Stand Your Ground Legislation

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2023, 4:58 pm

WRT to Kamla and Gary calling for a "Stand your Ground" law like USA, I believe there already exists in common law in Olde England and since ancient times in many places something called "Castle Doctrine" or the right to protect one's home in self defense. In fact it is from that same common law that USA would have drawn that precedent from while they were part of the British Colonial Empire.

The concept is very ancient and I'm sure it already has written legal case(s) history in Trinidad involving a determination via a jury of peers.

Re: DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2023, 5:19 pm

stand your ground laws are useless here if you the homeowner is unarmed vs several armed bandits
kamala talk a pack with that

Postby Dizzy28 » April 21st, 2023, 5:56 pm

Didn't the man who built the home made guillotine for his window in his house somewhere in Marbella make a jail when the bandit hand got chopped off (circa 2001 I believe)

So much for castle
maj. tom wrote:WRT to Kamla and Gary calling for a "Stand your Ground" law like USA, I believe there already exists in common law in Olde England and since ancient times in many places something called "Castle Doctrine" or the right to protect one's home in self defense. In fact it is from that same common law that USA would have drawn that precedent from while they were part of the British Colonial Empire.

The concept is very ancient and I'm sure it already has written legal case(s) history in Trinidad involving a determination via a jury of peers.

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2023, 6:00 pm

That's not castle doctrine self defense. That's a booby trap which is illegal for numerous reasons.

Postby MaxPower » April 21st, 2023, 6:14 pm

Again, all this “calling on” XYZ is just wasting time.

We need action.

Postby MaxPower » April 21st, 2023, 7:29 pm

IMG_1409.JPG

Phone, where yuh.

You was asking for a solution.

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2023, 7:41 pm

so what about deadly electric fences?

maj. tom wrote:That's not castle doctrine self defense. That's a booby trap which is illegal for numerous reasons.

Postby j.o.e » April 21st, 2023, 7:44 pm

Govt policies we should all be pushing for

Clear and transparent FUL approval policy
Reformed court to clear backlogs
Better use of technology by police
Police should not be doing admin work … hit the streets
Implementation of new license plate to make tracing of criminals easier( no side of the road plate making)
Life sentence for firearm offenses
And others …… no action on these things we voting out yuh mc

Postby 16 cycles » April 21st, 2023, 8:14 pm

Teleconference for court appearances?

Or that's been sorted since covid?

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2023, 8:18 pm

Electric fences are regulated by the Ministry of Public Utilities, and they have very strict rules on the voltage and current and can't be directly on the mains, must be clearly labeled, etc. They're not a booby trap. Electric fences were really made for livestock to indicate there's an uncrossable barrier when they probe it, not to kill the animals.

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2023, 8:37 pm

never happen
govt likes to have the power to control the process
which is what the cloak and dagger systems provide, with the excuse of “robust checking and
large backlog”

j.o.e wrote:Govt policies we should all be pushing for

Implementation of new license plate to make tracing of criminals easier( no side of the road plate making)

Postby MaxPower » April 21st, 2023, 8:44 pm

j.o.e,

Fantastic suggestions except the first one. As i said many times, that is not a good idea based on our culture. You and i both know if that ever happens, in no time will it go back to how it was.

Postby j.o.e » April 21st, 2023, 9:02 pm

j.o.e,

Fantastic suggestions except the first one. As i said many times, that is not a good idea based on our culture. You and i both know if that ever happens, in no time will it go back to how it was.

Max you can be for or against FUL the point is it should be clear and transparent. A list of the requirements….. it’s either you make it or not. Not a bribing and guessing game

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2023, 11:17 pm

yeah max
don’t blurt out statements based on emotions or what your opinion is of trinis
be clear and rational

Postby aaron17 » April 22nd, 2023, 8:49 am

Is bess they ban nuclear weapons..steups

Postby paid_influencer » April 22nd, 2023, 10:09 am

the policy we should be pushing for is "removal of hinds"

and after that pepper spray. before even. pepper spray needs to be real and available and everywhere to support defenseless citizens

Re: Crime plan 2023 TT- Build Panic Rooms

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2023, 9:54 am

both political parties advocating 1 of 2 extremes- the 1 in power doh want ppl arming themselves legally, the other want ppl shooting down simple mango thief (Stand Your Ground laws).
ttps need to increase the staff and resources and of course not put arbitrary limits on how many ppl can get FULs once they have past the required background checks. and to really have a good chance of defending yourself, at least 2 adults per house need to have a gun.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 10th, 2023, 10:05 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby maj. tom » May 10th, 2023, 10:03 am

That's not what Stand Your Ground means, nor did the Opposition or anyone in fact ever state anything like killing someone for a mango, but rather a home invasion inside your house.

“Home invasions do not encompass trespassing in your yard to steal zabocas or mangoes; it does not mean you are entitled to kill someone who entered your gallery or porch. But once the bandits enters your house you should be entitled in law to kill the intruder, and reasonable force should not be an issue for such a killing.”

But obviously the theory can never work here because the FUL situation is already such a corrupt deliberatly unsolvable mess.

