Xyzabcdef

Re: Social Media Robberies 2023

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2023, 12:43 pm

Look a man now call me to buy a iphone 14 pro max...$13000. He say he have cash and need it delivered to grand bazaar ....I say nah I closed today....check me Tuesday. He say he will come down to the store how he need it badly....I not going to go open up my store today for one high risk sale. Could easily get robbed before after or during the sale.

He might be genuine but I eh risking that.

Postby paid_influencer » June 18th, 2023, 12:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Look a man now call me to buy a iphone 14 pro max...$13000. He say he have cash and need it delivered to grand bazaar ....I say nah I closed today....check me Tuesday. He say he will come down to the store how he need it badly....I not going to go open up my store today for one high risk sale. Could easily get robbed before after or during the sale.

He might be genuine but I eh risking that.

fellas does want people open late all hours to buy. if the store and d employees get rob they goh say hard luck dais part of the business

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 18th, 2023, 12:53 pm

As long as politicians and their friends and financiers directly benefit from criminals they will continue to produce criminals and you the law abiding folks will continue to suffer.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2023, 1:00 pm

forget about the “modern” folks
it’s the regular old school folks who ketching tail and resorting to selling the mangoes off their backyard tree in front their house on a table
and at least they can do that to make some change

in them other gang based hoods they ain’t doing that, only study sell weed and rob ppl

paid_influencer wrote:is a competition scene too... the social media salesmen who go the extra mile will get the sale... dog eat dog out there

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2023, 11:55 pm

Usual thing
Screenshot_20230618-235435_Lite.jpg

Postby bluefete » June 18th, 2023, 11:59 pm

pugboy wrote:forget about the “modern” folks
it’s the regular old school folks who ketching tail and resorting to selling the mangoes off their backyard tree in front their house on a table
and at least they can do that to make some change

in them other gang based hoods they ain’t doing that, only study sell weed and rob ppl

paid_influencer wrote:is a competition scene too... the social media salesmen who go the extra mile will get the sale... dog eat dog out there

These are the people we need to "big up" in society.

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2023, 1:25 pm

Another one
Screenshot_20230619-132441_Lite.jpg

Postby Dave » June 19th, 2023, 1:52 pm

Going to meet at night time hours when the crowds has gone doesn't seem odd for some ppl?
Hey how about this...let's meet at the police station?

Postby paid_influencer » June 19th, 2023, 2:02 pm

Dave wrote:Going to meet at night time hours when the crowds has gone doesn't seem odd for some ppl?

u want the sale or not bro i not on games

Postby Dave » June 19th, 2023, 2:12 pm

Lol. That's exactly how the conversation goes and the "deal" should not be passed up.
paid_influencer wrote:
Dave wrote:Going to meet at night time hours when the crowds has gone doesn't seem odd for some ppl?

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2023, 3:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Cashhhhh morneyy

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2023, 5:19 pm

so what is the percentage of ppl being robbed?
it seems equally vendors and buyers getting robbed

Postby MaxPower » June 19th, 2023, 5:51 pm

Dunno about allyuh but if i meeting on the outside for transactions….it’s strictly online transfer.

I don’t want to hear no only cash excuses…to set up online banking on your mobile is too easy and worth doing for your own protection.

Start changing allyuh game if you that desperate for hard cash.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » June 19th, 2023, 8:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Another oneScreenshot_20230619-132441_Lite.jpg

Supposedly not the true story...

A man and a woman accused of being involved in the robbery of an iPhone on Father's Day have responded saying that's not what happen and is "fake news".

The phone in question is in the custody of the police according the the duo, who reached out to Uncutt News Media to provide us with a joint account of what actually transpired.

According to the Derron, he recently lost an iPhone 13 Pro Max which was reportedly sold to an individual identified as Jacob Aberdeen.

Aberdeen, he said, used two different fake profiles that carried the names Christopher Warren and Nicholai Padmore.

