Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 2:16 pm

drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:If 20 percent of the population has comorbidities are we comfortable with losing them

It's really crazy when people say yea he died but he had comorbidities

Why is it crazy ??? People with comorbidities died all the time before covid.

Is it crazy to say Joe died from pneumonia but he had Hypertension and early congestive cardiac failure or Diane died from a heart attack and she had Diabetes?

People who are unhealthy are at a significantly high risk of death from disease vs people who are healthy.
For CARICOM nations:

Diabetes prevalence is double global rates.

According to surveys conducted in 12 CARICOM countries:

10 to 25% of adults have diabetes; and

20% to over 50% suffer from high blood pressure.

In some countries there are particularly high rates of undiagnosed chronic diseases. For example, 50% of people in Jamaica do not know they have high blood pressure, 25% don’t know they are diabetic and some 80% are unaware that they have high cholesterol.

https://www.healthycaribbean.org/ncds-in-the-caribbean/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 2nd, 2021, 2:59 pm

drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:If 20 percent of the population has comorbidities are we comfortable with losing them

It's really crazy when people say yea he died but he had comorbidities

Why is it crazy ??? People with comorbidities died all the time before covid.

Is it crazy to say Joe died from pneumonia but he had Hypertension and early congestive cardiac failure or Diane died from a heart attack and she had Diabetes?

People who are unhealthy are at a significantly high risk of death from disease vs people who are healthy.

Yes because they would have lived on average 10 years longer had not covid cut their life short.

Life expectancy stats decreased in most countries solely due to covid, a stat that was increasing every year.

Also, a former co-worker who died from covid was 48, healthy, used to play football with us all the time, lean guy, but had type-1 diabetes. Man tried his best to live a healthy life knowing he was death a bad blow with that type-1, left two kids behind, an 11 and 13 year old.

The other 2 I know who died were in their early 60s. One had no comorbidities the other was overweight and a smoker.....so was it his time? Who knows, but he was in good health prior to the weeks before, travelled up to the US to see his first grandchild, contracted it there, came back to Trinidad (with a negative PCR), but tested positive on day 7.....died about a week or so later.

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 3:56 pm

How many deaths were really due to covid? No way to really tell

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:09 pm

matr1x wrote:How many deaths were really due to covid? No way to really tell
If you were any good at math, you would be able to easily find the answer.

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:19 pm

The actual numbers were based on the low chance of catching it. And the further lower chance of dying. Out of 7.5 billion ppl only 235 million got it. Which is a miniscule 3.1%

In a world of 7.5 billion, only 4.8 million ppl died which is 0.064% which is miniscule. Your odds of catching and dying from covid is a joke

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2021, 4:21 pm

matr1x wrote:The actual numbers were based on the low chance of catching it. And the further lower chance of dying. Out of 7.5 billion ppl only 235 million got it. Which is a miniscule 3.1%

In a world of 7.5 billion, only 4.8 million ppl died which is 0.064% which is miniscule. Your odds of catching and dying from covid is a joke

What about the long-term effects?

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:27 pm

matr1x wrote:The actual numbers were based on the low chance of catching it. And the further lower chance of dying. Out of 7.5 billion ppl only 235 million got it. Which is a miniscule 3.1%

That remains to be seen. 3 fully vaccinated ppl at immigration got extremely ill with covid last month. So it provides minimum protection

Postby hover11 » October 2nd, 2021, 4:34 pm

TAKE BULL ,allya vote for that
FB_IMG_1633206809616.jpg

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:37 pm

The estimated actual COVID death count is currently ~16mn people.

https://www.economist.com/graphic-detai ... -estimates

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2021, 4:44 pm

matr1x wrote:

That remains to be seen. 3 fully vaccinated ppl at immigration got extremely ill with covid last month. So it provides minimum protection

They were hospitalized? And which vaccine they got?

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2021, 4:45 pm

matr1x wrote:

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:45 pm

Official cdc numbers. Quit lying
Screenshot_20211002-164439_Samsung Internet.jpg

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:
matr1x wrote:

All asterzenica

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:48 pm

matr1x wrote:Official cdc numbers. Quit lying
If you were better at math, you would understand the basis of the estimates.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2021, 4:49 pm

matr1x wrote:

Link?
Also 3 out of
• Partially Vaxxed: 577945
• Fully Vaxxed: 502299
in T&T.
What percentage is that? 0.00059%?

