Re: 2022 Murder Toll Thread

Postby Dizzy28 » December 14th, 2022, 11:56 am

^ Different sources have different numbers. Today's Express has it at 575
index.jpg

Postby aaron17 » December 14th, 2022, 1:38 pm

I see alot of ppl talking about reaching 600.
When we reach 600 , then what ?
We getting money? Help from abroad? Compensation?
Dem is rel jokers.
I thought 'We reach"..eh?
And I thought one murder alone is too many.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 14th, 2022, 1:45 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Is the count off?Screenshot_20221214-115044.jpg

I would say so...I would think our tuner tally may be off by one or two but definitely more accurate than the media...just feel free to browse the entire thread....

Imo we about 590, with the amount of unclaimed bodies, missing people, remains found etc etc

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2022, 1:45 pm

aaron17 wrote:I see alot of ppl talking about reaching 600.
Dem is rel jokers.
When we reach 600,we will collectively say Great is the PNM and vote their inept representatives back into positions of power.

Postby maj. tom » December 14th, 2022, 1:50 pm

Once that PNM milestone reach Heinz will get the national award for service to country.

Postby hover11 » December 14th, 2022, 4:45 pm

Dem is rel jokers.
When we reach 600, we will pray to not reach 700 for the coming year. Nothing will happen after ppl will continue to be unphased and carry about their business as if nothing happened

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 4:54 pm

when is heinz xmas party for his constituents?

Postby paid_influencer » December 14th, 2022, 5:35 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dem is rel jokers.
When we reach 600, we will pray to not reach 700 for the coming year. Nothing will happen after ppl will continue to be unphased and carry about their business as if nothing happened

really amazing how they made 600 the yard stick. we already past the murders record, but they just shift the yard stick higher and suddenly we below expectation again :?

we still under 600 tho so it could be worse. jacobs/hinds working.

Postby De Dragon » December 14th, 2022, 9:42 pm

Dem is rel jokers.

You think the facksticks on the National Security Council, especially head fackstick JUHN Scarfy give ah sheit?

antlind

Postby antlind » December 15th, 2022, 8:24 am

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dem is rel jokers.

really amazing how they made 600 the yard stick. we already past the murders record, but they just shift the yard stick higher and suddenly we below expectation again :?

we still under 600 tho so it could be worse. jacobs/hinds working.

Not too long ago 500 was the yard stick. When we reach 600 the yard stick will be extended to 700.

Postby timelapse » December 15th, 2022, 8:37 am

Awaits a major distraction, immediately followed by a change in the narrative shifting the goalpost to 1000

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2022, 8:49 am

"at least we better than Haiti"

VII

Postby VII » December 16th, 2022, 11:05 am

You mad, Haiti murder rate is nowhere near ours..if you talking about poverty and political stability well of course...imagine with all those challenges their murder rates lower..i suppose there needs to be a certain level of wealth business and other criminal activities such as drug smuggling etc to finance and facilitate murder..

Postby hover11 » December 16th, 2022, 11:26 am

In other words, crime does pay
VII wrote:You mad, Haiti murder rate is nowhere near ours..if you talking about poverty and political stability well of course...imagine with all those challenges their murder rates lower..i suppose there needs to be a certain level of wealth business and other criminal activities such as drug smuggling etc to finance and facilitate murder..

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 16th, 2022, 11:50 am

VII wrote:You mad, Haiti murder rate is nowhere near ours..if you talking about poverty and political stability well of course...imagine with all those challenges their murder rates lower..i suppose there needs to be a certain level of wealth business and other criminal activities such as drug smuggling etc to finance and facilitate murder..

This is what alot of ppl are not grasping. Most political unstable places such as warzones don't infact have high murder rates. Ppl are not just going around murdering ppl all willy nilly. So the comparison gives us a false sense of comfort and distracts us from just how bad things are.

It started in Manning's time when they introduced the term "gang related" to downplay the spiralling murder rates.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 16th, 2022, 11:57 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Is the count off?Screenshot_20221214-115044.jpg

suspect is what descent now?

Oh, word.

Postby MaxPower » December 16th, 2022, 3:19 pm

Imagine that eh…Haiti.

Trinis aren’t at least a tad shame?!

It eh no wealth and other criminal activities padna…its the breed, culture and nature of Trinidadians.

It is the reason why T&T is in this embarrassing position.

Postby hover11 » December 17th, 2022, 6:29 am

It's a wrap
FB_IMG_1671272894236.jpg

Postby timelapse » December 17th, 2022, 6:52 am

Meanwhile Occifer Mammoo on the left looking like he eats criminals and televisions.

