absolutely slammed, waited almost a full hour to reach the desk. They of course didn’t have any full size and said they would see what they could do for me, lol. Waited must be a next 15 mins and got offered a Pacifica which is a 7 seater carrier. I looked like I was a lil upset and reluctantly accepted but made sure to negotiate a lower rate and free tank of fuel. I came out well, the vehicle was very efficient and nice to drive but after that long wait after a flight when you tired and have family with you, much rather do business elsewhere.
Funny thing though, nearly everybody was going thru the same thing and a next Trini family that was in front of me start to rant and rave up the place. They tell them wait on the side and when I walking out Centre them still their waiting, I hit them one grin and buss

msg1

Postby msg1 » July 14th, 2023, 8:13 pm

Nexus wrote:Rented with hertz from MIA this past carnival, all in all a fair experience, would prefer to deal with Alamo and skip the counter.
Prices were generally high for all rentals, someone mentioned using a local agent (Lazzari) and they gave me a better rate than I was getting at the time. I was however price watching like a Hawk, multiple times a day and ended up scoring a ‘deal’ for a full size SUV, better rate than even a full size car. So I went through with that.
When I got to Miami, the hertz desk was absolutely slammed, waited almost a full hour to reach the desk. They of course didn’t have any full size and said they would see what they could do for me, lol. Waited must be a next 15 mins and got offered a Pacifica which is a 7 seater carrier. I looked like I was a lil upset and reluctantly accepted but made sure to negotiate a lower rate and free tank of fuel. I came out well, the vehicle was very efficient and nice to drive but after that long wait after a flight when you tired and have family with you, much rather do business elsewhere.
Funny thing though, nearly everybody was going thru the same thing and a next Trini family that was in front of me start to rant and rave up the place. They tell them wait on the side and when I walking out Centre them still their waiting, I hit them one grin and buss

And no hidden or extra charges with Hertz?

Postby MaxPower » July 14th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Absolutely love love the Alamo skip the counter

Postby adnj » July 14th, 2023, 8:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Absolutely love love the Alamo skip the counter
All of the larger car rental companies in the USA have direct pick-up and drop-off. Just join the membership loyalty program for the company that you prefer and get free perks as you rent more often.

assassin

Postby assassin » July 14th, 2023, 9:33 pm

I previously used Hertz but have not gone to the US since covid. I used Hertz MIA Airport in June. Reserved a full size sedan online to pay and collect.

My wife and I were coming to MIA from separate departure countries. I booked the car for 2pm and the cost was around 400 US, the daily rate was good

I got in around noon and there was a real long line at Hertz counter. I decided to pay one time so that when my wife came it would be just to leave. I told the agent, around 1230pm, that I want to pay and pick up around 2. She said there was high demand for these cars and couldn't guarantee I'd get it at 2 and that I should pick it up one time upon paying. I said I'd pay and take my chances as they must have a car available for me if I've payed.

When time to pay, she wanted to run my credit card without showing me the total. I insisted and the total was 800US. When I queried, they were billing me an extra day to pick up at 1pm instead of 2pm plus a set of insurances. I told her cancel. I'd take my chances when my wife came

When she came, I went back and line up. There were different agents. They guy asked about insurance. I told him I didn't want. He start to talk about damage to the car and I would have to pay out of pocket and was insisting. I told him I didn't want. Only what I am required to have legally.

Then he told me ok swipe the card. I asked the total. He said I will get a detailed invoice after. I told him I want the total up front and had to actually argue with him to see a total before paying. I told him I was extremely dissatisfied with the service and experience

They had a post rental survey and I left a detailed review. The base price shown is good. But it's not all inclusive and the counter agents are very unscrupulous
msg1 wrote:
Nexus wrote:Rented with hertz from MIA this past carnival, all in all a fair experience, would prefer to deal with Alamo and skip the counter.

And no hidden or extra charges with Hertz?

Nexus

Postby Nexus » July 15th, 2023, 6:21 am

^ Thats messed up.
No, I aint paying nothing extra, always watch the total before, they will try to slip all sorts of charges in....if they do, just be firm.
They work on commissions and prey upon tired travelers.

Postby adnj » July 15th, 2023, 7:14 am

Nexus wrote:^ Thats messed up.
No, I aint paying nothing extra, always watch the total before, they will try to slip all sorts of charges in....if they do, just be firm.
They work on commissions and prey upon tired travelers.

All cars rented in the US, Canada, and the EU are rented with liability insurance included. If you live in one of those areas, own a car with comprehensive insurance, and rent a car there, the rental company will use your existing automobile insurance to cover loss or damage to the vehicle (though there are a few exceptions). If you have a major credit card that includes car rental insurance, they will accept that. There are also medical and theft losses that are only covered by your own policy in those countries.

If you have neither, your credit card will be blocked for an amount that is expected to cover loss and damage. If loss or damage occurs, your card will be charged the amount of the damage.

The average emergency room visit is about US$3,000 in the US. Without traveler's medical insurance, you will be responsible for that, also.

13 GHOST

Postby 13 GHOST » November 12th, 2024, 12:01 pm

Just make sure you have your valid driver’s license (an international driving permit can be useful too, especially if your license isn’t in English).

CellTech

Postby CellTech » November 12th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Check that you have insurance that covers you in the U.S., since not all international policies do.

When I did a road trip through the U.S. last year, I rented a Range Rover 4x4 from https://realcar.miami/locations/mia, and it was perfect for the long drives. I got a great deal on it, and it was honestly a lifesaver for the mixed terrains—especially through places like the Blue Ridge Parkway and some off-the-beaten-path spots.
Last edited by CellTech on November 15th, 2024, 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » November 12th, 2024, 12:38 pm

Enterprise for car rentals.

Alamo is very good, excellent customer service, user friendly app, but very expensive