Re: Business Ideas

Postby MaxPower » March 11th, 2021, 9:09 pm

Trinis lack ambition

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 11th, 2021, 11:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I would caution against going out on your own.. most people end up working harder with more stress and less money. Only attempt if you have extra money lying around you wouldn't mind losing.

It is 100% harder, but if you persist through the failures and save, you'll have far more job/life satisfaction, less stress (it is stressful but it's different), definitely the possibility of more money, working on your time and schedule (but expect to always be working).

I prefer it, though Covid had cost me thousands.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 12th, 2021, 12:08 am

Dohplaydat, thanks.

Here's some more:

23. Do you have a certificate in professional photography? Or are you self learnt? Offer yourself to do photography for memorable events like weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, graduation etc etc. Innovate and include videography services as well. Drones would be awesome too.

24. Accustomed to cutting people hair? Yours, your neighbors, family, friends and relatives? If you make Wahling look easy then open up your own barber shop. Offer marks and shaving too.

25. Do you have agricultural land just sitting there? Or are you interested in farming? Plant plant plant. Whether its tomatoes, sweet peppers, lettuce, peas or water melon. Plant and organize yourself to be a supplier to groceries, mini marts or simple market resellers.

26. Invest in a van like a Hyundai H-1. Offer private executive shuttle services.

27. Similarly, you can invest in a truck or pickup, something reasonable like an h100 or k2700 to start off with and do transport services. Align yourself to furniture/appliance stores, hardwares and even farmers. You can do deliveries or buy a load of tomatoes cheap and resell to those market vendors.

28. Are you of good physical build? Can you fight? Have security, law enforcement or some form of tactical training? Offer yourself as a body guard, chauffeur or bouncer. You can GT and be highly employable within a certain circle with this kind of talent/know how.

29. Can you cook any kind of dish? Do private catering and do deliveries. Get in touch with an apps developer so that clients can place orders and you can prepare your logistics at that point.

30. Are you competent with a sewing machine? Suits, pants, dresses, sheets and curtains is small thing. Well be a seamstress or tailor.

31. Are you a good graphics artist? Graphic design is needed for branding purposes. This is absolutely necessary in these times.

32. Can you draw and prepare plans and designs etc? Perhaps being an independent draughts man or architect would be a good idea.

33. Are you good at refrigeration and air conditioning repairs? Perhaps it's time you launch off on your own. In the tropics, we always need an ac unit or one that needs servicing. Get a decent van to facilitate this as you would need ladders and a pressure washer to tote.

34. Do you have an x factor winning kind of voice and stage performance? Perhaps singing and entertainment would be a good idea. Write some songs, record and put it through the harshest judge out there..ie. youtube. Once you have a hit, that's all it takes to get recognized. There's a huge male music artist right now who credits YouTube for his success.

35. Wanna share an experience whether real or fictional? Do you have a really nice story to tell? Perhaps you should write a book.

36. Maybe you're a music teacher. Maybe you're competent with the piano or drum set. Whatever it is, you can teach! I see lots of potential for people who knows how to play the steel pan. That's an instrument thousands of locals would love to learn and play.

37. If you have a property and wish to promote it. Consider Airbnb. Maybe its by the beach. Whatever it is, if it's just laying there, make it earn something for you.

38. Bring down solar panels for commercial and residential use. I see this taking off.

39. If you have a piece of land in an area with lots of business places eg. Like on a busy main road. Convert said empty land by clearing bush and debris and making it into a fully paved parking lot. Rent money collecting and you dont even have a structure on it.

40. If you're an expert windshield repair person then offer your services to plug cracks and bulls eyes etc.

Of course many of these points require capital and financing. Once your business plan is properly prepared and presented, I promise you, that hurdle would be suck-eye to cross.

Dont sit idly by and wait for some job to come to you. Get up and do the necessaries. This list can go up to 100 and more. So much opportunities out there but it depends on how hungry you are. If you want it and already claim it. It's yours. I hope there was at least 1 point that brought encouragement to someone who read this. Good luck and God speed to you.

Postby MaxPower » March 12th, 2021, 12:24 am

Trinis lack consistency

Postby gastly369 » March 12th, 2021, 12:49 am

1. rule... No friends/best friends/day ones etc in business

I learned the hard way

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » March 12th, 2021, 2:56 pm

gastly369 wrote:1. rule... No friends/best friends/day ones etc in business

I learned the hard way
What about family? Or extremely close friends?

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » August 26th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Hey folks

Was wondering how is the apartment rental business these days? Anyone seeing success with it?

Postby Chimera » August 26th, 2022, 1:01 pm

plenty people tuck their tail between their legs and move back home to their parents as unnecessary rent is a unnecessary expense in these hard times

real people lose their steady jobs and salaries

jsr

Postby jsr » August 28th, 2022, 6:12 pm

Anybody knows of any gas station that is for sale?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 28th, 2022, 7:44 pm

jsr wrote:Anybody knows of any gas station that is for sale?

