When is the best time to check your engine oil to get a good reading?

I check it when my engine is cold( sits for a long time)
100%
I warm up my engine at operating temperature, then I wait til it cools down to check it
No votes

Total votes: 15

Postby aaron17 » April 21st, 2022, 9:13 am

I always don't check it when it reaches operating temperature even though the manual says it. Only cold.
What is the purpose of checking it at operating temperature? Even if we are in a warm climate?

Re: When is the best time to check your engine oil to get a good reading?

Postby teems1 » April 21st, 2022, 9:16 am

When the car is on, the oil is being pumped around the engine/header/turbo etc.

You need to measure it cold when it's all in the pan to get an accurate reading.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 21st, 2022, 9:23 am

teems1 wrote:When the car is on, the oil is being pumped around the engine/header/turbo etc.

You need to measure it cold when it's all in the pan to get an accurate reading.

Also on a level ground .

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 21st, 2022, 9:39 am

Cold engine, level ground.
Check the other fluids as yuh there one time :)

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 21st, 2022, 10:00 am

Just did my 100,000 km tune up on my 2014 Corolla , with the North American climate recommend oil 0W20 should be checked cold on a level ground ,mostly new cars with CVT transmissions it’s sealed so checking it’s not an option , changed out the stock rotors for the DS one brand drilled slotted coated with the Bosch Quietcast disc pads , service the calliper pins, new shims and clips new huge difference in stopping power .

Brake rotors 100,000 KM passed tru 8 winter seasons all the salt and abuse .

Postby MG Man » April 21st, 2022, 10:28 am

cold, with max oil in the sump, level ground
SO I check first thing in the morning
If for example you're checking after an oil change / top-up etc, 10 minutes after adding oil or switching off the engine should do

hindian

Postby hindian » April 21st, 2022, 11:11 am

Cold, on level ground. I suppose the other follow up question might be how often should you check your oil?

Postby aaron17 » April 21st, 2022, 11:14 am

I does check it once a month just for sake. If I see any drop for no reason , I does check it once a week just to monitor the drop.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 21st, 2022, 11:46 am

every morning .

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 21st, 2022, 11:50 am

It also depends on the vehicle you drive and the age of the engine. Some engines consume oil which is normal operation like some boxer and rotary engines.

Do some research so you would know if your engine is more at risk to oil burn or not. It is important to pour the correct viscosity/body as per manufacturer specs.

0W-20 and 5W-30 are common for most new/modern fuel injected, direct injected, forced induction and hybrid vehicles.

Recently a particular dealership poured 10W-30 in a new turbocharged engine doing 20,000kms. After 2 months, I decided to check the dipstick and saw that almost half the oil was burnt. The dealership's response to this was basically to doh hot yuh head cause if the engine mash up, they would replace it for free since I have evidence that they did the wrong thing.

Again I underscore, make sure the correct body is poured into your engine. These modern engines with sophisticated valve timing systems, twin cam heads and 4 valve per cylinder etc require proper lubrication and pouring thick oil into the engine would not help it at all.

Stop driving off as soon as you cold start the engine. Let the operating temperature regularize first and allow the oil to properly reach the head before you simply drive off hard or start to rev up etc.

If you're lucky enough to have a 4E-FE, 5A/4A-FE, 1G-FE, 1/2JZ-GE, GA15/16DE, SR18/20DE, RB20/25DE, 4G63, B16A and K20A then kindly ignore. We understand those engines can run like Swiss watches even if you pour sand and water in them lol.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 21st, 2022, 12:31 pm

MG Man wrote:cold, with max oil in the sump, level ground
SO I check first thing in the morning
If for example you're checking after an oil change / top-up etc, 10 minutes after adding oil or switching off the engine should do

i usually start n as the oil light switches off(oil pressure sufficient) i switch off and check again. Reason being the new oil filter has to fill. Some filters can be filled before attaching it depending on position.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 21st, 2022, 2:14 pm

I check every morning because the habit stuck with me from driving ole car. A quick check of all fluids and belts and a general glance over is enough to settle my mind on wifey car especially and she drives the newer one lol.

Postby Chimera » April 21st, 2022, 2:24 pm

D bess time to check is when the the oil light come on and yuh see smoke coming from under the bonnet.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 21st, 2022, 2:38 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:D bess time to check is when the the oil light come on and yuh see smoke coming from under the bonnet.

Postby rollingstock » April 21st, 2022, 3:01 pm

I does check oil on my sloped driveway whilst idling so I could play mih Skeng X Sparta. Once I see a lil oil on the dipstick it have enough.
If there's no reading that is a reminder that I should probably change that pcv valve that stuck open in 2015 and it's time for an oil change. Drain and dump the whole gallon till next 5-6k Kms

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 21st, 2022, 3:24 pm

Once the car switched off for at least 5-10 mins, all the oil should be returned to the oil pan and it good to check.
Oil volume doesnt change much with temps, the viscosity does.

