T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 1:15 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Are these foreign used or brand new EV prices?

I assume it's brand new

carluva

Postby carluva » February 15th, 2022, 1:36 pm

Seems like quite a comprehensive list there.

Are all these models currently available locally?

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » February 15th, 2022, 1:39 pm

Was eyeballing the Mazda MX-30 but at that price...lol. Would seem gas is still the better option for most unless there was some sort of personal tax incentive when filing a return.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 15th, 2022, 1:53 pm

Don't be fooled by that list as most have to be booked and ordered in advance due to supply issues.

You can bring in your own 2020/1 Leaf brand new for $205k landed and registered ready to insure and drive. If you prefer a used one like a 2019, you can get one for as low as $170k.

zando

Postby zando » February 15th, 2022, 6:17 pm

Sooooo staria is here, nice van 483 is the price, dunno how this will do on trini roads, it's a large vehicle from what I know, not sure if diesel or gas but I'd say diesel is the best option.
Screenshot_20220215-172212__01.jpg

Postby K74T » February 15th, 2022, 7:05 pm

Kona on the port

FB_IMG_1644966285982.jpg
FB_IMG_1644966289128.jpg
FB_IMG_1644966292691.jpg

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 15th, 2022, 7:15 pm

Hybrids did really well when the tax break was for up to 4 year old cars

Unless the law is changed from 2 to 4 year old cars for electric vehicles this will just be a subsidy for the rich

Postby hover11 » February 16th, 2022, 8:03 am

Good point, however, all subsidies benefit the rich more than the poor. Anyway, we bringing down electric vehicles and we have no infrastructure for such ? Strange.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » February 16th, 2022, 9:55 am

Hey peeps, was thinking of upgrading my Navara D40, she's gonna be 10 problem free years this year. I'm considering the new NP300 Facelift. Y'all think we would see a new built from the ground model within the next two-three years?

I don't want to jump out now and then in two years time there is a spanking new model as I keep my vehicles for about eight - ten years.

The new DMAX is also an option.

Postby j.o.e » February 16th, 2022, 12:01 pm

hover11 wrote:Good point, however, all subsidies benefit the rich more than the poor. Anyway, we bringing down electric vehicles and we have no infrastructure for such ? Strange.

Trinidad is small. Charge at home. You’re not gonna be making trips longer than your range or even close to it.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 16th, 2022, 2:11 pm

blacklight wrote:Hey peeps, was thinking of upgrading my Navara D40, she's gonna be 10 problem free years this year. I'm considering the new NP300 Facelift. Y'all think we would see a new built from the ground model within the next two-three years?

I don't want to jump out now and then in two years time there is a spanking new model as I keep my vehicles for about eight - ten years.

Blacklight, I'm glad your d40 navara did you well and continues to do so. The new D23 would be around for another few years again so you don't have to worry. One thing though, whilst the d23 was known initially as the np300 Frontier locally, since 2020, these units imported by massy are simply known as Frontier.

The YD25 engine has truly stood up to our poor diesel so I have absolutely no qualms in recommending that you upgrade to the new face-lifted d23 Frontier simply because the vehicle has a larger more usable tray and it has a safer body structure with more airbags etc. The Pro 4 X "P4X" is just marketing hype. It's better to buy the LE which is cheaper and you get 18" wheels, heated seats and some nice chrome trims etc. That P4X with the black out trims and 17" rims with manual drivers seat for more money makes no sense.

The Dmax, bt50, Sportero and hilux are my other picks but the yd25 engine is hard to ignore and up to now the 7AT transmission in the Frontier still has 1 more cog than its competitors. Nissan being a class leader in something is actually weird lol.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 17th, 2022, 12:09 am

More doesn't necessarily mean better. More gears simply tell me that the power band of the engine is narrower.

Not sure if it will make it here but Ford has twin turbo 2.0 engine in the ranger with a 10speed transmission which is supposed to be positioned above the 3.2 model. 10 speeds are required to make up for the deficiency in pulling power low down in the rev range.

VW tried something similar by having more gears in the Amarok without having a low range gearbox. I believe it was 6 speeds at a time when others were offering 4 and 5.

I'm just pointing out the compromises that are being made... Most don't care anyway...

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 17th, 2022, 1:58 am

Nice info!

