Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 12:31 pm

LFD RFD PNM dummies using full bars and beaches as signs of a booming economy :lol: :lol:

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 19th, 2022, 12:36 pm

Let's consider how many people were immediately affected by the fuel price increases but at the same time, how much of us benefit from subsidies to the air and sea bridges and subventions to uwi, utt, mic and costaat etc.

By that same token, if we unable to sustain a cash bleed on our treasury, then consider removing ALL subsidies and subventions to save tax payers at least a Billion TTD a year.

That Billion dollars can go towards our road and national civil infrastructure so at least we won't be buying shocks, ends, ball joints, steering rack, links and bushings on top of a high fuel bill.

Just a thought.

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 12:38 pm

INHUMAN wrote:chataigne reign supreme
Dan, cup of channa and a Guiness....Chataigne don't have a chance

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » April 19th, 2022, 12:41 pm

In light of what's going on which would be the more economic choice :

1.CNG

2.Hybrid

3. PTSC

4.Motorbike

(just added the last two for the lulz tho it might be cheaper than driving a car)

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 12:45 pm

agent007 wrote:Let's consider how many people were immediately affected by the fuel price increases but at the same time, how much of us benefit from subsidies to the air and sea bridges and subventions to uwi, utt, mic and costaat etc.

By that same token, if we unable to sustain a cash bleed on our treasury, then consider removing ALL subsidies and subventions to save tax payers at least a Billion TTD a year.

That Billion dollars can go towards our road and national civil infrastructure so at least we won't be buying shocks, ends, ball joints, steering rack, links and bushings on top of a high fuel bill.

Just a thought.

Has JUHN Scarfy or Impsy indicated where the "savings" on the fuel subsidy are going?

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2022, 12:51 pm

KM_2NR wrote:In light of what's going on which would be the more economic choice :

1.CNG

2.Hybrid

3. PTSC

4.Motorbike

(just added the last two for the lulz tho it might be cheaper than driving a car)

maybe 3 or 4

converting a car to cng may still be the cheapest assuming u can get back teh cost of teh kit as tax returns and also cng maybe about 75% cheaper than gas, maybe more with this price increase. but u will have less trunk space and there are fewer gas stations available with cng.

in a couple months' time we will have tax free hybrids tho

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 12:55 pm

Question for CNG experts.
Can I install audio equipment near the tank?
Amps etc.

Postby zoom rader » April 19th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Dave wrote:Anybody who didn't think this wasn't coming must have been living under a rock.
Any politically appointed body would have had the task of doing it. The three previous increases may or may not have happened but this one at this time was predictable as the sun rising and setting everyday.

Yes we all know that.

The issue is had this been the UNC in office then the outcome would have been met with protest and riots coming from the red movement ppl.

Then we have kants like Eliteauto-Tun Tun and J.O.E putting spin that the UNC is weak. These two clowns will never Criticise the red government .

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2022, 1:26 pm

probably to pay ferris rent

agent007 wrote:Let's consider how many people were immediately affected by the fuel price increases but at the same time, how much of us benefit from subsidies to the air and sea bridges and subventions to uwi, utt, mic and costaat etc.

Just a thought.

Has JUHN Scarfy or Impsy indicated where the "savings" on the fuel subsidy are going?

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 1:34 pm

LFD RFD PNM dummies praising racist, illegal, and violent protests as a strength

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2022, 2:39 pm

timelapse wrote:Question for CNG experts.
Amps etc.

u doh want trunk space i take it

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 19th, 2022, 3:08 pm

redmanjp wrote:
KM_2NR wrote:In light of what's going on which would be the more economic choice :

1.CNG

2.Hybrid

3. PTSC

4.Motorbike

maybe 3 or 4

converting a car to cng may still be the cheapest assuming u can get back teh cost of teh kit as tax returns and also cng maybe about 75% cheaper than gas, maybe more with this price increase. but u will have less trunk space and there are fewer gas stations available with cng.

I would never recommend anyone to convert to CNG.
I did it and sold the vehicle soon after.
Terrible driving exp. And everyday had to be in the gas station. Wasn't worth the time or effort for that savings. Best to go hybrid or EV

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2022, 3:40 pm

so are any hybrid dealers taking orders for tax free vehicles now?

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 3:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Amps etc.

u doh want trunk space i take it
Strictly for information purposes.

Postby aaron17 » April 19th, 2022, 3:53 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

1.CNG

2.Hybrid

3. PTSC

4.Motorbike

maybe 3 or 4

I would never recommend anyone to convert to CNG.
I did it and sold the vehicle soon after.
Terrible driving exp. And everyday had to be in the gas station. Wasn't worth the time or effort for that savings. Best to go hybrid or EV

Can it blow up easy?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 19th, 2022, 3:56 pm

From the signals, CNG is dead and the govt won't be pushing it any more. Expect a slow phase out.
Electric and hybrid is where the efforts are going.

Postby bluefete » April 19th, 2022, 4:14 pm

Just a thought.

Don't we pay a road tax every time we fill up? It is clear that money is not being used to fix the roads.

Savings from fuel subsidy will go towards some big project where the government can hide corruption and theft.

