The_Honourable wrote:In the camp where i'll be getting away for sure. Not in the mood for music trucks parking up on my street to "test".
Probably will go toco or mayaro. Maybe i'll put those caribbean miles that i gained over the pandemic to good use and go up the islands. Accepting suggestions for getaways.
You purport that people that don't support carnival are edge lords.I am purporting that the opposite must also be true.Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Simple as it getstimelapse wrote:Have your promiscuous fun,just don't take tax money to do itDohplaydat wrote:timelapse wrote:If carnival folks were responsible in their activities, no problem.mero wrote:OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?
My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.
Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?
My issues:
Increased thefts/robberies to fund the activities of some.
Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.
Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.
Wastage of plastics and other non-renewable materials.
Littering.I don't need to explain this.
Increased alcohol related deaths on the roadways.
Thats just some.
By this logic we should ban everything fun and convert to a Sharia law system.
Try again edgelords
Promiscuousity is irrelevant to the discussion, people are free to do what they want and they don't need carnival for that.
The tax money that is spent keeps the industry afloat providing thousands upon thousands of jobs. That money doesn't leave the economy, it cycles around earning VAT and other taxes for the government. Not to mention the 30k returning trinis who are spending an average of 10k, Carnival is probably very profitable and is a big boost to our creative industry.
If it so profitable why private sector never jump in and say government don't worry we have it covered for year..for one year...NEVER. they rather piggyback off the government and enjoy the profits.timelapse wrote:You purport that people that don't support carnival are edge lords.I am purporting that the opposite must also be true.Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Simple as it getstimelapse wrote:Have your promiscuous fun,just don't take tax money to do itDohplaydat wrote:timelapse wrote:If carnival folks were responsible in their activities, no problem.mero wrote:OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?
My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.
Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?
My issues:
Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.
Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.
Thats just some.
Try again edgelords
Promiscuousity is irrelevant to the discussion, people are free to do what they want and they don't need carnival for that.
The tax money that is spent keeps the industry afloat providing thousands upon thousands of jobs. That money doesn't leave the economy, it cycles around earning VAT and other taxes for the government. Not to mention the 30k returning trinis who are spending an average of 10k, Carnival is probably very profitable and is a big boost to our creative industry.
If carnival is so profitable, why does it consistently need an injection from tax money?
hover11 wrote:If it so profitable why private sector never jump in and say government don't worry we have it covered for year..for one year...NEVER. they rather piggyback off the government and enjoy the profits.timelapse wrote:You purport that people that don't support carnival are edge lords.I am purporting that the opposite must also be true.Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Simple as it getstimelapse wrote:Have your promiscuous fun,just don't take tax money to do itDohplaydat wrote:timelapse wrote:If carnival folks were responsible in their activities, no problem.mero wrote:OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?
My issues:
Thats just some.
Try again edgelords
If carnival is so profitable, why does it consistently need an injection from tax money?
pugboy wrote:when them pods and tents coming down?
or they leaving up until next year
eliteauto wrote:pugboy wrote:when them pods and tents coming down?
They'll have to come down, cyah eat ah stale food next year
Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.eliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
hover11 wrote:Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.eliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:pugboy wrote:when them pods and tents coming down?
They'll have to come down, cyah eat ah stale food next year
Scaffolding is charged based on usage, so if it remains up and unused, food still eating.
As a LFD RFD PNM card carrying member, you should know this
De Dragon wrote:hover11 wrote:Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.eliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
LFD RFD PNM mantra, encourage dependency syndrome in those least available to afford it.
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:hover11 wrote:Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.eliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
LFD RFD PNM mantra, encourage dependency syndrome in those least available to afford it.
Hover is correct I've always said the State should exit Carnival financially and just be a facilitator. That's completely different from your take, there is no dependency syndrome for those least available to afford it because almost ALL government subventions for carnival go to stakeholders who can very well afford it. They suck the Treasury for sponsorship and take all the profits. The model is broken not the event, allyuh so sour that it all over the shop
eliteauto wrote:Dragon come nah man, that is anecdotal stories, crime happens all year round. And why lump borrow with rob and steal? Stereotype much?
Why you list the Pros of carnivaleliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
Owned by Red government ppl who milk tax payers funds.pugboy wrote:tent rentals is the new road paving
EndorsedMaxPower wrote:#BanCarnival2023+
MaxPower wrote:#BanCarnival2023+
Covid has proven that Trinidad does not need carnival.MaxPower wrote:#BanCarnival2023+
zoom rader wrote:Covid has proven that Trinidad does not need carnival.MaxPower wrote:#BanCarnival2023+