Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Re: Anyone experiencing electricity issues/outages?

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2022, 7:37 pm

On CNC3 TTEC say it cud take up to 5 hrs to restore power.

:x

Zim

Postby Zim » February 16th, 2022, 7:55 pm

death365 wrote:Grande, Valencia, and environs still out.

On a next note digicel data piss poor now. The two tower I usually connect to off and its almost unusable

No electricity, no water, no phone and no internet. Like Ms. T&T was right.

Like Robinson Corusso, as primitive as can be

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2022, 7:55 pm

so all electricity sourced from the south only?

Zim

Postby Zim » February 16th, 2022, 7:57 pm

How come quite south get back power so fast?

Zim

Postby Zim » February 16th, 2022, 7:58 pm

pugboy wrote:so all electricity sourced from the south only?

Same thing I wondering

Postby Chimera » February 16th, 2022, 8:00 pm

Phone service being down is a real annoying and dangerous thing

Postby MaxPower » February 16th, 2022, 8:09 pm

Jeezus crice man…

You dumb Trinis CANNOT be serious to be buying gas and toilet paper.

For heavins sake pull yourselves together.

Postby alfa » February 16th, 2022, 8:13 pm

I believe so. It's Powergen Penal, Point Lisas and TGU La brea feeding everyone

Postby Gem_in_i » February 16th, 2022, 8:32 pm

I got back electricity in South around 730pm but no phone service yet on bmobile.

Postby paid_influencer » February 16th, 2022, 8:38 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I got back electricity in South around 730pm but no phone service yet on bmobile.

same

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 16th, 2022, 8:42 pm

Back in Gasparillo area

hindian

Postby hindian » February 16th, 2022, 8:45 pm

Piarco still in the dark, running inverter power for the last 3 hours to run a lil fan charge phones and a fluorescent lightbulb. Digicel data not bad by me really. Sis in law using it to complete schoolwork

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2022, 8:52 pm

this is a weak design

alfa wrote:

Postby paid_influencer » February 16th, 2022, 8:56 pm

today was good practice for a full doomer scenario. Gotta be prepared for when the crap really hits the fan. If it never happens, fine, but the next power outage will be a little more comfortable.

-Emergency AA battery stash came in handy.
-Battery radio worked when cell phones didn't.
-big as hell rechargable light did was it was supposed to
-Basic LED DIY-circuit was enough to navigate around the house in otherwise darkness
-Only thing I missed was a small fan of some sort.
-and a powerbank.

now I know what my project for tomorrow is.

solarkh

Postby solarkh » February 16th, 2022, 8:57 pm

I guess this answers the question on if to live north(west) or south.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 16th, 2022, 8:58 pm

The main power plants are TGU (La Brea), Powergen (Penal), Powergen (Pt. Lisas), Trinity Power (Pt. Lisas). So yes all south.

I understand that the problem originated at TGU. If they lost power generation, very quickly the system would see a low frequency which could cause a cascading effect at other power plants, causing them to lose power generation.

This has happened a few years ago. If all power plants are offline it will take a while to restore power as one main plant will have to be black started before the others can start up.

Postby paid_influencer » February 16th, 2022, 8:58 pm

anybody check in on the north people? cannibalism start?

Postby st7 » February 16th, 2022, 8:59 pm

MaxPower wrote:Jeezus crice man…

what sheit you talking or u trying to feel important?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 16th, 2022, 9:03 pm

Not necessarily. It's distributed. T&TEC transmission and distribution network is very efficient and large.

If south has power restored, other plants will have power to restart (If affected) and once they online, power will be back quick.
pugboy wrote:this is a weak design

alfa wrote:

Postby Chimera » February 16th, 2022, 9:04 pm

Didn't use this fcker in near two years.
Start like first time though.

Just remembered also that the ad wagon has a inverter if this run out of gas
20220216_210332.jpg

Postby MaxPower » February 16th, 2022, 9:14 pm

st7 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Jeezus crice man…

what sheit you talking or u trying to feel important?

U know me to talk sheit? That happening now bro.

And i always feel important toppy, keeps me going.

Postby mero » February 16th, 2022, 9:22 pm

Passed by Ramco gas station by Orange Grove there. Insane line of traffic.

KFC Inc Sq one of the only places with power too. Light up like Christmas.

RIP those with hydroponic systems too

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2022, 9:23 pm

the obvious question is then why if one supplier has a problem does it end up requiring all other suppliers to be taken off.

supposed there was a supplier in north, would a similar situation arise where south issues require north plant shutdown as well?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 16th, 2022, 9:32 pm

carluva wrote:The main power plants are TGU (La Brea), Powergen (Penal), Powergen (Pt. Lisas), Trinity Power (Pt. Lisas). So yes all south. . .

Point Lisas is south? Probably south of the Caroni River.

Postby zoom rader » February 16th, 2022, 9:33 pm

Root cause was a loss of gas pressure at the Penal plant that took down the other plants.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 16th, 2022, 9:43 pm

Blacx baldhead a shortman blame kamla yet for this nationwide blackout?

Was it a terroriat attack by muduro?
Was it an EMP?
Was it industriql action?
Was it a solar flare?
Was it aliens from tamana forest aka lizard people?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 16th, 2022, 9:44 pm

Blacx baldhead an shortman blame kamla yet for this nationwide blackout?

Was it an EMP?
Was it a solar flare?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 16th, 2022, 9:45 pm

Pug. Let me attempt to give you the layman explanation.

Generators all share load. If one generator shuts down, the electrical load is then taken by the other generators. If the load is not dropped off quickly, the generators cannot supply the load and then the system frequency begins to drop below 60Hz. At some low frequency the generators will trip to prevent damage to the machine. Once this happens, there is a cascading effect causing all to trip.

Think of it this way... You and three partners moving a steel beam. You feel tired and let go... Your three partners have to take your strain. Then a next man can't take it anymore, so he lets go. Then the other two cannot hold on to the weights so they just let go and the beam comes crashing. That's the easiest analogy I can use to explain why this happens.

These things happen in seconds sometimes milliseconds. So the overall trips happen so quickly... That's to prevent damage to machines. Better to face this we have now rather than having a machine damaged and the country's demand cannot be met.
pugboy wrote:the obvious question is then why if one supplier has a problem does it end up requiring all other suppliers to be taken off.

supposed there was a supplier in north, would a similar situation arise where south issues require north plant shutdown as well?

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » February 16th, 2022, 10:03 pm

Power returned to Freeport a couple minutes ago.

Postby timelapse » February 16th, 2022, 10:14 pm

daring dragoon wrote:Blacx baldhead a shortman blame kamla yet for this nationwide blackout?

Was it an EMP?
Was it a solar flare?
Growlers sour about the loss in Penal, so he say no current in allyuh mc