Postby aaron17 » May 10th, 2023, 11:22 am

Well if they coming for u and ur valuables....we might as well be ded...unless we have a fighting chance.
Also compliance does not make u Scott free.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 8:49 am

sgt say when the bandits leaving you cannot harm them as they are no longer a threat, wave them goodbye and wish them well

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 307cf.html

wing

Postby wing » July 30th, 2023, 8:58 am

pugboy wrote:sgt say when the bandits leaving you cannot harm them as they are no longer a threat, wave them goodbye and wish them well

Did you read the article? The Sgt was merely quoting the law as it stands. It's up to the politicians and judiciary to effect the change. Stupid comments don't really bring about the change. As a victim of violent crime, I can certainly relate to the feeling of vengeance against the perpetrators but if you want to live in a democratic society, you have to be able to stand the consequences, good or bad. Otherwise, sharia law for it...

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 9:22 am

of course i read the article

it is unfortunate for a cop to make a statement like that no matter how legally correct it is though
you have to look at the big picture, a statement like that infuriates the victims and empowers the bandits even more
so guess who wins and continues to laugh

govt aint changing no law otherwise they would have done that a long time ago
they are not interested in pissing off their voters
in the last few months 99% of the bandits caught are from the same places in east pos, up to last night a next cop from south said that

wing wrote:
pugboy wrote:sgt say when the bandits leaving you cannot harm them as they are no longer a threat, wave them goodbye and wish them well

Did you read the article? The Sgt was merely quoting the law as it stands. It's up to the politicians and judiciary to effect the change. Stupid comments don't really bring about the change. As a victim of violent crime, I can certainly relate to the feeling of vengeance against the perpetrators but if you want to live in a democratic society, you have to be able to stand the consequences, good or bad. Otherwise, sharia law for it...

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2023, 9:26 am

This is how I'm confused about Kamla making noise about Stand Your Ground.

Castle Doctrine is already pretty much defined and it's very ancient law, set even before the Norman invasion of England. And the right to defend your home passed on and on into every aspect of British civilization across the world. The popularity of it in USA is associated with cowboy and "small town" fantasies because they have the right to bear arms. Trinidad citizens not having legal access to firearms due to corrupt politics, which is never going to change, makes me think Kamla on a whole lot of noisy political bullsheit regarding this issue. What she pushing exactly? Stand your ground with a piece of 2x4 shaped like a bat against AR-15s? The problem is not this law at all. It's organized gangs, guns coming through the ports and violent crime because of these guns. It's corruption.

Home invasions also happen in UK and the same law is applied the same way in a case by case basis of the decisions of the DPP and eventually a jury if it comes to that.

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2023, 10:15 am

hopefully she at least makes pepper spray available to ordinary young female workers who have to travel'

whatever legislation it have right now clearly not working

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2023, 10:43 am

wing wrote:

wing playing comment police on tuner, but deep down wing knows that if unc come into power "they going to give people of a certain race gun (sic) to shoot people of another race"

wing not calling that a chupid comment, because wing knows it is true

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 11:07 am

oops, i forgot the political bias aspect

Postby alfa » July 30th, 2023, 11:08 am

maj. tom wrote:This is how I'm confused about Kamla making noise about Stand Your Ground.

Castle Doctrine is already pretty much defined and it's very ancient law, set even before the Norman invasion of England. And the right to defend your home passed on and on into every aspect of British civilization across the world. The popularity of it in USA is associated with cowboy and "small town" fantasies because they have the right to bear arms. Trinidad citizens not having legal access to firearms due to corrupt politics, which is never going to change, makes me think Kamla on a whole lot of noisy political bullsheit regarding this issue. What she pushing exactly? Stand your ground with a piece of 2x4 shaped like a bat against AR-15s? The problem is not this law at all. It's organized gangs, guns coming through the ports and violent crime because of these guns. It's corruption.

Home invasions also happen in UK and the same law is applied the same way in a case by case basis of the decisions of the DPP and eventually a jury if it comes to that.

I think Heinz and Rowley are trying to paint stand your ground and self defense add two separate entities. Heinz said we already have self defence laws and there's no need for stand your ground thus making it seem as though this law allows you to kill anyone on your property once you believe that have nefarious intents. The man is an idiot but he was a lawyer after all, so too kamla so I think we need clarification on what our local laws actually allow and what it classifies as stand your ground

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 11:14 am

they dont want it clarified otherwise it will show that even if you could defend your abode you cant since all you could use is a slingshot and hence more motives for legal arming of citizens
arming citizens would make it look like they giving in to the opposition

govts always prefer things to be unclear to avoid having to do things which would make the opposition right

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 30th, 2023, 11:43 am

pugboy wrote:they dont want it clarified otherwise it will show that even if you could defend your abode you cant since all you could use is a slingshot and hence more motives for legal arming of citizens
arming citizens would make it look like they giving in to the opposition

govts always prefer things to be unclear to avoid having to do things which would make the opposition right
Non PNM citizens are at the hands of PNM criminals

Postby Rovin » July 30th, 2023, 2:00 pm

it have ways to get around that, say u thought he pointed what appeared to be a firearm in ur direction while running away & u felt as if ur life was in imminent danger so u tried to defend urself ... zander said stuff along those lines b4 on tv

officer in that meeting sounded sincere with him saying d problems they have - in this day\age with crime being so rampant some stations still dont even have sufficient vehicles, manpower & equipment yet for decades d min of nat sec gets d biggest chunk of d budget after min of education but u just dont see a regular police patrol presence to give sense of feeling safe ...