BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2022, 8:13 pm

Wha allyuh stating? Who wanna go hafsies ? I have the location and been talking to some of the suppliers from India a while now. Just it habe much more profitable uses for my usd so I never pull the trigger.

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2022, 8:42 pm

gastly369 wrote:Anyone ever tried to smoke meat with "DE HERBS"
Bob Marley style
Waste of good herb.

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2023, 11:49 am

what type of steel/metal should i use when making grating for a bbq grill?

normal 1/2 inch smooth steel is good?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 27th, 2023, 11:51 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:what type of steel/metal should i use when making grating for a bbq grill?

normal 1/2 inch smooth steel is good?
Ideally some sort of stainless

Mild steel will melt up with heat and caked on food

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2023, 10:05 pm

where sells stainless steel rods ?

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2023, 10:08 pm

edoos have stainless welding rods

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2023, 10:40 pm

bbq grill table.jpg

not the welding rods......the stainless steel itself i mean

or what can i use if i making this?

normal solid square or round steel?

Postby adnj » March 3rd, 2023, 5:27 am

You can also use flat expanded steel. Either carbon or stainless will work well.

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2023, 5:49 am

is using non stainless you need to use often to avoid rust,
if left with crud on, the crud corrodes if not used often.

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2023, 6:04 am

better i just buy a sheet of expanded steel then ent

corrosion wise...is there a specific paint i can use to protect it?

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2023, 6:09 am

no paint if you cooking on it
thats why you need to use often

Phone Surgeon wrote:better i just buy a sheet of expanded steel then ent

corrosion wise...is there a specific paint i can use to protect it?

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2023, 6:10 am

yeahh but how often is often.....

if i pressure wash it and keep it clean between uses it shouldnt corrode?

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2023, 6:28 am

yeah, and spray some cooking oil on it after
its the burnt bits which are turn corrosive

Phone Surgeon wrote:yeahh but how often is often.....

Postby adnj » March 3rd, 2023, 7:02 am

pugboy wrote:yeah, and spray some cooking oil on it after
its the burnt bits which are turn corrosive

Phone Surgeon wrote:yeahh but how often is often.....

For carbon steels, clean the grates with a wire brush, then soap and water. After it dries, apply food-grade mineral oil (paraffin oil) with a rag or a paint brush. Mineral oil won't become gummy over time the way that vegetable oil will.

Food-grade mineral oil is available at most pharmacies as a laxative.

The stainless steel grates should be treated the same way but expanded stainless steel doesn't corrode in a few days the way that carbon steel does.