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:50 pm

matr1x wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
matr1x wrote:

All asterzenica
If you were better at spelling and grammar you would have written "AstraZeneca."

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:53 pm

adnj wrote:

Dumbass, learn to link pages correctly

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:53 pm

matr1x wrote:

Link?
Also 3 out of
in T&T.
Minuscule.
Last edited by adnj on October 2nd, 2021, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 4:54 pm

matr1x wrote:

Link?
Also 3 out of
in T&T.

Those 3 I know personally. Who knows how many else

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 4:57 pm

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:

Dumbass, learn to link pages correctly

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 2nd, 2021, 6:53 pm

I don't think you realize how big 4.8 million people is. That's the equivalent to the entirety of New Zealand getting wiped of the map, or all of Alabama, or all of Ireland.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2021, 7:10 pm

Around 9m ppl die in India and China respectively every year before COVID. That's a Haiti's worth getting wiped off, every single year.

ed360123 wrote:

I don't think you realize how big 4.8 million people is. That's the equivalent to the entirety of New Zealand getting wiped of the map, or all of Alabama, or all of Ireland.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 2nd, 2021, 7:18 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Around 9m ppl die in India and China respectively every year before COVID. That's a Haiti's worth getting wiped off, every single year.

ed360123 wrote:

Right, so imagine those annually + 5 million deaths.

5 million is 55% of 9 million. So imagine if China suddenly had a 55% increase in deaths one year. That would be cause for extreme alarm.

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2021, 7:44 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Around 9m ppl die in India and China respectively every year before COVID. That's a Haiti's worth getting wiped off, every single year.

ed360123 wrote:

Right, so imagine those annually + 5 million deaths.

5 million is 55% of 9 million. So imagine if China suddenly had a 55% increase in deaths one year. That would be cause for extreme alarm.

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2021, 7:48 pm

Allyuh feeding the trolls
Don’t take chainup

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 2nd, 2021, 9:20 pm

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp says he does not understand why some people refuse the coronavirus vaccine.

There have been concerns about the rate of vaccination in the Premier League with fewer than half of players jabbed at most clubs.

Klopp says "99%" of his players have been vaccinated and he has not had to convince anyone to do so.
The German says he was jabbed to protect not just himself but "all the people around me".
"I don't understand why that is a limitation of freedom," he said. "Because if it is, then not being allowed to drink and drive is a limitation of freedom as well - but we accept that.
"I got the vaccination because I was concerned about myself but even more so for everyone else around me.
"If I get it and suffer - my fault. If I get it and spread it around to everyone else - my fault and not their fault.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 2nd, 2021, 10:48 pm

Feeling ok post J&J except my exercise tolerance is really down and not better yet, getting out of breath easily vs before vaccine.

Did some bloods because I'm paranoid, D-dimer (Blood clot marker) today was within normal range but my inflammatory markers were ridiculously high, ESR (Erythrocyte sedimentation rate) normally has been around 5 for the last 4 years but post vaccine is like 35.
Will have to check that back in a week.

Postby st7 » October 2nd, 2021, 10:59 pm

drchaos wrote:Feeling ok post J&J except my exercise tolerance is really down and not better yet, getting out of breath easily vs before vaccine.

Did some bloods because I'm paranoid, D-dimer (Blood clot marker) today was within normal range but my inflammatory markers were ridiculously high, ESR (Erythrocyte sedimentation rate) normally has been around 5 for the last 4 years but post vaccine is like 35.

is that sorta thing expected for JnJ?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 2nd, 2021, 11:23 pm

st7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Feeling ok post J&J except my exercise tolerance is really down and not better yet, getting out of breath easily vs before vaccine.

Shortness of breath is a concern and can mean clots with Astra and J&J, that why I checked D-dimers but they were normal.
Could just be an inflammatory response to the Adenovirus and the Spike protein being produced due to the ESR being high.
If is the latter then this should be gone at the 2 week mark.

Postby st7 » October 2nd, 2021, 11:37 pm

drchaos wrote:
st7 wrote:

Shortness of breath is a concern and can mean clots with Astra and J&J, that why I checked D-dimers but they were normal.
Could just be an inflammatory response to the Adenovirus and the Spike protein being produced due to the ESR being high.
If is the latter then this should be gone at the 2 week mark.

nice. hope it gets better!