Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2022, 11:54 am

Who remembers shake and bake chicken ?

And hamburger helper ?

death365

Postby death365 » August 2nd, 2022, 12:03 pm

wow this is ah tell me u were rich with out saying it thread.

Postby alfa » August 2nd, 2022, 1:01 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Who remembers shake and bake chicken ?

And hamburger helper ?

Shake and bake still on shelves :roll: just a few weeks ago I bought a box

Postby Les Bain » August 2nd, 2022, 1:14 pm

Was Sunday Basket any good? I was too small when they existed to make a credible judgement. Just remember I was real upset when they closed, and even more upset when years after leaving the building and signage up, it was torn down to put a friggin bank.

Postby timelapse » August 2nd, 2022, 1:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Who still making ice block ?
Here's my recipe.Tweak to suit.
1 tin Nestle cream
3/4 tin Nestle condensed milk
1-2 tsp essence

Add whatever flavour you want to that, blend it in a blender until it is properly mixed.Pour into whichever ice tray/styro cups/bowl/popsicle set/muffler bearing you have available.Put in freezer.Eat when frozen.
My flavour picks:
peanut butter
Ginger and cardamom for a barfi kind of taste
Oreo
Zaboca and white chocolate.

Sky is the limit.You can even let a beer get flat and use that as well.You don't need much.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 2nd, 2022, 1:28 pm

For me, instant nostalgia food:

0) Pastelle.

1) Arepas, Empanadas (lots of childhood in Caracas (when it was nice), Margarita, etc) (con queso, con carne!)

2) Plain-ole mango chow, in a bag with sauce, or a few slices on paper for 25¢ (not the fancy things you see nowadays.. like pineapple chow)

3) Green plum (or governer plum!) chow, salt and bird pepper (!important). Note: NOT plum chow!, just green plums, salt and pepper.

4) Fruit cocktail ice box cake my granny used to make

5) Royal castle (specifically royal castle pepper)

6) My gran's khitree rice with stew chicken. Always sappy like this. I find most ppls in Trini make theirs dry for some reason.

pics to make you hungry:

Last edited by FrankChag on August 2nd, 2022, 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2022, 1:39 pm

I using dry coconut, butterfly milk, condensed milk, nutmeg, vanilla essence....Daz meh iceblock recipe deh

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 2nd, 2022, 1:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I using dry coconut, butterfly milk, condensed milk, nutmeg, vanilla essence....Daz meh iceblock recipe deh

xmas time, gran used to send me to buy the heavy cream from hilo

Postby Rovin » August 2nd, 2022, 2:08 pm

shake n bake d original taste good dont like d other flavors , made by kraft foods since d mid 1960s , it still around

Les Bain wrote:Was Sunday Basket any good? I was too small when they existed to make a credible judgement. Just remember I was real upset when they closed, and even more upset when years after leaving the building and signage up, it was torn down to put a friggin bank.

i myself was young but i do remember it taste good since chaguanas did have a branch , here also had chicken unlimited & chuk wagon , royal castle was on d main road back in d 90s ... marios pizza had a nice fry chicken but i dont know what why they stop it about 15yrs ago

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2022, 2:25 pm

Rovin wrote:shake n bake d original taste good dont like d other flavors , made by kraft foods since d mid 1960s , it still around

Les Bain wrote:Was Sunday Basket any good? I was too small when they existed to make a credible judgement. Just remember I was real upset when they closed, and even more upset when years after leaving the building and signage up, it was torn down to put a friggin bank.

i myself was young but i do remember it taste good since chaguanas did have a branch , here also had chicken unlimited & chuk wagon , royal castle was on d main road back in d 90s ... marios pizza had a nice fry chicken but i dont know what why they stop it about 15yrs ago

Marios still sells Fried Chicken
Capture.JPG

matix

Postby matix » August 2nd, 2022, 2:29 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I using dry coconut, butterfly milk, condensed milk, nutmeg, vanilla essence....Daz meh iceblock recipe deh

That’s the damn thing self

Postby Rovin » August 2nd, 2022, 3:21 pm

well i never had casue to go on marios website nor havent been to marios mid center mall by me in yrs even though its like 10 mins away , they had stopped it at this branch for yrs so i dont know if they start back d fry chicken or if only this branch doesnt carry it , jes like how d kfc branch by d old Jubilee cinema on chaguanas main road never carries kfc biscuits ...

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2022, 3:35 pm

I remember back in the days, fadda used to carry we Mario's in gulf city on a Friday for pizza as a treat. That burger was the best tasting ting for me back then.
Dats in the 80's

I see the price ah penna cool in d grocery... Have a right to make ur own sucker bag and block at home.

