US Snowstorms 2022-2023

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2022, 7:54 am

Insane weather for North America started last night. Canada also heavily affected.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-63952802

A coast-to-coast storm is bringing heavy snowfall, powerful winds, the threat of thunderstorms and other extreme weather across the US.

Some western states, including Montana, Wyoming and South Dakota, are expecting up to 2ft (60cm) of snow.

Other states in the south, meanwhile, are facing a potential tornado outbreak.

The storm could affect millions of residents in nearly every state in the contiguous US, experts said.

The entire continent!

Major snowstorm brewing for northeastern US

Blizzard warnings issued in northern Plains ahead of travel-snarling snowstorm

Re: US Snowstorms 2022-2023

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2022, 10:37 am

wow! I was in Nebraska a few weeks ago and the first thing I got at the company I was visiting was a HSSE leaflet including somethig on what to do when a tornado hits...I wanted to go back home juan time

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » December 13th, 2022, 10:43 am

MG Man wrote:wow! I was in Nebraska a few weeks ago and the first thing I got at the company I was visiting was a HSSE leaflet including somethig on what to do when a tornado hits...I wanted to go back home juan time

scary

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 13th, 2022, 11:12 am

6ft of snow and 100mph wind gusts in some areas
land slides and flooding in other areas

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2022, 2:22 pm

100mph! :shock: wind, u go freeze in no time

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2022, 6:20 pm

Damaging Oklahoma tornado rated an EF2 as other twisters touch down in Central US

A major storm system was causing weather mayhem on Tuesday morning as it spawned multiple tornadoes in parts of the southern Plains, while blizzard conditions shut down travel farther north.

https://www.accuweather.com/en/severe-weather/live-news/live-updates-central-us-severe-weather-outbreak-blizzard-storm/1383959

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2022, 6:30 pm

Expect many USA/Canada flights to be cancelled for rest of the week. Looks like it could let up by Saturday. Plan accordingly, travelers expect to be disappointed because of this extreme weather.

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2022, 1:21 pm

MG Man wrote:wow! I was in Nebraska a few weeks ago and the first thing I got at the company I was visiting was a HSSE leaflet including somethig on what to do when a tornado hits...I wanted to go back home juan time

nothing of the sort while we were in NOLA, watching the news feed right now like WTF.

W2J

Postby W2J » December 20th, 2022, 2:47 pm

MG Man wrote:wow!
I was in Nebraska a few weeks ago
and the first thing I got at the company I was visiting was a HSSE leaflet including somethig on what to do when a tornado hits...I wanted to go back home juan time

PAPAYO!

Postby maj. tom » December 20th, 2022, 8:14 pm

Bad weather again for North America. Blizzard Christmas 2022. Trini travelers in for a bad time.

A burst of Arctic air that AccuWeather meteorologists have been monitoring since last week is poised to plunge the eastern two-thirds of the United States into a deep freeze ahead of Christmas, bringing the coldest air in decades to some areas and causing heating demands to sky rocket.

https://www.accuweather.com/en/winter-weather/widespread-outbreak-of-arctic-air-to-send-temperatures-plummeting-across-us/1387154

Winter storm watches issued across central US as millions brace for blizzard conditions
A powerful holiday-week storm will unfold across the central U.S. through Thursday, unleashing heavy snow and strong winds.

https://www.accuweather.com/en/winter-weather/winter-storm-watches-issued-across-central-us-as-millions-brace-for-blizzard-conditions/1387482

antlind

Postby antlind » December 20th, 2022, 8:24 pm

Ouch !!!
A2756E2E-2BEB-463C-8645-18495BF3D9D5.jpeg
A2756E2E-2BEB-463C-8645-18495BF3D9D5.jpeg (17.66 KiB) Viewed 2394 times

Postby redmanjp » December 20th, 2022, 10:13 pm

Hope Texas doh have the days long power outage like last year. Have family there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 21st, 2022, 12:48 am

antlind wrote:Ouch !!!

Waw that's scary cold

Postby maj. tom » December 22nd, 2022, 8:56 pm

GTA
Winter storm warning issued as Toronto braces for major ‘weather bomb’

A winter storm is set to hit Toronto, threatening to throw winter travel plans and planned gatherings with family and friends into disarray. Toronto Zoo is closing as ‘precaution.’

https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2022/12/22/most-challenging-and-tricky-storm-toronto-expecting-major-storm-on-friday.html

Postby toyolink » December 22nd, 2022, 9:22 pm

The discomfort and pain that comes with frigid conditions is really horrible.
I remember ear, nose and finger pains and nose bleed when outside with back and neck pains after a full day of heavy clothing.
Getting out of a warm bed in the morning to face the day is a whole different story.
BTW, Florida aint a bed of roses either when a serious cold front moves in.

Postby redmanjp » December 26th, 2022, 1:18 pm

Heard the death toll from this is in the 30s in US. Temperature reached -45C. :shock:

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » December 26th, 2022, 3:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:Heard the death toll from this is in the 30s in US. Temperature reached -45C. :shock:

Finding bodies of people in cars buried in snow banks on the side of the road. Probably broke down and pushed into them by huge snow plows

Postby matr1x » December 26th, 2022, 3:49 pm

Frostbite is a serious problem that many who are out

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 26th, 2022, 5:41 pm

Can't imagine them temps nah, just faced -15 degrees in Prague and got frost bite from it. Feel sorry for those in the states now

Postby adnj » December 26th, 2022, 7:33 pm

All this crying about 0°F temperatures. There are no other downhill skiers on this thread.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 26th, 2022, 10:25 pm

Snow and sleet reported near Orlando yesterday

https://www.wftv.com/news/local/some-ce ... VH45RXAGA/

Postby redmanjp » December 27th, 2022, 12:05 am

This affecting any flights from here to US? MY sis flying out tomorrow night.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » December 27th, 2022, 5:44 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Can't imagine them temps nah, just faced -15 degrees in Prague and got frost bite from it. Feel sorry for those in the states now

Forgot I was test running my Escalade project I wasn’t driving yet with water in the coolant system over the summer. Thing was parked in my garage and it froze. Took my heater 2 days to warm the engine bay up enough to melt all the ice. Fingers crossed that nothing is cracked.