Postby Rovin » December 17th, 2022, 11:03 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: .... at least this woman brutally honest eh , shud make she d commish as its time we tried a female .... old mcd might boof she up when he get back from vacation :lol:

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/12/17/acting ... A.facebook

Acting police commissioner concedes: CAN'T STOP 600 MURDERS

WHILE acting Commissioner of Police (CoP) Erla Christopher describes it as "fact" that the murder toll would reach 600 this year, she has called on women to understand their influence in the fight against crime and criminality.

In a plea to women, during a media briefing on Friday afternoon at the Police Administration Building, Port of Spain, Christopher said, “It is important because I know within the national community they are focusing on the fact that we would reach 600 murders but we as women have that ability, authority to influence.”

“We cannot do it alone. And as we come to the end of this year I want to appeal to our females. I am speaking to mothers, wives, sisters and aunts. We hold a position of influence. We can influence the mind of all the young men who are bent on living a life of crime. We can influence all those young men who are hired as shooters, all these young men who display disrespect for life.

As of Friday afternoon, TT recorded 577 murders. Nine murders happened in Tobago.

A large percentage of the murders this year were gang-related and involved illegal firearms.

Christopher said, “Information alone does not slow (down) crime. We need evidence. In the absence of technical evidence, I am appealing to the community if they have information please inform us."

She said assistance from officers coming off of leave has significantly boosted the presence and helped the operations of officers.

She further called on seniors within the community to reflect on their contribution over the past 12 months to help keep crime down.

It’s been one week since the Police Service Commission appointed Christopher to the position. At the briefing, she had little to say about her first week acting as commissioner in place of McDonald Jacob who is currently on 35-days vacation.

She simply described it as interesting. Asked how she feels to take on the position at a time when the murder toll is sky-rocketing, she assured the country it was not a daunting task for her. “...It’s not an impossible task and we are sure that as a leadership team we will continue to implement strategies that will mitigate against that. So, let’s wait and see.”

She believes her appointment was timely.

“I know what women bring to general life. I know the important role we play so the position is not daunting. As a matter of fact, I think probably it’s the right time to have that female leadership.”

In July, Jacob said it will take more than a sustained, rigid, crime-fighting approach to break the increasing murder toll. At that time Jacob assured the public that the police are working to keep this year’s toll below the 440 average for the last 15 years.

According to the TTPS website, the Northern Division has reported the highest number of murders this year with the Central Division trailing behind.

The Northern Division also had the highest incident-reports this year. There have been over 2,000 incident-reports ranging from larceny, break-ins, murders, domestic abuse, wounding, and kidnapping, among others coming out of that division.

In May, Jacob said police have been noticing an increase in home invasions. For this year, there have been 133 in the Southern Division, 128 in the Northern Division and 126 in Central, totalling 631.

For the same period in 2021, there had been 623 home invasions. Christopher said police are doing all in their power to tackle this problem.

Throughout the year police turned to several crime-fighting initiatives to reduce murders.

Some of them were criticised by Police Social and Welfare Association head ASP Gideon Dickson who questioned whether Jacob’s crime plan would allow officers to work smarter and not harder after an additional 60 officers were called out to duty and all leave requests had been cancelled to get "more boots on the ground.”

As murders crossed 500 in October, Jacob urged his officers to remain resilient and called on citizens for help. But despite these and other efforts, the number of murders continued on an upward trajectory.

VII

Postby VII » December 17th, 2022, 3:06 pm

Like I said in the commish thread,in one interview she done do more than what old Mac do so far in his tenure...she has told the truth about the situation and at the same time remained positive with the understanding that more has to be done and actually sounds like she has a plan .

She's smarter than Hinds and Jacob combined..

antlind

Postby antlind » December 17th, 2022, 9:08 pm

VII wrote:Like I said in the commish thread,in one interview she done do more than what old Mac do so far in his tenure...she has told the truth about the situation and at the same time remained positive with the understanding that more has to be done and actually sounds like she has a plan .

She's smarter than Hinds and Jacob combined..

Hinds and Jacobs really didn’t set the bar on the intelligence meter very high

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 17th, 2022, 10:06 pm

583: unidentified male shot and killed in enterprise

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 18th, 2022, 7:08 am

584: unidentified male shot and killed in gasparillo

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » December 18th, 2022, 4:00 pm

Amazing a population stays quiet on the number of murders.

Postby MaxPower » December 18th, 2022, 4:29 pm

Kickstart wrote:Amazing a population stays quiet on the number of murders.

Certainly not quiet for Carnival and Caura Monday….

Trinis are known for their wrong sided priorities.

The population needs to be stripped of their freedom.

We need foreign assistance and elite forces deployed nationwide.

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2022, 8:55 pm

some complained about the 2 saheena they get in $1600 vvip section of burna boy concert