books to give away

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2022, 9:06 am

have old school encyclopedia and other similar books to give away if anybody knows who would take them, in very good condition

Re: books to give away

Postby MG Man » December 20th, 2022, 9:31 am

I have a friend who set up an exchange library to encourage teens to read. You have a list u can send me?

Val

Postby Val » December 20th, 2022, 10:08 am

Hey I don’t mind the encyclopedia. Which one is it?

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2022, 10:18 am

world book
Val wrote:Hey I don’t mind the encyclopedia. Which one is it?

Postby Les Bain » December 20th, 2022, 1:26 pm

MG Man wrote:I have a friend who set up an exchange library to encourage teens to read. You have a list u can send me?

Cleared a box worth of books from the home library and have no idea where to send it. Could I send you a list as well?

Postby SMc » December 20th, 2022, 3:42 pm

I ended up dumping 2 full sets encyclopedias last year as the information was no longer correct, kept the old atlases though because there are interesting to see what the countries are like now vs then.

Pug, if you have any old ornithological, horticultural or history books let me know

Postby MG Man » December 20th, 2022, 4:23 pm

Les Bain wrote:
MG Man wrote:I have a friend who set up an exchange library to encourage teens to read. You have a list u can send me?

Cleared a box worth of books from the home library and have no idea where to send it. Could I send you a list as well?

yeah man
sen ting

MDtuner70

books to give away

Postby MDtuner70 » December 20th, 2022, 4:54 pm

Threads and users like these is why I rate this platform.

Never throw away books, either keep or donate.... never throw away.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 20th, 2022, 5:16 pm

I'd prefer to sell and make some small change.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » December 20th, 2022, 5:29 pm

DMan7 wrote:I'd prefer to sell and make some small change.

All that in it.

Text books are the best for liquidity. Anything from secondary school to tertiary texts will bring in a lil cashish.

Postby SMc » December 20th, 2022, 5:44 pm

Where is that? I gave away most of the books I had over the past couple years when I was moving house etc. I burn through books so always looking for somewhere to donate to when I'm done reading them

Postby paid_influencer » December 20th, 2022, 5:51 pm

yes burn them

Postby SMc » December 20th, 2022, 6:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:yes burn them

Burn through simply means to use or go through something quickly... in this case books.

No fire is used and not even sure why this needs an explanation. Perhaps stick to posting in threads nobody really takes seriously and you will feel at home there rather than here.

Postby paid_influencer » December 20th, 2022, 6:20 pm

i did not know this was a seriousbusiness thread. i apologize to the op hope u find a good home for the books

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 20th, 2022, 6:39 pm

Every thread title on Tuner could turn into a serious business.

Postby matr1x » December 20th, 2022, 8:21 pm

I contributed several astronomy and geology books to the NALIS library.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » December 21st, 2022, 12:14 am

matr1x wrote:I contributed several astronomy and geology books to the NALIS library.
Would've gladly accepted or bought the astro books

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » December 21st, 2022, 12:16 am

Les Bain wrote:

Post the list please. Never know if anything may pique myself or others interest

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2022, 8:03 am

full set of encyclopedia
also have a full set of little house on prairie books

0E3AF130-446B-46C4-9543-7137A0C104DF.jpeg

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2022, 9:01 am

ooooooooooooh I'd love to read the Prairie series

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2022, 9:03 am

SMc wrote:

Where is that? I gave away most of the books I had over the past couple years when I was moving house etc. I burn through books so always looking for somewhere to donate to when I'm done reading them

she operates from her home and via her book club right now, so I can collect on her behalf

Postby Les Bain » December 21st, 2022, 9:57 am

d.d.s. wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Post the list please. Never know if anything may pique myself or others interest

Listed. Used a spoiler to keep things neat.

Book donation box

Gregory Maguire - Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Emily Giffin - Love the One You're With

Charlaine Harris - Dead Until Dark

Charlaine Harris - Living Dead in Dallas

Camilla Lackberg - The Drowning

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Ghosts

Hamlyn Press - The World's Infamous Murders

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Mysteries

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Cults

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Secrets

Hamlyn Press - The World's Worst Disasters of the 20th Century

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Psychics and Mystics

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Rock & Roll Scandals

Hamlyn Press - The World's Wealthiest Losers

Khaled Hossein - The Kite Runner

John Saul - In the Dark of the Night

John Saul - Midnight Voices

John Saul - Cry for the Strangers

John Saul - Perfect Nightmare

Stephen King - Nightmares & Dreamscapes

Postby adnj » December 21st, 2022, 10:05 am

Postby st7 » December 21st, 2022, 10:06 am

SMc wrote:

she operates from her home and via her book club right now, so I can collect on her behalf

Little Free Library?

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2022, 11:41 am

st7 wrote:
SMc wrote:

Little Free Library?

yup

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2022, 11:49 am

Les Bain wrote:
d.d.s. wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Listed. Used a spoiler to keep things neat.

Book donation box

Gregory Maguire - Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Emily Giffin - Love the One You're With

Charlaine Harris - Dead Until Dark

Charlaine Harris - Living Dead in Dallas

Camilla Lackberg - The Drowning

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Ghosts

Hamlyn Press - The World's Infamous Murders

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Mysteries

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Cults

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Secrets

Hamlyn Press - The World's Worst Disasters of the 20th Century

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Psychics and Mystics

Hamlyn Press - The World's Greatest Rock & Roll Scandals

Hamlyn Press - The World's Wealthiest Losers

Khaled Hossein - The Kite Runner

John Saul - In the Dark of the Night

John Saul - Midnight Voices

John Saul - Cry for the Strangers

John Saul - Perfect Nightmare

Stephen King - Nightmares & Dreamscapes

noice
Will see how I can coordinate

Postby st7 » December 21st, 2022, 12:16 pm

st7 wrote:
SMc wrote:

Little Free Library?

yup

haha nice. it's probably not the same person we know but i did help get books donated to them when someone i knew was moving away.

GDI

Postby GDI » December 21st, 2022, 6:28 pm

For The Love of Reading takes used books clean/repair them and give them away for free.

Pick up and drop off at Mode Alive Valsayn and and couple other spots. Check FB for other locations. Most are north/central I think.

They prefer not to take encyclopedias because of the size. Books are taken off site for cleaning so difficult to manage. Give them to someone if you can.

Postby maj. tom » December 29th, 2022, 7:36 pm

Now I have them on epub and they don't seem so valuable to hold on to anymore.

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2022, 8:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:Now I have them on epub and they don't seem so valuable to hold on to anymore.

Biggles Air Detective - Yuh take me right back to my childhood right there maj.tom.

Wow. It has been years since I saw one of those books.