Tink I coukd really make a few suckerbag... could work out well when place hot and working outside

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 2nd, 2022, 4:54 pm

the only thing is the short fat solo that my parents used to buy from solo factory for the christmas which i think they bringing back and the green sands from carib. used to feel like a adult when drinking a green sands from the bottle while adults drank their carib and stag.

Postby gastly369 » August 2nd, 2022, 5:11 pm

Rovin wrote:shake n bake d original taste good dont like d other flavors , made by kraft foods since d mid 1960s , it still around

Chicken unlimited high street San Fernando was the bomb!

Think there is a functioning branch penal to this day haven't had since was a kid but could still remember that flavor... Pretty sure it's not the same at all again

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 2nd, 2022, 5:27 pm

Anyone here mentioned Smarties as yet?

Postby alfa » August 2nd, 2022, 5:34 pm

When last anybody eat sugar apple? Forgot all about that until I saw selling this week, 30 for one. But it was worth it, I forgot how good it used to taste

Postby timelapse » August 2nd, 2022, 6:12 pm

alfa wrote:When last anybody eat sugar apple? Forgot all about that until I saw selling this week, 30 for one. But it was worth it, I forgot how good it used to taste
I have a tree

Postby A172 » August 2nd, 2022, 7:49 pm

when this came out in the mid 90's there were 2 flavours, this bbq garbage and a hot one

the hot one was discontinued and never to be seen again, yet u could find that bbq junk selling everywhere still to this day

anybody know why they stop making the hot one? that was actually good
1678900649.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 2nd, 2022, 8:11 pm

I remember in lol late 80s/early 90s when smoked back and neck was flooding the groceries down my side. Don't know what the price was but that was my fadda favourite, roti and curry alloo/ back n neck cookup.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2022, 8:29 pm

$2 orange slice with yuh bottle was the thing. I saw planters brought back the cheese balls....could have brought back the chilli....

Postby timelapse » August 2nd, 2022, 9:04 pm

viedcht wrote:I remember in lol late 80s/early 90s when smoked back and neck was flooding the groceries down my side. Don't know what the price was but that was my fadda favourite, roti and curry alloo/ back n neck cookup.
A piper roti is what that was called.

More nostalgia:
Peanut Gems
Bongo
Tiki
Charles Krik krac
Zoomers
Chiblo
Fried channa
Fried peanuts in pepper
Mill grated coconut and sugar
Coloured popcorn
Sarge bar
Richie Bar
Prawn crackers
Wafer biscuits
Mini boxes of raisins
Kc Sticker sweetie
Kf football gum
Kc tattoo sweetie
Sours
Preserved peach

Postby Les Bain » August 2nd, 2022, 9:38 pm

Pepsi in the talllllllllllll glass bottles you could return and get a 50 cents from the parlour.

Remember when it had a honey roasted nuts cart on nearly every corner, and the variations that came from it? Honey roasted nuts with raisins, honey roasted cashews, honey roasted nuts with cashews and raisins?

Postby MaxPower » August 2nd, 2022, 9:39 pm

Weyyyyz an it was LEVEL tattoo with them gum.

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2022, 9:52 pm

Anybody remember the hamburger carts that used to sell the $5 burgers ?

They used to come out late at night.

Similar to White Castle burgers .

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2022, 9:57 pm

1/2 litre returnable. Pepsi started it and eventually coke started using it too. Can't remember if it was sold at 50 cents but I do remember paying 75 cents with the empty which moved up to 1.50 over time.

Les Bain wrote:Pepsi in the talllllllllllll glass bottles you could return and get a 50 cents from the parlour.

Remember when it had a honey roasted nuts cart on nearly every corner, and the variations that came from it? Honey roasted nuts with raisins, honey roasted cashews, honey roasted nuts with cashews and raisins?

Postby SMc » August 3rd, 2022, 4:24 am

Texas Style- where KFC in Maraval is now. Who else remember that place? :oops:

Postby RedVEVO » August 3rd, 2022, 6:41 am

SMc wrote:

Texas Style- where KFC in Maraval is now. Who else remember that place? :oops:

Was that the fried chicken that was advertised as " Honey Dipped " ?

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 6:52 am

RedVEVO wrote:Anybody remember the hamburger carts that used to sell the $5 burgers ?

They used to come out late at night.

Similar to White Castle burgers .
Those used to be D.R. burger in the earlies.They still exist, just not carts.

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 10:40 am

$5 burgers u say , dat hadda like 30-40yrs ago ....