He also buys and sells phones via his Facebook page named Cellularworld.TT but after Aberdeen realised he was unable to unlock the phone, Derron said Aberdeen attempted to extort money from him in order to get back his phone.

This is when a "sting" was put in place in an attempt to lure Aberdeen out to get his cell phone but he sent someone else to sell his wife's friend another phone which was seized by the police.

After, Aberdeen concocted a "fake story" that claimed Derron and the woman robbed him of a cell phone. Derron said Aberdeen blocked him and his wife from all his social media accounts which was the reason why they used someone else so the police could confront and detain Aberdeen.

This is their version of events sent to Uncutt News Media earlier this morning:

"So Sunday, we were contacted by cellular world TT, stating that he has my phone because he bought it from 2 individuals at San Juan Police Station and then he tried extorting me by asking me to pay $1200 to get it back.

I then said let’s meet by the Police Station in st Joseph and he replied by saying give him 2 mins to think about it then blocked me from all social media platforms including his business page cellular world TT.

When I saw that, I contacted a relative who is a police officer and he and his colleagues tried reaching out to him. He hung up the phone while one of the officers were speaking with him and he resufed to accept further calls.

We conducted several searches for him but he could not be located. Monday passed then came Wednesday then I decided to try and reached out to him through a friend, to purchased a phone with the hope tha the police would catch him.

He called back on Sunday night but spoke with my wife saying that he was scared how police was calling and looking for him that’s why he deleted me and wasn’t answering calls.

He promised to return the phone and was supposed to meet my.wife at the St. Joseph Police Station but again, he didnt show up but proceeded to send videos and voice notes to her WhatsApp claiming he was gonna harm her spiritually with some sort of witch craft/ black magic because she “tried to set him up”.

When we got in contact with him again, he spoke with us through his page and WhatsApp and then said he won’t be coming but he'd send someone else with the phone.

Since then he’s been docking calls and changing names on his profile until he resurfaced on his business page which is when I tried to have another individual meet him again, this time at Price Plaza in Chaguanas.

I contacted a police officer from Cunupia Police Station to accompany my wife, her friend and myeslf to the prearranged location at Price Plaza.

When he, arrived the police took him and the phone and contact was made to Cellular World TT and Aberdeen was informed of the situation but claimed he knew nothing about the individual who was sent to sell the phone to ny wife's friend.

As a result, the officer took the phone and lodged it at the Cunupia Police Station. The person who.came to seell the phone promised to bring Aberdeen to the Police Dtation to sort out the situation but that hasn't happened.

The story Aberdeen gave is false because the police were there. No guns were involved neither was anyone robbed of any gold chain. That is fake news."

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2023, 9:12 pm

I feel for every one that makes it to social media there are 20x more happening

Postby shogun » June 19th, 2023, 10:13 pm

^Even the number of photos of alleged e-crooks thrown up on social media sites by people that were robbed looks like it jump by 100% Every day at least 3 or 4 new pics of con-men/women. Buyer/seller beware.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2023, 10:23 pm

plenty idle ppl who trawling for suckers
just like them african scams

Postby gastly369 » June 20th, 2023, 12:45 am

pugboy wrote:plenty idle ppl who trawling for suckers
Well I was going through my system today and I saw your winnings still on pending progress without full claim of it yet so can you explain to me why you still haven’t made claim of your winnings yet pug?

Are you not aware that you have won the sum of $800,000 And a Samsung Galaxy S21 ultra a T-shirt and a T-cap for the ongoing samsung promo held for Whatsapp users Worldwide 2022/2023?

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2023, 5:07 am

only a matter of time

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2023, 8:39 am

pugboy wrote:plenty idle ppl who trawling for suckers
Can't say idle na. Its a full on job/Business.

And besides robbing the sellers....many times when they go to sell the stolen items....they rob the buyers one time.....

And the police and networks can very easily stop it using the imei numbers.....