Postby Kenjo » February 19th, 2022, 5:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check the electric vehicle prices on this website
https://www.ttsmartenergy.com/

Nissan Leaf Standard- $295,845 TTD,
Mid range - $300,810 TTD,
Long range -$354,358 TTD
Average range of cars -239 Miles

Nissan Ariya Standard - $380,243 TTD,
Mid Range - $500,416 TTD,
Long Range - $513,704 TTD
Average Range - 223 miles to 310 miles

Tesla Model 3 Standard- $360,000 TTD
Average Range - 315 - 358 Miles

Tesla Model X - $922,500 TTD
Average Range - 351 miles

Tesla Model Y - $420,000 TTD
Average Range - 303- 330 Miles

Mazda MX 30 - $321,836 TTD
Average Range - 100 miles

Honda E - $321,836 TTD
Average Range - 137 miles

Subaru Soltera - $354,358 TTD (available from September 2022)
Average Range - 220 Miles

Audi E tron Standard - $420,066 TTD,
Mid range - $461,881 TTD,
Long Range - $479,801 TTD
Average Range -222 - 373 Miles

Audi E Tron SUV - $643,075 TTD
Average Range - 222 miles

Lexus UX 300 e c - $407,456 TTD
Average Range - 196 Miles

Lexus UX 300 e L - $443,960 TTD
Average Range - 196 miles

Mercedes EQC SUV - $659,668 TTD
Average Range - 255 miles

Audi e-Tron Quattro - $895,000 TTD
Average Range - 180 miles

Audi e-Tron RS - $605,000 TTD
Average Range - 180 Miles

Porshe Taycan - $930,000 TTD
Average Range - 225 Miles

BMW i3 -$394,181 TTD
Average Range - 153 Miles

BMW i3 SUV - $594,624
Average Range - 153 miles

BMW IX SUV - $690,863 TTD
Average Range - 300 miles

Feel I can aim for the etron Audi for early next year . Price looks like the best compromise at least for looks in these offerings . Saw another company in November last year with a similar price

Postby Gladiator » February 20th, 2022, 10:56 pm

agent007 wrote:
blacklight wrote:Hey peeps, was thinking of upgrading my Navara D40, she's gonna be 10 problem free years this year. I'm considering the new NP300 Facelift. Y'all think we would see a new built from the ground model within the next two-three years?

Blacklight, I'm glad your d40 navara did you well and continues to do so. The new D23 would be around for another few years again so you don't have to worry. One thing though, whilst the d23 was known initially as the np300 Frontier locally, since 2020, these units imported by massy are simply known as Frontier.

The YD25 engine has truly stood up to our poor diesel so I have absolutely no qualms in recommending that you upgrade to the new face-lifted d23 Frontier simply because the vehicle has a larger more usable tray and it has a safer body structure with more airbags etc. The Pro 4 X "P4X" is just marketing hype. It's better to buy the LE which is cheaper and you get 18" wheels, heated seats and some nice chrome trims etc. That P4X with the black out trims and 17" rims with manual drivers seat for more money makes no sense.

The Dmax, bt50, Sportero and hilux are my other picks but the yd25 engine is hard to ignore and up to now the 7AT transmission in the Frontier still has 1 more cog than its competitors. Nissan being a class leader in something is actually weird lol.

Please tell me you made a mistake quoting heated seats as a feature to buy the Navara LE...

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 21st, 2022, 1:22 am

Actually glad, it would be remiss of me not to indicate such a difference whether we consider it a justifiable inclusion or not!

View it from the angle that it will cost Nissan more money to add the feature than to omit it (I should have also mentioned that the drivers seat has electric adjustment for slide, recline and lumbar support) but the power of marketing hype has the P4X as more expensive than the LE.

Either way, it’s important that we know the equipment differences between said LE and the P4X so we can determine what would suit us best (for those who’ve settled on the Frontier of course).

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 6:43 am

It looks like Mitsubishi has officially launched an attack on Subaru locally.

The 2022 Eclipse Cross Turbo has arrived, this time sporting pretty much the entire option list and get this, the S-AWC awd system (to be confirmed of course). The standard safety tech was impressive in the non refreshed model and now it appears you won't be disappointed on what they've included now...

Price starts at $299k for the Dynamic. The GLS version would be more.
FB_IMG_1645525886755.jpg
FB_IMG_1645525884565.jpg
FB_IMG_1645525881820.jpg
Last edited by agent007 on February 22nd, 2022, 6:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 7:03 am

The Eclipse Cross Dynamic+ is $329k and yes the S-AWC awd system is confirmed (circular engagement knob located by the heated seats switches).
FB_IMG_1645527409871.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 22nd, 2022, 9:15 am

At least the rear looks a lot better than the previous style

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 22nd, 2022, 9:19 am

I’m gonna be in the market for a suv for moms soon… I trying all how to get her into a XV but she loves the CRV too much. Grey market prices are basically the firm’s prices at this point. So keep y’all eyes out for me

The MG verdict is a no go right?

I never had a mitsu but I feel it’s about time I pay ansa a visit, their offerings looking decent.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 3:10 pm

If you have plenty land down Mafeking side, and if you do decide to buy any MG vehicle, I can assure you within 5 years, that vehicle would probably have a Nissan QG18 in it and you would have cut the back roof open, removed the back seat and use it to transport your cucumbers and tomatoes etc from there to Persad's the Food King easily.