There's a defunct one in California main road. Owner was murdered several years ago.
You can prob research what's the status. Given the locationm(SMR+Pt Lisas), it's a cash cow.

Postby eliteauto » August 28th, 2022, 8:52 pm

No gas station is a "cash cow " it's slow steady income and the best way to increase your cash flow is with a C-store. It's a very competitive business, look at the proximity to other stations and what they offer to determine if it makes sense to go into the business also calculate your consumer flow

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2022, 9:04 pm

it’s not a cash cow but i question if they always bawling no profits yet they still in business even the non store ones

Postby Dave » August 28th, 2022, 9:42 pm

Having audited a few of them...all gas station owners bawl for no money but you never see a gas station owner catching their derriere.

Postby RedVEVO » August 29th, 2022, 12:32 am

The " cash cows " are those Landlords that rent and are paid in cash .

They pay no taxes and always bawling about non-existent mortgages .

A quick research will bring many under the radar - one hotspot is around UWI :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 29th, 2022, 4:31 am

play whe

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2022, 7:16 am

illegal play whe is thriving in all them small grocery

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 29th, 2022, 9:15 am

eliteauto wrote:No gas station is a "cash cow " it's slow steady income and the best way to increase your cash flow is with a C-store. It's a very competitive business, look at the proximity to other stations and what they offer to determine if it makes sense to go into the business also calculate your consumer flow

I know the existing margins are slim, but aren't they paving the way for eventual liberalisation?

Couple Chinese groceries nearby, so a convenience shop might suffer although the profit margins on those items are higher.

Location is solid to service a big area with main road traffic. Closest stations are Couva Main Road (~5km away), Preysal Roundabout (~5-6km away) and Flowerpot Gas Station (~8-10km away).

It's an upfront investment with a consistent pipeline of $ to a bank account. It's not short term get rich kinda thing. This is generational income or maybe something that can keep your retirement more comfy if you can afford it now.

death365

Postby death365 » August 29th, 2022, 12:17 pm

According to meh car rental peeps; tha business take back up since earlier this year. its a small 1 - 3 man business- 1 mechanic 1 man to be d washer.

not taxi on d road ... car/van/truck (1 ton up to 4).

Postby timelapse » August 29th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Bicycle customizing and building shop.Nice side hustle if you good at those things
I talking about everything including GoPro mounts

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 14th, 2022, 9:55 am

What products are usually some of the highest marked up products in Trinidad? Car parts?

death365

Postby death365 » October 14th, 2022, 10:55 am

Perfume, Electronics all including cell phones.
SuperiorMan wrote:What products are usually some of the highest marked up products in Trinidad? Car parts?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 14th, 2022, 11:04 am

What kind of mark up is cell phones? I didn't expect it to be high.

Postby timelapse » October 14th, 2022, 11:05 am

SuperiorMan wrote:What products are usually some of the highest marked up products in Trinidad? Car parts?
Food

Postby paid_influencer » October 14th, 2022, 6:45 pm

food & beverage manufacturing

literal sugar water = $6
handful of potato chips and air = $6

capital costs covered under govt grants, loans and tax relief
staff being replaced by automation (eventually no salaries to pay)
goods shelf stable for months
special access to forex + export market
everybody treating you like mvp #1 citizen for making sugar water and bags of air

Postby adnj » October 14th, 2022, 7:29 pm

Guns, ammo and abortion medications.

Postby shogun » October 14th, 2022, 7:32 pm

How does original art do locally?

Too niche to make any real profit?

Postby Dave » October 14th, 2022, 10:09 pm

It has money.

Local galleries once they like you would pay a piece to have it in their showcase and the balance upon sale.

My neighbor was once Leroy Clark. He was doing a piece for the OAS reception area. He said he didn't know if Patrick Manning could have afforded it and then laughed very hysterically.
His work was at a different level however.
Rip Mr Clark.
shogun wrote:How does original art do locally?

Too niche to make any real profit?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 15th, 2022, 3:46 am

anyone noticed the art gallery store somewhere close to marios on tragarete road. so much business in the area an the are gallery has its own lot of land for its car park and usually 99% empty while even marios dont have a car park. so business has to be good. grand bazar has an art / framing store that there since the mall open i think and always basically empty but able to pay rent. even horizon framing on mucurapo road has 2 buildings and them frames and art expensive but business have to be good as them there more than 20 years.

Postby MaxPower » October 15th, 2022, 8:45 am

Fineral home

Postby alfa » October 15th, 2022, 9:21 am

daring dragoon wrote:anyone noticed the art gallery store somewhere close to marios on tragarete road. so much business in the area an the are gallery has its own lot of land for its car park and usually 99% empty while even marios dont have a car park. so business has to be good. grand bazar has an art / framing store that there since the mall open i think and always basically empty but able to pay rent. even horizon framing on mucurapo road has 2 buildings and them frames and art expensive but business have to be good as them there more than 20 years.

Isn't art like a big front for money laundering? Not saying it's the case here though