Postby Chimera » August 1st, 2023, 11:47 am

For the last 2 or 3 weeks I've gotten about 8 to 10 people coming in saying their phones get "hacked" through whatsapp. (All elderly people)

Those Nigerians calling them and claiming they from whatsapp and they have to update their account or there's a virus on their device and they need to read out a code that they're sending them ( which is a whatsapp new device registration code) . People dunno so they giving them the code. Then the scammers linking the victim whatsapp to their device and maxing out the code tries so the victim can't link it back to their legit phone. They then using the whatsapp to message everyone on the contact list to ask for money and for it to be western unioned to them as they urgently need it .

A old man come yesterday with one, the only way to get back his whatsapp is to email whatsapp and ask for assistance plus he had also read out his Gmail reset code for them so he lose his email account as well. I tell him wipe the phone and buy a new sim.

He say it happen to him Friday morning and he only realize because Friday evening when he see his wife she ask him why he need $2000 for and whole day he messaging her and their daughter saying he urgently need $2000

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2023, 7:10 pm

like this thing does never stop

Police are once again calling on citizens to be careful when meeting sellers that they would have only engaged with via social media platforms.

The latest reminder comes after a 22-year-old man from Malick was robbed at gunpoint on Monday morning along Picadilly Street in Port of Spain.

The victim told police that at about 10:30am he went to Piccadilly Street to purchase a television from someone whom he met on Facebook Marketplace.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/man-rob ... ransaction

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2023, 7:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:like this thing does never stop

Police are once again calling on citizens to be careful when meeting sellers that they would have only engaged with via social media platforms.

The latest reminder comes after a 22-year-old man from Malick was robbed at gunpoint on Monday morning along Picadilly Street in Port of Spain.

The victim told police that at about 10:30am he went to Piccadilly Street to purchase a television from someone whom he met on Facebook Marketplace.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/man-rob ... ransaction
This is an example of good planning that some of you can learn from. The victim only had to walk a few minutes down the street to the police station to make a report right after he was robbed.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2023, 7:44 pm

i bought a phone from somebody in cunupia the other day, told him i want to transact at cunupia station
when i gone there the cops say go outside in the parking lot, i ask if any cops could witness them say no that is my private business

the chap also was there and he said he tired hear them say that

i plan to go back and secretly record them saying this as per sandra always saying on tv to go nearest station to conduct sales

Postby maj. tom » August 1st, 2023, 7:53 pm

I remember seeing this broadcast where Sgt. Alexander said to talk to the desk sergeant and they would accommodate such request in the lobby area.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2023, 7:56 pm

sandra tv show is for entertainment purposes

maj. tom wrote:I remember seeing this broadcast where Sgt. Alexander said to talk to the desk sergeant and they would accommodate such request in the lobby area.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 1st, 2023, 8:01 pm

So what’s the best way to conduct the transaction when selling a vehicle?

How in this day and age of fraudulent transactions do you ensure that you are not handed any fraudulent manager’s cheque or counterfeit cash before you transfer the vehicle to the buyer?

Postby Chimera » August 1st, 2023, 8:08 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:So what’s the best way to conduct the transaction when selling a vehicle?

How in this day and age of fraudulent transactions do you ensure that you are not handed any fraudulent manager’s cheque or counterfeit cash before you transfer the vehicle to the buyer?
If you taking a cheque tell them you not handing over the car until it clears.

Or both of you go into the bank and let them transfer the money to your account. That's only if you with the same bank .

I not even sure you could trust online transfers because it have ways to reverse those

Postby j.o.e » August 1st, 2023, 8:23 pm

All vehicle sales I’ve conducted at the bank …. Least risk to me. Cash/ cheque verified….. record of transaction as well as person’s identity as SOF most likely will be requested.
I also don’t invite buyers to my home. All meetings for viewing at mall

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2023, 8:26 pm

what happens if diff bank tho?
you know 2-4 days to clear