I would say it's a good investment if you looking to have a farm vehicle in the long run.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 22nd, 2022, 4:01 pm

nick639v2 wrote:I’m gonna be in the market for a suv for moms soon… I trying all how to get her into a XV but she loves the CRV too much. Grey market prices are basically the firm’s prices at this point. So keep y’all eyes out for me

I never had a mitsu but I feel it’s about time I pay ansa a visit, their offerings looking decent.

Ansa usually charges an arm and leg for servicing at the firm, so keep that in mind.

david12

Postby david12 » February 22nd, 2022, 4:19 pm

nick639v2 wrote:I’m gonna be in the market for a suv for moms soon… I trying all how to get her into a XV but she loves the CRV too much. Grey market prices are basically the firm’s prices at this point. So keep y’all eyes out for me

Buy something that you know and accustomed to. I can talk from experience about the XV and it's a great vehicle, very comfortable and you have the advantage of parts support online. Of course the other cars you called will be the same for parts. The XV is my personal favourite in the smaller suv segment (coming from a man who does dream bout Lancer every night, have a 63 as my avatar and have the bore and stroke of a 63 as my interests) so you know it good

MG is the new thing with all the features for not no big set of money, so it appealing to the people that like the car off of looks and features alone not caring or knowing about anything mechanical. The car could be real good looking but if it unreliable me eh wah that.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 4:53 pm

Actually david, the major caveat with the XV is the 1.6 engine and its lack of power. In its defense though, I think it's more fun utilizing more of your available hp and torque on a d2d basis vs having a whole lot of hp and torque that you hardly get to enjoy unless you hit wallerfield or like to do mid night pulls.

The North American XV aka Crosstrek uses 2.0 and 2.5 engines and whilst the 2.0 is available here in little numbers, those are going to be expensive. $400k+ range (see pg. 1). So where engine parts are concerned, sadly you won't get much support from Miami.

Now for the Eclipse Cross on the other hand....what we get here is basically a RHD version of the north american model. Same drivetrain parts more or less so support wise, it can be argued the Mitsubishi may have a slight advantage.

So Subaru XV 1.6i-S EyeSight vs Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross Dynamic+. The battle between Subaru's award winning S-AWD system and Mitsubishi's S-AWC system which features AYC just like some Evo's.

Both are maximum equipped with pretty much all the safety gear. $315k vs $329k. I got to admit here and never thought I would say this but it looks like Mitsubishi fighting back hard this rounds cause we all know the next ASX or Eclipse Cross will be a rebadged Qashqai and well RIP to Mitsubishi at that point lol.

david12

Postby david12 » February 22nd, 2022, 5:25 pm

Never really had any experience with the Eclipse cross. Didn't even know that it had active yaw control. Tbh I never really payed much attention to it. The FB16 has some decent power down low. Top end isn't so great and I doubt mom's will be speeding. Parts support was referring to body parts. You'll get engine parts from other Subies with the FB16 if it's the 1.6.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » February 23rd, 2022, 11:20 am

agent007 wrote:Actually david, the major caveat with the XV is the 1.6 engine and its lack of power. In its defense though, I think it's more fun utilizing more of your available hp and torque on a d2d basis vs having a whole lot of hp and torque that you hardly get to enjoy unless you hit wallerfield or like to do mid night pulls.

The North American XV aka Crosstrek uses 2.0 and 2.5 engines and whilst the 2.0 is available here in little numbers, those are going to be expensive. $400k+ range (see pg. 1). So where engine parts are concerned, sadly you won't get much support from Miami.

Now for the Eclipse Cross on the other hand....what we get here is basically a RHD version of the north american model. Same drivetrain parts more or less so support wise, it can be argued the Mitsubishi may have a slight advantage.

So Subaru XV 1.6i-S EyeSight vs Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross Dynamic+. The battle between Subaru's award winning S-AWD system and Mitsubishi's S-AWC system which features AYC just like some Evo's.

Both are maximum equipped with pretty much all the safety gear. $315k vs $329k. I got to admit here and never thought I would say this but it looks like Mitsubishi fighting back hard this rounds cause we all know the next ASX or Eclipse Cross will be a rebadged Qashqai and well RIP to Mitsubishi at that point lol.

Wow...great info there

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » February 27th, 2022, 10:44 pm

I see the local Honda website is introducing the HR-V EHEV: https://hondatrinidad.net/teaser/hr-v/rhd

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 28th, 2022, 12:02 am

Let me guess...$315k to $330k special intro price?

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » February 28th, 2022, 5:49 am

360k for the HRV

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 28th, 2022, 7:54 am

ROFL ok