Remember Imbert and company are not affected by any fuel increase because WE pay them a travel allowance of $6,660.00 per month.

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2022, 4:18 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:From the signals, CNG is dead and the govt won't be pushing it any more. Expect a slow phase out.
Electric and hybrid is where the efforts are going.

they said they wont expand it, but they not removing existing infrastructure- otherwise thousands of ppl who already have cng vehicles would be affected.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 19th, 2022, 4:20 pm

S_2NR wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:protest over gas prices today, school reopening, gas price going up from today and your PM say kiss my blax arse and gone barbados. you can protest or conform like sheep it dont matter to he. he is the head n!gga and he can do what he wants. imagine people vote he there to make their lives worst. blax people really chupid yes.

So you're not just an idiot, you're a racist idiot. Cool.

if you can tell me what is false about my statement then you is a kant an probably fall into the blax idiot group.

I dont argue with racist idiots, bye.

So you can't even state what was racist about this, but you quick to jump to the excuse "I don't argue with racists"
Typical mentality of that group. Anytime someone calls out your "brands" it is racist.
Strange how you keep out of the crime thread.

You still looking for white gyul buttom to lick ?
Or you give up scrunting and settle for a fair Vene instead?
Boi Hymc and eat one banana instead of 2 nah.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 19th, 2022, 4:29 pm

I never understood why we pushed CNG in the first place. I know it was to satisfy a particular conglomerate but the Honda City was such a lackluster vehicle in the $170k to $180k range.

Built in Thailand and carries 2 airbags, a torsion beam rear suspension and rear drum brakes. The trunk space is suitable for light supermarket shopping or some bakery runs.
Taking your family or friends to the airport in that car is not advised.

Also, similar to Aqua drivers, I'm seeing a lot of road aggression from these City CNG drivers. Listen up owners, VTEC CNG is not the same VTEC found in a Civic EK4 SiR ok. A simple Accent 1.6 will rinse yuh very bad so be careful on who you pick on to impress yuh gf.

Better you just buy a Ciaz, Baleno, Accent, Rio, Yaris or Mazda2 over that City.

Anyway, as was mentioned before, retrofitting a CNG kit into a vehicle that was never designed for it is not a good idea.

What about weight distribution and handling dynamics? How does it affect over or understeer and factors such as wheel camber etc. What about the barrage of coil pack issues, spark plug change-out and cutting rear carpet to drill brackets into the frame of the vehicle. If you OCDish like me, there is absolutely no way I would do something like that to my car especially losing your trunk access or fold-down seat features.

I couldn't sleep right when I installed the rear strut bar in my Lancer EX years ago. I made sure it was done neatly as possible then I recovered it using the factory supplied carpet.

If you all see value in retrofitting or buying a new City then don't let me dissuade you...fix up! Better yet, buy them while you still can cause there is no all new model. What the dealership may have to do is import the replacement model and convert them here lol.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 19th, 2022, 4:38 pm

daring dragoon wrote: only idiots vote PNM.

Well yes and no. My money tall and most of it is not even in Toilet Paper brands (TTD)
The only reason I vote PNM is because of their treatment of their own "brands"

If PNM really start stepping on my toes and affecting my money, then I might change my tune.
No other party treats their own kind like PNM.

Postby eliteauto » April 19th, 2022, 4:38 pm

The dealership has already shifted to the new Vezel/HR-V hybrid

Postby Les Bain » April 19th, 2022, 5:17 pm

Amps etc.

Somewhat related: can you music out an EV as you would an internal combustion engined vehicle? That may be a sticking point for certain people with single digit mental ages.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 19th, 2022, 5:34 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Amps etc.

Somewhat related: can you music out an EV as you would an internal combustion engined vehicle? That may be a sticking point for certain people with single digit mental ages.

Hahahah 20meter range But we loud!!!!.. that’ll catch on

Postby gastly369 » April 19th, 2022, 5:46 pm

I see kia ig does post the random ev6 without any info(the look at this sorts post)....idk if testing market interest in it but would really wonder the cost for one tho

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 5:49 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Amps etc.

I have a brethren wanting me to put hard pong in a Honda City with cng.I ain't feeling too safe about running high power wires near the tank

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2022, 6:50 pm

Postby zoom rader » April 19th, 2022, 7:06 pm

Red government and car dealers plan wuking.

Buss gas and make idiots buy carts.

When they buy carts then buss electricity rates.

What a jack arse country

Postby 88sins » April 19th, 2022, 7:35 pm

Just a thought.

Tuner resident optimist found :D
U kno damn well, any "savings" gained from eliminated subsidies ain't going to be used to the benefit of the population at large.
After the billions spent on road paving over the last 5 decades, and even now these con-tractors can't pave a road properly to last more than 4 years, is spending more money on giving them paving contracts go fix that? And when wasa dig up d road the morning after it now done pave, then what?

That money gonna be used to repay party financiers with lucrative contracts for shoddy work, the way it's always been done.

Postby aaron17 » April 19th, 2022, 7:49 pm

I saw a new Prius on the road. Suddenly , it eh looking all dat ugly now. :shock: