Residential Generators

bamfo_dennis

Re: Residential Generators

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 17th, 2022, 1:36 pm

so how dis supposed to wuk?
take off the big main breaker switch in the panel at the top to disconnect the ttec line?

den ..........how u connecting d generator to the house? It have wire to run from the generator output plug to where? like push the wire in a plug or i have to unscrew a breaker or someting in d box?

and dis legal? i remember long ago the talk was that having ur own generator running your house when current cut off was illegal.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 1:42 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:so how dis supposed to wuk?
take off the big main breaker switch in the panel at the top to disconnect the ttec line?

den ..........how u connecting d generator to the house? It have wire to run from the generator output plug to where? like push the wire in a plug or i have to unscrew a breaker or someting in d box?

and dis legal? i remember long ago the talk was that having ur own generator running your house when current cut off was illegal.

The intent is not to provide 100% house operations.

The intended solution is to have a generator that can provide some degree of lighting, fans and appliance power through separate extension cords. Not tied into house wiring.

Basic conveniences until power is restored. Lowest budget and possibly most accessible to various segments of society.

Postby adnj » February 17th, 2022, 1:44 pm

Redman wrote:
solarkh wrote:Propane powered generators is the best option. Provides for indefinite storage, as it doesn’t go bad.

Until you come to the realization that not everywhere sells or everybody keeps propane & if you run out during an emergency you are as good as screwed.
If going that route, better to keep at minimum 2 large tanks on hand

I was thinking the Restaurant sized bullet tanks?

As a general rule of thumb, a small cylinder (20 lbs) will run an engine for about as long 2 gallons of gasoline.

For a mid-sized generator and a 3000 watt generator load, a 20# tank will last about 6 to 8 hours, so a 100# is about 30 to 40 hours.

Postby adnj » February 17th, 2022, 1:54 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation

For this we're keeping the scope simple.
Generator to power isolated circuits for emergencies.

That kinda solution is prob for businesses and big budget home power.
You need a transfer switch (manual or automatic) and a new panel inspection if, and only if, your generator wires into a household power distribution panel.

Exactly. For emergency/extended outages the simplest thing is to run a generator and extension cords to power lights/fan/select appliances. Nowhere near the mains supply or house wiring.

Lowest tech option.
Generators may be a subheading of extended duration power outage preparation.

IF you decide to go that route, you have to start with portable lighting, fresh water and sanitation.

It's not easy to get a generator connected, started and refueled in total darkness.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 2:03 pm

adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation

For this we're keeping the scope simple.
Generator to power isolated circuits for emergencies.

That kinda solution is prob for businesses and big budget home power.
You need a transfer switch (manual or automatic) and a new panel inspection if, and only if, your generator wires into a household power distribution panel.

Exactly. For emergency/extended outages the simplest thing is to run a generator and extension cords to power lights/fan/select appliances. Nowhere near the mains supply or house wiring.

Lowest tech option.
Generators may be a subheading of extended duration power outage preparation.

IF you decide to go that route, you have to start with portable lighting, fresh water and sanitation.

It's not easy to get a generator connected, started and refueled in total darkness.

Absolutely!
It should form part of your prep plan

I had some candles and matches handy, but also some battery lamps/lanterns/flashlights.

For this separate generator solution, some custom hardy extension cords may need to be made. Possibly 2.5 or 4.0 rhino with 4 outlet receptacles and proper grounding.

This subheading list might look like

- Generator
- Fuel/Storage containers
- Ext cords properly wrapped and labelled for the rooms and/or appliances that they will be used in.
- Plug in/ portable lamps/light fixtures where needed (fans are already mobile)

agent007

Residential Generators

Postby agent007 » February 17th, 2022, 2:28 pm

My generator burns 3 gallons of gas in 10 hrs then it’s time to refill. Make sure you have about 3 5 gallon containers cause I forgot to top up mine and luckily electricity came back, otherwise I would have returned to darkness.

In a national disaster with little to zero access to gas stations, I would have been in trouble. Therefore, I’m re-evaluating our house hold requirements.

When purchasing a new generator make sure and find out your return and warranty policy first. Also note, some boxes include a quart of Briggs & Stratton SAE30 oil. You may also want to stock up on some spare quarts as well.

The brand of the generator is not as important as the brand of the engine itself. Briggs and Stratton and Honda make good small engines.

Lastly, when generator shopping, consider obtaining the wheel attachment to make it easier to move, get some 100ft extension cords based on the number of outlets it has. Getting a generator with 1 or 2 outlets makes no sense and if you put multiple devices on 1 plug, you can cause an overload.

My generator has 4 120V with 20a plug outlets which was sufficient to power some lights, fans, electronic devices and the fridge.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 17th, 2022, 2:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
bamfo_dennis wrote:so how dis supposed to wuk?

The intent is not to provide 100% house operations.

The intended solution is to have a generator that can provide some degree of lighting, fans and appliance power through separate extension cords. Not tied into house wiring.

Basic conveniences until power is restored. Lowest budget and possibly most accessible to various segments of society.

orrrok i was thinking whole house. but like what essential d fridge n freezer so food doh spoil....need d pump to get water upstairs.....dat go have to be a separate generator downstairs.

wheeeyyy pricesmart musse ram out today with ppl buying generator n dem jump startor inverter kit.
all hardware go be out of stock in d whole country today. anybody who cud bring down ah few right now go make a few dollars 4 d carnival season.

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2022, 2:47 pm

i have a champion inverter 2kv which is good enough for single fridge/freezer and lights
inverters are much quieter

might get a little bigger one to run both fridge and freezer and use this one to run water pump

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 2:49 pm

ppl with certain electric or hybrid cars can power their home with them

Postby gastly369 » February 17th, 2022, 3:05 pm

I did a simple off grid circuit so power outage I just turn on gen and have some decent backup power...
Inverter gens are the way to go if want to power sensitive electronics as well silent and clean power have mines in a vented store room to keep the noise level as low as possible from neighbours as close residential area

My setup has a gen outlet in living room bedrooms, bathrooms and lighting in each area including home perimeter lighting

Simple setup to rally out a power outage and I alway keep 7gal of fuel top up most times

Took me a few hrs to do up everything instead of running extension cords all over the dam place

If powering entire house then will require ATS and T&TEC involved with inspection etc etc and lot more power and that's where the money goes up significantly

Postby adnj » February 17th, 2022, 4:20 pm

I would not use a generator to run a water pressure pump. A small reserve tank connected to the top of your water column will be cheaper and more reliable, if you have the space for it.

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2022, 4:43 pm

in theory but often with frictional losses, mixers, check valves etc gravity would be hard pressed to make it to the main house supply unless spliced in separate with minimal piping to a bathroom etc.

adnj wrote:I would not use a generator to run a water pressure pump. A small reserve tank connected to the top of your water column will be cheaper and more reliable, if you have the space for it.

Postby adnj » February 17th, 2022, 6:35 pm

pugboy wrote:in theory but often with frictional losses, mixers, check valves etc gravity would be hard pressed to make it to the main house supply unless spliced in separate with minimal piping to a bathroom etc.

adnj wrote:I would not use a generator to run a water pressure pump. A small reserve tank connected to the top of your water column will be cheaper and more reliable, if you have the space for it.
You can't operate multiple outlets simultaneously in most cases because frictional losses increase with flow rate but you will get enough flow to operate a shower (10 L/min) at the top floor.

Postby Kenjo » February 17th, 2022, 6:53 pm

So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 8:29 pm

Anybody know what brand of generator that impsbert buying here , I want the same one
FB_IMG_1645144100030.jpg

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2022, 8:31 pm

box says ford 5250w

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 9:08 pm

hover11 wrote:Anybody know what brand of generator that impsbert buying here , I want the same oneFB_IMG_1645144100030.jpg

That's the Ford dual fuel 5250w from Pricesmart.

5500 I think

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 9:14 pm

Kenjo wrote:So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war

if the tank level low enough u can't even full that bucket if the pump has no power.

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Kenjo wrote:So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war

if the tank level low enough u can't even full that bucket if the pump has no power.

so allyuh fellas dont have a pipe attached directly by the tank? that you could full a bucket and either bath outside or carry the water inside to bath if you cant bathe outside?

LOL

wing

Postby wing » February 17th, 2022, 9:33 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

so allyuh fellas dont have a pipe attached directly by the tank? that you could full a bucket and either bath outside or carry the water inside to bath if you cant bathe outside?

LOL
X3000 . Real divas in here...

Postby Kenjo » February 17th, 2022, 9:35 pm

This country really needs some mandatory military training. Although most men on the forum probably not that physical and just on a computer. Cold water to bathe with and they won’t survive with their tits bathing outside

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 9:39 pm

no power means several things:

even if u manage to have a pipe close to the tank u have to carry it into the house. fair enough for 1 person but if u have a family with children u have to do it multiple times, including upstairs in a multistory house

u would need extra buckets for the toilet as well

it would be cold especially if its early morning, especially this time of year when temps reaching in the low 20s

at night/early morning it means u going outside in pitch black settings which means u could bounce into something- this is also a security risk with bandits under cover of dark.

the bathroom would be dark as well- and if power went while u already wet or soapy u cant just get a candle or light as u may have done if u were now going to bathe after the power went.

and that is only the bathroom story- not to mention preparing meals, having to open fridge and risk spoilage of stuff in a prolonged outage.

also try being on time for work with all that inconvenience during a morning power outage
Last edited by redmanjp on February 17th, 2022, 9:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 17th, 2022, 9:45 pm

who studyin 2 bathe in bathroom with blackout dey? i bathe wid a rotoplastic bucket last nite
i only want water pump to flush d toilet, meh eh sheiting like no dog under d fig tree.

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:48 pm

Where you going to work or school with a nationwide power outage? Lol.
At the very least the kids staying home.

But kix yes.

"Men" fraid to bathe by the tank or from a barrel.

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:50 pm

Yuh cud also full your toilet tank with bucket to flush.

Inconvenient but no choice is there if that time comes eh.

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 9:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Where you going to work or school with a nationwide power outage? Lol.
At the very least the kids staying home.

But kix yes.

"Men" fraid to bathe by the tank or from a barrel.

i wuk in essential services IT Dept so i have to go to work :(

and its not just for a NATIONWIDE outage but any outage that affects YOUR home but not necesarily your work or school.

by me current goes at least once every 2 weeks.

speak of d devil Image
Last edited by redmanjp on February 17th, 2022, 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » February 17th, 2022, 9:57 pm

We went from gravity feed showers and flushing toilets to ho baths and shittting over two shoes in ten posts.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 17th, 2022, 10:06 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh cud also full your toilet tank with bucket to flush.

Inconvenient but no choice is there if that time comes eh.

well dat self i do yesterday evenin 4 d toilet. buh yuh cyah be doing dat 10 time toting water upstairs for 4 ppl in the house man. suppose tings get bad for 3 days n ting? but what i studying how d pump not running all the time nah, so wud it make sense to put it on a generator by itself? i fraid dis generator ting to tell u d truth yes next ting d house bun dong.

Postby K74T » February 17th, 2022, 10:29 pm

softmanjp

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 10:33 pm

K74T wrote:softmanjp

since when contemplating a generator makes u soft?

look i can look forward to yet another prolonged outage this Sunday, while perhaps u enjoying AC at home.