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2022, 3:57 pm

Oil....wuz dat?

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2022, 4:13 pm

As we on the oil topic - a question:

My very experienced mechanic recently suggested that I use 15-40 oil for my 15 year old Toyota. He said it is used in diesel cars but its viscosity is quite good.

I have used 10-30 oil from ever since - manufacturer recommended. Car is roro.

Should I go with his suggestion?

Postby rollingstock » April 21st, 2022, 4:23 pm

Why? What's his reasoning?
If the vehicle was maintained in a timely manner I see no reason to stray from manufacturers recommended body oil

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2022, 4:29 pm

rollingstock wrote:Why? What's his reasoning?
If the vehicle was maintained in a timely manner I see no reason to stray from manufacturers recommended body oil

He said that 15-40 oil takes longer to break down and as the car is about 15years, it is time to look at oil suitable for older cars.

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2022, 4:31 pm

If there is no burning then remain with the body currently being used.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2022, 4:47 pm

Dave wrote:If there is no burning then remain with the body currently being used.

Thank you. I think the sump is quite icky from the oil not being changed on time.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 21st, 2022, 5:16 pm

Like this?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 21st, 2022, 5:23 pm

I check the oil level after starting it for 2 minutes, then switching off and letting it sit for at least 5.

My vehicle will gladly show full when stone cold with 6 quarts but it will be in the bottom quarter of the dipstick after it is checked minutes after it was run

In terms of frequency... I check it just before I planned for it to be changed or when the vehicle sounds or responds differently(engine wise)

Stick with what works for you yes. Diesel oil isn't the best for gas engine cars; it will work... But it probably isn't a good long term solution.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 21st, 2022, 7:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:D bess time to check is when the the oil light come on and yuh see smoke coming from under the bonnet.
I had a friend who used to do that with an RD1 CRV despite me telling her that that is not how it works. Sold it eventually cuz the engine developed a knock lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2022, 7:53 pm

agent007 wrote:It also depends on the vehicle you drive and the age of the engine. Some engines consume oil which is normal operation like some boxer and rotary engines.

Do some research so you would know if your engine is more at risk to oil burn or not. It is important to pour the correct viscosity/body as per manufacturer specs.

0W-20 and 5W-30 are common for most new/modern fuel injected, direct injected, forced induction and hybrid vehicles.

Recently a particular dealership poured 10W-30 in a new turbocharged engine doing 20,000kms. After 2 months, I decided to check the dipstick and saw that almost half the oil was burnt. The dealership's response to this was basically to doh hot yuh head cause if the engine mash up, they would replace it for free since I have evidence that they did the wrong thing.

Again I underscore, make sure the correct body is poured into your engine. These modern engines with sophisticated valve timing systems, twin cam heads and 4 valve per cylinder etc require proper lubrication and pouring thick oil into the engine would not help it at all.

Stop driving off as soon as you cold start the engine. Let the operating temperature regularize first and allow the oil to properly reach the head before you simply drive off hard or start to rev up etc.

If you're lucky enough to have a 4E-FE, 5A/4A-FE, 1G-FE, 1/2JZ-GE, GA15/16DE, SR18/20DE, RB20/25DE, 4G63, B16A and K20A then kindly ignore. We understand those engines can run like Swiss watches even if you pour sand and water in them lol.

Add qd32, 1kd/2kd to that list....some may even argue for qg15 and 1zz

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2022, 8:29 pm

And the almighty Nissan L series.
Qgs and the 1nz are quite good.

Postby rollingstock » April 21st, 2022, 11:18 pm

bluefete wrote:
Dave wrote:If there is no burning then remain with the body currently being used.

Thank you. I think the sump is quite icky from the oil not being changed on time.
bluefete wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Why? What's his reasoning?

He said that 15-40 oil takes longer to break down and as the car is about 15years, it is time to look at oil suitable for older cars.

If there's build up in the sump a 15/40 intended for diesel engines may be his way of dealing with it. Diesel oils have more detergents.

I would drop the sump and give it a clean and do a visual inspection, but most of these mechanics these days are change parts specialist.

Postby Chimera » April 22nd, 2022, 12:15 am

hindian wrote:
I had a friend who used to do that with an RD1 CRV despite me telling her that that is not how it works. Sold it eventually cuz the engine developed a knock lol
When u hear a knock in the engine that's the honda genie asking to be let out

Postby 88sins » April 22nd, 2022, 2:38 am

kamakazi wrote:
Stick with what works for you yes. Diesel oil isn't the best for gas engine cars; it will work... But it probably isn't a good long term solution.

Works really well, especially for cleaning and flushing gunk out of older engines and freeing up parts that can start moving a bit sluggish when varnish starts to build up, like valves and lifters. Would not recommend using it consistently as a replacement for the vehicles recommended oil, but it does have a benefit to using it.