Stuart Young on CNN's Quest

Re: Stuart Young on CNN's Quest

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2022, 6:03 am

The fact that the bidders aren't taking taking the sections to drill, means they not seeing a favorable return on investment of that gas.

There may be gas under the sea, but so expensive to extract, that they can't sell it to recoup the costs.

Aka, gyas done

Wah meaning say, we only have gyas till 2040?

Postby bluefete » June 4th, 2022, 6:49 am

sMASH wrote:The fact that the bidders aren't taking taking the sections to drill, means they not seeing a favorable return on investment of that gas.

There may be gas under the sea, but so expensive to extract, that they can't sell it to recoup the costs.

Aka, gyas done

Wah meaning say, we only have gyas till 2040?

THIS!!!!!!!!!

Deep water drilling is extremely expensive and no company is going to put out that kind of money unless they are guaranteed to find some kind of oil and gas.

I think BHP got burnt with that already in T&T around 2015/2016. Strange thing is that they were drilling for oil but found gas instead and promptly proceeded to CAP THE WELL.

Edit: Found a link.

https://www.ogj.com/exploration-develop ... and-tobago

Then in 2021 we had this: What really is the truth?

https://www.offshore-energy.biz/bhp-fin ... -oil-hope/

Postby bluefete » June 4th, 2022, 6:59 am

https://www.offshore-mag.com/regional-r ... alyst-says

Trinidad and Tobago needs deepwater exploration stimulus, analyst says
June 3, 2021
Boosting investments in deepwater exploration offshore Trinidad and Tobago could reverse negative production trend after 2024, according to GlobalData.

Offshore staff

LONDON – Production of natural gas, the main commodity in Trinidad and Tobago (T&T), has been declining ever since 2015. Future gas output is projected to stay below 2017 numbers and then decline at a higher rate after 2024. In order to maintain the same level of production in the mid-term, the country needs to stimulate the exploration sector and pour investments in less explored areas such as deepwater offshore T&T, says GlobalData.

According to the company’s latest report, ‘Trinidad and Tobago Exploration & Production, 2021,’ natural gas production in T&T is expected to grow by an average of 2% in the next three years and reach more than 3,400 MMcf/d. However, in 2024, production will start declining at a rate of 3% to a value of 3,200 MMcf/d in 2025, assuming no new projects are brought online to compensate.

Svetlana Doh, Upstream Oil & Gas Analyst at GlobalData, said: “There are 10 planned or announced projects expected to come online between 2020 and 2024, which will gradually supply 150 MMcf/d of natural gas in 2021 and almost 1.1 bcf/d in 2025. The largest production growth is coming from offshore Colibri and Matapal fields, operated by Royal Dutch Shell and bp, respectively. Both assets account for almost 43% of overall additional production from future fields.

“However, it will barely compensate for the declining production from mature fields, causing the country’s overall gas production to decline after 2024.”

With respect to exploration, seven discovery wells were drilled in 2019 and three in 2020 with various level of success.

However, BHP’s exploration program in the so-called Southern license was not as encouraging, because the first well, Broadside-1, did not encounter any hydrocarbons and was plugged. The company is going to relinquish its two blocks due to unsuccessful exploration results.

Doh added: “Since most developed and undeveloped shallow-water blocks are already licensed, the upside potential is expected to come from the deepwater acreage that is offered in the 2020 deepwater competitive bid round. However, the fact that the 2020 deepwater bidding round was postponed and will see further delays due to the sudden death of T&T’s energy minister, Franklin Khan, earlier this year, will have a negative impact on the country’s production trend.

“Ultimately, continued investment will be needed in new exploration drilling in order not only to keep production growing, but constant.”

06/03/2021

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2022, 7:26 am

the ONLY stimulus the govt, or any future govt coudl give, is to cut the prices or taxes they hope to earn from those feilds...
aka, manage thier expectations of financial returns.

me, i say, start a state owned extraction company, buy a drill platform and suck that sucker out we self.

if we soooooooooo good at oil/gas that we could 'advise' ghana (who close to nigeria and angola and arabia), then we MUST also be able to extract ourselves.....
we cannot be so long in this game and not be able to do it ourselves.

all pnm is doing is pushing ah set of paper tigers in all aspects of their influence.

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2022, 8:03 am

bp spending more money investing in compression platforms retrofit to older wells to suck more out of declining wells

they rather invest in squeezing the juice out of old wells than new exploration

Postby timelapse » June 4th, 2022, 9:01 am

Grate is yuh bamsee under PNM

ruskie

Postby ruskie » June 4th, 2022, 10:32 pm

bluefete wrote:Liar, liar pants on fire.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tt-fail ... PIH1tFMVAc

Oddly, that link not working.
Screenshot_20220604_223023_com.android.chrome.jpg

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2022, 9:01 am

We didn't need an article to tell us we're in deep doo doo wrt gas production, hence Goebbels sheit talk about Europe is bull because we don't even have gas for domestic use, far less export markets like Europe.

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2022, 11:24 am

Only really industry and gas business people would know what the story is.
The general population would only know what come across the media.

Feeling to do a video to ask him to pull gas out his ass to make use of pricing.

The markets are reshuffling, but beginning tob settle, so u would see that pricing trend downwards.

Ksa might actually increase output, and that would help drop prices, until the markets realign.

Goebbels young just throw a bunch of sh!t in the public space, and the windfall window might close before he get proper clap back.

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2022, 1:08 pm

ruskie wrote:
bluefete wrote:Liar, liar pants on fire.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tt-fail ... PIH1tFMVAc

Oddly, that link not working. Screenshot_20220604_223023_com.android.chrome.jpg

Well, I just tried it again and it is working. Maybe, they blocked you for a reason!

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 5th, 2022, 6:53 pm

sMASH wrote:the ONLY stimulus the govt, or any future govt coudl give, is to cut the prices or taxes they hope to earn from those feilds...

me, i say, start a state owned extraction company, buy a drill platform and suck that sucker out we self.

if we soooooooooo good at oil/gas that we could 'advise' ghana (who close to nigeria and angola and arabia), then we MUST also be able to extract ourselves.....

all pnm is doing is pushing ah set of paper tigers in all aspects of their influence.

Like Petrotrin or Trintomar?

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2022, 7:16 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
sMASH wrote:the ONLY stimulus the govt, or any future govt coudl give, is to cut the prices or taxes they hope to earn from those feilds...

Like Petrotrin or Trintomar?

ba dum tss