Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

Re: Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2022, 10:58 am

like anything that has moving parts & is beatin weather its d responsibility of d gate owner to periodically check up on it & do any necessary maintenance ... but lets be real here how many of us really do this

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 10th, 2022, 7:26 pm

carluva wrote:Are you sure about this law/building code for gates?

Can you post a link or more information?

TTS 599-2006 does not address this.
bamfo_dennis wrote:every time this happen i does still can't understand how ppl cud build a gate with no safety rail catch.

so the gate just balancing juss so on the track between two post? how ppl doing dis? somebody draw a diagram fuh me nah i eh understanding how dis can happen over n over n over and little chirren dying. Buh ent it have a law and building code for sliding gate in trinidad?

watch nah i just google it and look how simple that Safety Edge thing is to put in. That gate can never fall over How ppl building gate without dis?

boy charge dem mc and jail dem for negligent mansalughter is only then ppl go really learn. put dey ass in jail for 2 years.

sorry man me eh know bout dem ting i was just googling it and find that diagram on safety rail for gates and saying how easy it is to install n dat it should be common sense to a builder. so u saying that the engineer n dem at the Bureau of Standards do NOT have a standard for safety posts or ledges or catch or rail or whatever on sliding gates? dat ppl can just build sliding gate and it have no building code so the gate dont fall over on you? i doh have access to that thing u quote up dey.

ah quoting wat i find on google dey
jan 2016
By June, the TTBS had established a specification committee to work on what it describes as a National Standard for Driveway Gates. The committee comprises representatives of a variety of state and quasi-state agencies and is focusing on the scope of the proposed standards, common reasons for gate failure and the main safety measures to prevent accidents.

den dey publish sumting here eh https://gottbs.com/2021/02/17/advisory- ... ing-gates/

assassin

Postby assassin » February 10th, 2022, 9:53 pm

Quite true. Some rust or a slack bolt on the motor could cause vibration or throw off the line up. These things really need periodic maintenance
Rovin wrote:like anything that has moving parts & is beatin weather its d responsibility of d gate owner to periodically check up on it & do any necessary maintenance ... but lets be real here how many of us really do this

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2022, 10:07 pm

I had this typical mishap happen to me by a padna, his gate was the typical faulty setup
With stops at ends and roller at top on wall.

When it happened to me a little stone about the size of salt prune was right alongside the track and the wheel hit the stone and jumped up and off.

Postby Rovin » July 10th, 2022, 7:21 pm

on d tv6 news tonight : a gate fell & killed a 16yr old boy an only child in aranguez today ... :(

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2022, 8:00 am

papers say stones on track caused it to skip off too

most common way is when they slam the gate at end and it jumps off track
second most common way is for stones to derail

pugboy wrote:I had this typical mishap happen to me by a padna, his gate was the typical faulty setup
With stops at ends and roller at top on wall.

When it happened to me a little stone about the size of salt prune was right alongside the track and the wheel hit the stone and jumped up and off.